Skip Navigation

Click for Lion Brand Yarn Home Page
separator
Our Yarns
The LB Collection
Martha Stewart Crafts
Lion's Pride Woolspun
Request Free Catalog
Our Yarns
Yarn by Weight
separator
New Catalog
separator
Shop
separator
  • free patterns
  • special sales
  • new items
  • 15% off coupon
    US orders only
    view past newsletters   Click to view newsletters and subscription choice
separator
Free Catalog
separator
Patterns
separator
Lion Brand
     Yarn Studio
     Retail Store, New York, NY
separator
Lion Brand
     Yarn Shop
     Retail Store, Colonie, NY
separator
Lion Brand Outlet
     Retail Store, Carlstadt, NJ
separator
Find a Store
post code:
country:
within:
more options   Click for more store-locator options
separator
Home : Customer Reviews of a Pattern
 

Customer Reviews

Image of Mixed Message Scarf
Mixed Message Scarf
Pattern Number: 90023AD
Rating: ****
4.1 (based on 18 reviews)
Write your own review
 
 
Search All Patterns:  
spacer
 
Displaying 1-10 of 18 results Page 1 of 2
12Display next page
Write your own review Have you made this pattern? Send us a photo
Mixed Message Scarf Reviewed by marty on 2014-09-13 *****
This is a great pattern for a first cable project. This yarn is so soft and easy to work with. I love it. Two colors was too long for my needs. So I stuck with one color and just knitted until it was long enough, then I completed that pattern section and voila! I will be making more of these. The pattern works up so fast too.

Mixed Message Scarf Reviewed by Jean Jaklin on 2014-01-09 *****
Made this for a daughter in law and now her friends want one in other colors. Love it

Mixed Message Scarf Reviewed by Annette Harper on 2014-01-21 *****
I loved making this scarf! I made it in Grey marble & poinsettia. I shortened the length and attached the two ends together to make a infinity scarf. A very quick and easy scarf that looks like it took hours.

Mixed Message Scarf Reviewed by nancy ring on 2013-08-06 *****
I knitted this scarf in the recommended yarn in the color Sequoia. I also made a pattern for a hat to match. Both were very pretty. Both pieces were given as a gift to a family member.

Mixed Message Scarf Reviewed by Judy Wisniewski on 2012-12-23 ****
This scarf was really quick and easy. I used two balls of the same color of yarn - which was the perfect length (72 inches). I also added fringe - which caused me to break open a 3rd ball. It does roll - which I will try to take care of by using a steam iron on the wrong side. Hopefully it flattens out.

Mixed Message Scarf Reviewed by Victoria Bergesen on 2012-08-23 ****
I enjoyed making this. Used Wool-Ease Thick & Quick in Gray Marble and Denim. This would be a great introduction to making cables, as you can see the design so easily.

My only reservation is that the scarf is very long and bulky. It is over 90" long and might be a nuisance. The double wrap around the neck might not work with some coats. This is a heavy scarf and would be too warm to wear unless you needed a heavy coat.

Mixed Message Scarf Reviewed by Kapunahele on 2011-12-29 *****
This scarf knits up very pretty but the edges do want to fold in a little bit which I'll have to address when I'm done (I'll probably try some blocking or steam blocking to get them flatter). I've currently done 7 repeats and am using LBY's Hometown USA in Tampa spice for the whole thing. Two skeins won't be enough for me since I like longer scarves and one skein made 23".

Though I think this is really pretty, especially in deep red, it's a tedious pattern to follow. I can't hold the repeat instructions in my head and have to refer to them constantly which makes me tired. I probably won't make it again, but I do like the results and the instructions are error free. To keep up with where I am, I move a point protector from one line to the next in the instructions and when I set it down I write in pencil, "start here" at the next step or I'd get lost.

If you haven't done cables before, this is pretty easy to follow and the cables are very beautiful. I like using the big needles and super chunky yarn because it moves along at a good pace.

Mixed Message Scarf Reviewed by Cecille Boles on 2011-04-26 *****
I made this scarf for my grandson in one of his school colors. It's a very handsome scarf. I made a list of each row to make following the pattern easier, put it on a magnet board and just moved the magnet down to the row I was working. Piece of cake! I made it with two skeins of yarn and the length was just right. I think it's too thick to double around your neck. The edges curled up but I just laid it out on the ironing board, tucked the edges under, sprayed the edges with water and let it dry--it turned out great. I just bought more yarn to make another one for a Christmas gift for my son.

Mixed Message Scarf Reviewed by on 2010-12-29 *
I didn't like making this scarf! The Thick & Quick yarn is too heavy and the size 13 needles are hard to handle. The whole scarf is too large and not very squishy, and I like soft, squishy scarves. I'LL never make this scarf again using the required materials, however, I will try making it again with knitting worsted and smaller needles.

virginiarab@yahoo.com

Mixed Message Scarf Reviewed by kdub on 2011-01-03 ***
I'm making this scarf in taupe only. I'm not an experienced knitter so it will take me way more than 6 hours to complete. Pattern is clear and easy to follow. My edges are rolling too. I hope I can find a fix because I love the scarf.

 
 
separator separator
Bookmark This!  separator
Sign up for our Newsletter  
separator Share This!  separator About Us separator Contact Us separator
  Font Size:   
Click to view page with standard font Click to view page with larger font Click to view page with largest font