Skip Navigation

Click for Lion Brand Yarn Home Page
separator
Our Yarns
The LB Collection
Martha Stewart Crafts
Lion's Pride Woolspun
Vanna's Collection
Request Free Catalog
Our Yarns
Yarn by Weight
separator
New Catalog
separator
Shop
separator
  • free patterns
  • special sales
  • new items
  • 15% off coupon
    US orders only
    view past newsletters   Click to view newsletters and subscription choice
separator
Free Catalog
separator
Patterns
separator
Lion Brand
     Yarn Studio
     Retail Store, New York, NY
separator
Lion Brand
     Yarn Shop
     Retail Store, Colonie, NY
separator
Lion Brand Outlet
     Retail Store, Carlstadt, NJ
separator
Find a Store
post code:
country:
within:
more options   Click for more store-locator options
separator
Home : Customer Reviews of a Pattern
 

Customer Reviews

Image of Farnsworth Blanket
Farnsworth Blanket
Pattern Number: 90027AD
Rating: *****
4.9 (based on 16 reviews)
Write your own review
 
 
Search All Patterns:  
spacer
 
Displaying 1-10 of 16 results Page 1 of 2
12Display next page
Write your own review Have you made this pattern? Send us a photo
Reviewed by Danielle Shaw on 2012-09-12 *****
I can't believe how long it took me to try out this pattern. I've seen sooo many dish/washcloth patterns similar to this and never was interested, but I needed a little car seat blanket and had 4 balls of cotton-ease, so I gave it a shot. I can see why this is such a popular pattern! It's a breeze to make and only took me about a week of nighttime knitting. Cotton-Ease is one of my favorite yarns, so I know it washes well and is easy to work with. This is my new go-to baby blanket for any surprise baby showers!

Farnsworth Blanket Reviewed by Therese Compton on 2012-05-14 *****
I knit for a Bereavement charity called Cuddles mainly catering for preemies. I have made several in the 15x15" size but I have just finished my first 30x30". I am delighted with all of them. I use the English DK (double knit) acrylic yarn as Lion Brand yarns are not available in the UK. The only difference I make is that I start with 4 sts and K2 M1 (yo) for the edge.

Farnsworth Blanket Reviewed by Micheline Sampey on 2009-07-11 *****
I am knitting this blanket right now, it is so easy to do. My mother in law commented on it saying how pretty its coming out. I can't wait to finish it!

Farnsworth Blanket Reviewed by Nancy on 2009-05-18 ****
This is my first knitted blanket and I'm definitely going to make it again! I'm using Vanna's Choice in dusty blue. I can't wait to give it as a gift to my cousin's new baby.

Farnsworth Blanket Reviewed by Laurie J Montgomery-College on 2009-05-08 *****
This is a pattern which has been verbally passed down in my family for at least 5 generations. It is also what I use to teach people to knit. The only difference is mine calls for cast on 3 sts do regular inc. until you have 6 sts and then work the pattern and you stop at 43 sts and reverse. It is a dish cloth that takes an experienced knitter about 1 ˝ to 2 hours. I do the blanket as well with any number of different yarns and if I do a portion of it as k2, k2tog, YO, knit to the end you can make it rectangular and more like an afghan which is great as a baby blanket. My last hint is to try slipping the first stitch it gives a great edge.

Farnsworth Blanket Reviewed by Janine Dunkel on 2009-05-08 *****
If you want a rectangular blanket, you work all increases until it's as wide as you want. Then you alternate increase and decrease rows until it's as long as you want, then work all decrease rows to the end. I've done these in every kind of yarn imaginable, even multiple strands. This is also great to use 1 strand of a color constantly throughout, then use odd bits as the second strand for a "patchwork" style. (Denim blue as a background and all sorts of other colors is a good country look.) This is probably one of my favorite patterns!

Farnsworth Blanket Reviewed by Colin Upham on 2009-05-09 ****
I did the same as Anna did using up my scrap yarn. Also I stopped the increase after I got to the side length for about 18 inches, then began the decrease, this way I had a rectangle. it made a sturdy and colorful "blanky" for my little one.

Farnsworth Blanket Reviewed by Angela Sciurca on 2009-05-09 *****
I started making this when I received the e-mail about this throw. I used sz. 8 needles and found that I could make a preemie blanket and little cap to match from 3 balls. It's such an easy no brainer of a pattern and one that even a beginner could follow. Thanks.

Farnsworth Blanket Reviewed by Dorothy Donald on 2009-05-09 *****
Great pattern! It's simple, makes a fast baby gift, & looks great. I've made 6 of these within the past month for baby shower gifts.

Farnsworth Blanket Reviewed by Cheryl Swingle on 2009-05-10 *****
I love this pattern it works up so easy. I have made a blanket for my friends baby. I have also done smaller ones using cotton and made wash cloths.

 
 
separator separator
Bookmark This!  separator
Sign up for our Newsletter  
separator Share This!  separator About Us separator Contact Us separator
  Font Size:   
Click to view page with standard font Click to view page with larger font Click to view page with largest font