Skip Navigation

Click for Lion Brand Yarn Home Page
separator
Our Yarns
The LB Collection
Martha Stewart Crafts
Lion's Pride Woolspun
Request Free Catalog
Our Yarns
Yarn by Weight
separator
New Catalog
separator
Shop
separator
  • free patterns
  • special sales
  • new items
  • 15% off coupon
    US orders only
    view past newsletters   Click to view newsletters and subscription choice
separator
Free Catalog
separator
Patterns
separator
Lion Brand
     Yarn Studio
     Retail Store, New York, NY
separator
Lion Brand
     Yarn Shop
     Retail Store, Colonie, NY
separator
Lion Brand Outlet
     Retail Store, Carlstadt, NJ
separator
Find a Store
post code:
country:
within:
more options   Click for more store-locator options
separator
Home : Customer Reviews of a Pattern
 

Customer Reviews

Image of 6-Hour Afghan
6-Hour Afghan
Pattern Number: 90031AD
Rating: *****
4.5 (based on 47 reviews)
Write your own review
 
 
Search All Patterns:  
spacer
 
Displaying 1-10 of 47 results Page 1 of 5
12345Display next page
Write your own review Have you made this pattern? Send us a photo
6-Hour Afghan Reviewed by Sharon LaDuke on 2013-01-17 *****
I absolutely love this afghan - it is so soft and so warm and cuddly!! Will send a picture later.

I'm excited because I now have a size 50 circular needle - I have cast on 50 stitches to make one wider.
I think with circulars that it will be easier than the straight needles.

Can't wait to get onto the next one to try more colors! I like purples and blues together! I love it when Homespun yarn is on sale so will be watching for that!!.

Sharon

Much Better Than Expected! Reviewed by Nancy Brooks on 2014-04-10 *****
Doing a little spring spruce-up and found new throw pillows for the family room coach. Unfortunately, couldn't find an afghan that I liked in the right color palette. Came across this pattern and with great reservations, decided to give it a try. Thankfully, I had no issues with the skeins tangling or splitting. Just wish I had made it a wider as 34" is a little narrow for a throw. I omitted the fringe since past experience has proved that it ultimately knots with use. I used Homespun in Pearls, Meadow, Windsor & Regency. Will definitely make again for a quick & easy gift!

Click to zoom

6-Hour Afghan Reviewed by April Lewis on 2014-02-19 *****
Loved it!!
After knitting a swatch I decided that I wanted it a little dense and used 19 mm needles instead. Since I have a cat who loves to chew on fringe I omitted the fringe and just left it a plain edge, but it goes better with my very sleek contemporary living room.
I used Edwardian, Deco, Barley and Fiesta colors and was very very happy with the way it came out. It took more than 6 hours though but that was because of the needle change, and the Olympics. Its hard to knit when your yelling at the TV! lol
A project I would definitely do again.

6-Hour Afghan Reviewed by J on 2013-12-29 ***
What a pain! While I like the overall look of the various yarn colors, I am a veteran knitter and am having a terrible time with the tanglng yarn. I did roll all the yarn into balls after a false start which resulted in a terrible tangling problem. I even put the balls into "cool whip" bowls to try to mitigate the tangling problem more. No such luck. It's knit one row, spent twice as long detangling. If this is truly a 6-hour afghan, four of those hours will be spent detangling yarn after each row. I can't wait to get this finished so I can never do it again.

6-Hour Afghan Reviewed by Karen Perry on 2013-12-29 *****
I made this in a day an a half as a last minute Christmas gift for my aunt. It was so easy and quick and everyone thought is was so much work. My aunt absolutely loved it and I have many requests for more. I left off the fringe and knitted three rows at the beginning and end with three knit stitches at the beginning and end of the purl rows to avoid curling. I will be making many more of these for sure!!

6-Hour Afghan Reviewed by Kristen Reese on 2013-09-03 *****
This pattern is very easy and a great way for a beginner to be able to knit a throw or afghan. I had a lot of fun making mine. I used grape, deco, ambrosia & mixed berries to make my afghan. I did a border instead of putting on fringe. The larger needles took a bit to get used to, but once I got into the rhythm of it, I had no problems at all.

Click to zoom

Reviewed by kellyhdale on 2013-01-12 *****
I completed this in about 8 hrs. I used a 35 needle because the 50 was just to large. I adjusted the number of stitches to 42 because of the needle size change. Overall very lovely blanket!!! Will be making several more again.

6-Hour Afghan Reviewed by stacey on 2013-01-08 *****
This is a very easy project with great results. One thing that makes it easier is to make sure to roll all the skeins into balls, then no tangling. And make sure you relax not working the stitches too tight, nice and loose makes it go fast. I will certainly make again using other colors.

6-Hour Afghan Reviewed by kendel on 2011-12-25 *****
Have already made two of these lovely blankets. Took me longer than 6 hours because I made them bigger. First one I used size 50 needles and the second one I used size 35. I really liked the size 35 needles because the holes were smaller. Will be making more in the future.
(the blanket shown is with size 50 needles). I didn't add a fringe...I used a border so it wouldn't curl up.

Click to zoom

Click to zoom

6-Hour Afghan Reviewed by Polly Hall on 2011-12-14 **
The pattern was easy to follow. I found the size of the needles hard to work with so I used a size 15 needle and cast on more stitches to account for the smaller needle.
The yarn was very soft, however after washing it in my washing machine it came out all pilled . Didn't like the quality of the yarn after washing it.

 
 
separator separator
Bookmark This!  separator
Sign up for our Newsletter  
separator Share This!  separator About Us separator Contact Us separator
  Font Size:   
Click to view page with standard font Click to view page with larger font Click to view page with largest font