Skip Navigation

Click for Lion Brand Yarn Home Page
separator
Our Yarns
The LB Collection
Martha Stewart Crafts
Lion's Pride Woolspun
Request Free Catalog
Our Yarns
Yarn by Weight
separator
New Catalog
separator
Shop
separator
  • free patterns
  • special sales
  • new items
  • 15% off coupon
    US orders only
    view past newsletters   Click to view newsletters and subscription choice
separator
Free Catalog
separator
Patterns
separator
Lion Brand
     Yarn Studio
     Retail Store, New York, NY
separator
Lion Brand
     Yarn Shop
     Retail Store, Colonie, NY
separator
Lion Brand Outlet
     Retail Store, Carlstadt, NJ
separator
Find a Store
post code:
country:
within:
more options   Click for more store-locator options
separator
Home : Customer Reviews of a Pattern
 

Customer Reviews

Image of Tara Shawl
Tara Shawl
Pattern Number: 80977AD
Rating: *****
4.6 (based on 18 reviews)
Write your own review
 
 
Search All Patterns:  
spacer
 
Displaying 1-10 of 18 results Page 1 of 2
12Display next page
Write your own review Have you made this pattern? Send us a photo
Tara Shawl Reviewed by Bernadette Cressey on 2013-04-09 *****
This is a very good pattern,it knits up very quickly and looks great.It is very warm to wear and makes an ideal gift especially for christmas.I would recommend it for beginners as it is so easy.

Tara Shawl Reviewed by Carol Klimentos on 2011-09-25 *****
I just completed this shawl and it's lovely - the self-striping feature of Homespun made it easy to create something with interesting color without having to change yarn. For the fringe, I simply knotted each strand about an inch from the bottom to prevent ravelling as is the nature of Homespun to do. This is a worthwhile project - very easy to do - and you will have something special when you are finished.

Tara Shawl Reviewed by Jean Jendras on 2011-08-26 *****
I have been making this shawl for years; lots of gifts, and for myself! This is so easy, and fun to do. I sometimes make it slightly wider (cast on 70 stitches), and longer. To do this use 5 skeins of Homespun. You may fringe or not. Sometimes I have used a basketweave stitch for a few rows at each end; gives it a little more texture.
A great over the shoulder warmer; if you want to make it extra snuggly for someone who is "always cold", I have knit with double yarns; either the same color, or a complementary color. (You will need to double your skeins, obviously: 4-5 will take 8-10 skeins). This almost makes a small throw for the sofa, as one of my friends uses it for this. Jean J

Tara Shawl Reviewed by Earlyne Warmolts on 2011-08-27 ****
This works well using size 15 needles. I make them for hospice patients. They don't like the fringe, so I put two or three rows of chain loops at each end. It looks very elegant. I only use three skeins.
After I finish one skein, I do the chain loops on the first end, and then just estimate how much yarn to save for the other end.

Tara Shawl Reviewed by CAROLINE YEAGER on 2011-02-04 ****
I made the shawl a bit wider and added a 1x1 rib border on the ends. I think I ended up using about 2 1/2 skeins, or maybe it was 2 3/4. I still had an entire skein left over so I'm toying with the idea of adding some fringe.

Tara Shawl Reviewed by mary randall on 2010-12-24 *****
I just finished this shawl and love it...I used the homespun browns..It was so easy to make and to take whenever I visited with friends...

Tara Shawl Reviewed by Lorraine Gardner on 2010-02-02 ****
easy, turned out great but only used 3 skeins,

Tara Shawl Reviewed by Barbara Bostelman on 2010-01-05 *****
I made this shawl in the tudor color and did about 6 rows of knit and 6 rows of pearl it looks beautiful. The wool was soft and great to work with.

Tara Shawl Reviewed by Kay Smith on 2009-11-09 *****
I made this shawl for myself at last. It was very easy. I crocheted the fringe on it I stated with a slip stich and single crocheted 25 single crochets and went in each stich across the end, It looks real pretty. Keeps the fringe from fraying. And looks good too.

Tara Shawl Reviewed by KIMBERLY SCHERER on 2009-10-15 *****
i loved this shawl i made one my friend saw it and asked me to teach her now both of us have made 4 its a great gift and a lovely shawl i used waterfall and i just love it i gave one to my mom she was amazed its wonderful i would suggest it to anyone!!!!!

 
 
separator separator
Bookmark This!  separator
Sign up for our Newsletter  
separator Share This!  separator About Us separator Contact Us separator
  Font Size:   
Click to view page with standard font Click to view page with larger font Click to view page with largest font