Skip Navigation

Click for Lion Brand Yarn Home Page
separator
Our Yarns
The LB Collection
Martha Stewart Crafts
Lion's Pride Woolspun
Request Free Catalog
Our Yarns
Yarn by Weight
separator
New Catalog
separator
Shop
separator
  • free patterns
  • special sales
  • new items
  • 15% off coupon
    US orders only
    view past newsletters   Click to view newsletters and subscription choice
separator
Free Catalog
separator
Patterns
separator
Lion Brand
     Yarn Studio
     Retail Store, New York, NY
separator
Lion Brand
     Yarn Shop
     Retail Store, Colonie, NY
separator
Lion Brand Outlet
     Retail Store, Carlstadt, NJ
separator
Find a Store
post code:
country:
within:
more options   Click for more store-locator options
separator
Home : Customer Reviews of a Pattern
 

Customer Reviews

Image of Market Bag
Market Bag
Pattern Number: 80803AD
Rating: *****
4.5 (based on 103 reviews)
Write your own review
 
 
Search All Patterns:  
spacer
 
Displaying 1-10 of 102 results Page 1 of 11
12345678Display next page
Write your own review Have you made this pattern? Send us a photo
Market Bag Reviewed by Jesey on 2015-02-13 ****
I am in love with this pattern! It is fairly simple and easy to get the hang of. I made two in just as many days and I have people requesting them from me already. My only complaint is that one of the steps lists the number of stitches (when working on the handle) and I don't feel that it was accurate. Other than that everything worked well.

Market Bag Reviewed by Vickie on 2015-01-10 *****
I have made about 8 of these bags. I too, had trouble with connecting the two sides of the handle at first. After fiddeling with it, I decided to make each side of the handel longer then the directions said. When both sides are done, I use a needle with a med/large eye and thread it with the same color yarn and sew the two sides together, going across both sides for extra strength. You can't really tell there is a seam there.

Market Bag Reviewed by Jeanette Hardy on 2014-11-25 *****
I made my first several of these nearly twenty years ago when I had to take the bus to the grocery store in college. I've lost track of how many I've made and gifted out over the years. I've made them with I, J, and K hooks. They have amazing strength and stretch and they're cotton so they can go straight into the washer and dryer without concern. Back then they were mostly for carrying veggies, meat and milk home. Now I find the larger ones can hold my sixty pound nephew. (Only for demonstration of bag strength I assure you!) And with the new anti-plastic bag laws, it looks like these gifts will be in high demand again. Thank you Lion Brand!!

Market Bag Reviewed by Kate Bombara on 2014-10-30 *****
Great bag! I didn't notice the note about stitching in the spaces until I was several rounds in, so I just finished the bag stitching in the DCs. I think it looks a little less open, which I like. Also, mine came out a little smaller than the pattern said, but I tend to crochet pretty tightly.
I used a CC for rounds 22-26 and for the finishing edge, then I embellished with a flower. I think it looks great! I will definitely be making this again.

Click to zoom

Reviewed by judy on 2014-07-23 ****
This is a fun pattern. I make it in two colors by putting the other color in the middle. Everyone loves it. Great for gift.

Market Bag Reviewed by Mimi on 2014-05-01 ****
I'm very new to crochet, and similar to other reviewers I found that the handles were difficult. I reworked many rows until it got close to the picture. It's hard to know when to crochet into the turning stitch and when not to. I used a fair amount of guesswork and was frustrated by my inability to understand the pattern.

My bag is not totally symmetrical but will be fine. I worked 2 rows of sc around at the end to achieve a finished appearance.

All in all, I'm happy with it. It will be a Mothers Day gift. The next one will, no doubt, be easier.

Click to zoom

Market Bag Reviewed by Carol Kelker on 2013-07-02 ****
Lucky I had 3 balls of sunshine yarn. It took almost all of my third skein. Otherwise, easy to make.

Market Bag Reviewed by Katherine Gasser on 2013-05-29 *****
Fast and easy to make. Good looking. I made two of these but no matter how hard I tried I couldn't finish the handles and edges without using part of a 3rd ball of yarn.

Market Bag Reviewed by Melynda on 2013-05-02 *****
This is a great bag. I've made two so far, one in cotton and one acrylic, and have requests for more. Works up quickly and holds a lot of stuff. Love it!

Click to zoom

Click to zoom

Market Bag Reviewed by Tammy Lyons on 2013-01-05 ****
Took me a couple of tries to work this out, but it is wonderful now that it's finished.

 
 
separator separator
Bookmark This!  separator
Sign up for our Newsletter  
separator Share This!  separator About Us separator Contact Us separator
  Font Size:   
Click to view page with standard font Click to view page with larger font Click to view page with largest font