Skip Navigation

Click for Lion Brand Yarn Home Page
separator
Our Yarns
The LB Collection
Martha Stewart Crafts
Lion's Pride Woolspun
Request Free Catalog
Our Yarns
Yarn by Weight
separator
New Catalog
separator
Shop
separator
  • free patterns
  • special sales
  • new items
  • 15% off coupon
    US orders only
    view past newsletters   Click to view newsletters and subscription choice
separator
Free Catalog
separator
Patterns
separator
Lion Brand
     Yarn Studio
     Retail Store, New York, NY
separator
Lion Brand
     Yarn Shop
     Retail Store, Colonie, NY
separator
Lion Brand Outlet
     Retail Store, Carlstadt, NJ
separator
Find a Store
post code:
country:
within:
more options   Click for more store-locator options
separator
Home : Customer Reviews of a Pattern
 

Customer Reviews

Image of Snowstorm Hat
Snowstorm Hat
Pattern Number: 90022AD
Rating: *****
4.8 (based on 15 reviews)
Write your own review
 
 
Search All Patterns:  
spacer
 
Displaying 1-10 of 15 results Page 1 of 2
12Display next page
Write your own review Have you made this pattern? Send us a photo
Snowstorm Hat Reviewed by Martha Griep on 2014-01-11 *****
I LOVE this pattern. I've made 10 of them so far. I use circular needles. After row 10, I feed a piece of ribbon through stitches 9-18 and another through stitches 41-50 and then keep working. It makes it very easy to pick up the stitches for the ear flaps. For the strings,instead of 3 new pieces,I use the cast off strand for one. I use a piece that's 24 inches, fold it in half, feed the loop through the bottom of the flap and pull the 2 ends and the cast off end through the loop and then braid (don't have to weave in the ends) :)
Used twisted rib stitch pattern for brim of the oatmeal colored hat. Came out very pretty- a little fancier.

Click to zoom

Click to zoom

Click to zoom

Snowstorm Hat Reviewed by Mary Nguyen on 2013-02-08 *****
This is one of my favorite patterns so far. I've made one for almost every family member! I did make some modifications though.

1) I knitted in the round to avoid a seam. By doing so, on the two rows in between the decrease rows, it should be:

Rnd 28: *k2, p2, k2, p1 (rep *)
Rnd 30: *k2, p1 (rep *)

2) I picked up 10 stitches where the ear flaps should be.

Snowstorm Hat Reviewed by Annelise on 2011-07-17 *****
This pattern knitted up wonderfully! I've made several now in different colours for friends (and used it as a beginning pattern while teaching a friend). It's also a very easy pattern to modify - I made mine slightly longer and added the emboidery flowers listed on the lion brand blog.

Snowstorm Hat Reviewed by Gretchen Bower on 2011-01-25 *****
I have knitted 8 of these hats - so easy. The first 2, I knitted the flaps separate as the pattern calls for. The other 6, I just picked up stitches on the hat and knitted the flaps directly on the hat. So much easier and I felt that the flaps looked better than the ones knitted separately and sewed on. My 6 granddaughters (ages: college to elementary school) absolutely love them.

Snowstorm Hat Reviewed by Joy Hutcheson on 2010-12-29 *****
Beautiful Hat! Easy to follow pattern and easy knit! I made this hat in Grey Marble for my son's girlfriend. She looked fantastic having the brim up or down! Made the hat in Charcoal for my son, with no earflaps or pom, and knit 22 rows before decrease row, using less than 1 ball. He looks fantastic in it! I knitted hat in the round and picked up stitches for earflaps which gives a cleaner look. Thank you for all the review notes. Last night I purchased yarn for 5 more hats! Thank you Lion Brand!

Snowstorm Hat Reviewed by Kari on 2010-07-15 *****
Great pattern, I used a little more than 1 ball to knit the hat and used the remainder of the second skein to make the pom pom.

Snowstorm Hat Reviewed by Christine on 2010-03-05 *****
I really liked this hat pattern- it only took about two hours to make the whole thing. However, you don't need two balls of yarn to make this- I had more than enough with one. It seems like this is just trying to get people to purchase more than they need... anyway, I altered the pattern by knitting it in the round instead of sewing a seam in the end. Much simpler, and you avoid alot of sewing and get a better look. Also, I re-drafter the ear flap pattern to make it larger and warmer. Overall, though, I love this hat, it's so comfy-cozy that I haven't been able to stop wearing it.
more info at
http://creepercrafting.blogspot.com/

Click to zoom

Click to zoom

Click to zoom

Snowstorm Hat Reviewed by Allana on 2010-01-24 ****
The reason for 4 stars vs. 5 are: The ribbing instructions are confusing. It should just say K2 p2 repeat till end, repeat row 1 for rib. Your row, when knitting flat, should always start with k2 (or the appropriate decreases). Also, the instructions say you'll need 2 skeins- I didn't even get through one.

Other than those discrepancies in the pattern, it was a great hat to knit. I made it in Oatmeal for my husband- minus the pom pom. He adores it, looks great on him, and was very fast to work up. He said it's a tad cold in the wind so I may line it later on.

Click to zoom

Click to zoom

Snowstorm Hat Reviewed by sabrina cavieres on 2010-01-05 ****
i really like this hat how ever the earflap directons were al little unclear i would really apreciate if you would simplyfied them iam a visual learner so directions on written page are sometimes dificult to fallow . over all everything else work out well and very warm i used home town usa insted of the other yarn it was just fine. woul love to see more patterns with hometown usa yarn


Snowstorm Hat Reviewed by Julie Pardoe on 2009-11-23 *****
This hat ROCKS!!! I made mine in blossom because I LOVE pink. It turned out so good I'm going to make a couple more for gifts this winter. I really only ended up needing one skein of the yarn. I think next time I'll use a few more strands for the braid.

 
 
separator separator
Bookmark This!  separator
Sign up for our Newsletter  
separator Share This!  separator About Us separator Contact Us separator
  Font Size:   
Click to view page with standard font Click to view page with larger font Click to view page with largest font