Skip Navigation

Click for Lion Brand Yarn Home Page
separator
Our Yarns
The LB Collection
Martha Stewart Crafts
Lion's Pride Woolspun
Vanna's Collection
Request Free Catalog
Our Yarns
Yarn by Weight
separator
New Catalog
separator
Shop
separator
  • free patterns
  • special sales
  • new items
  • 15% off coupon
    US orders only
    view past newsletters   Click to view newsletters and subscription choice
separator
Free Catalog
separator
Patterns
separator
Lion Brand
     Yarn Studio
     Retail Store, New York, NY
separator
Lion Brand
     Yarn Shop
     Retail Store, Colonie, NY
separator
Lion Brand Outlet
     Retail Store, Carlstadt, NJ
separator
Find a Store
post code:
country:
within:
more options   Click for more store-locator options
separator
Home : Customer Reviews of a Pattern
 

Customer Reviews

Image of Heirloom Baby Blanket
Heirloom Baby Blanket
Pattern Number: 80798AD
Rating: ****
3.7 (based on 14 reviews)
Write your own review
 
 
Search All Patterns:  
spacer
 
Displaying 1-10 of 14 results Page 1 of 2
12Display next page
Write your own review Have you made this pattern? Send us a photo
Heirloom Baby Blanket Reviewed by Tricia on 2015-05-28 *****
I made this blanket for my niece. I used off white and shades of green instead of pink and it turned out beautifully.

Heirloom Baby Blanket Reviewed by M Gabor on 2014-08-23 ****
The side panels knit up easily by working with the chart. But the middle section was a nightmare. Had to keep ripping down several rows before it would work. There's no assembly instructions. Tried to whip the pieces together and that looked awful. Then tried to crochet them together and did it on the wrong side. Had to rip that out as well and do it all over again. Tacked the dark color on so that the scalloped edges can be seen, now I have to do it again, but finer, so that the stitches can't be seen. Won't be making this again.

Click to zoom

Click to zoom

Heirloom Baby Blanket Reviewed by karen on 2012-06-27 *****
I felt challenged when I started this project, but once I got going, found most of it easy. I wrote the centre block in code and, once I did that, the project flew to completion. I edged the blanket with bessie's leaf lace - an extra 2 balls. Everyone is awestruck at the final product.

Click to zoom

Click to zoom

Heirloom Baby Blanket Reviewed by LuAnn Dawson on 2012-05-21 ***
I made this as a gift and had to make a few adjustments. Its as if 2 or 3 people came up with the idea and they didn't know what each other were doing, mostly on the edgings of each piece. Strips 1&2 start out in knitting the first stitch and then change to knit the knits and purl the purls. Also, I made 2 of the dragon skin and did not like how they looked so I used the same stitch as the larger square. Overall, it was okay but I'm not sure I would do it again.

Click to zoom

Click to zoom

Reviewed by Rebecca McKnight on 2012-01-11 *****
I finished the blanket. Lays nicely with some blocking. I needed one more skien of color A which is the cream color.

Heirloom Baby Blanket Reviewed by kathy george on 2012-03-03 *****
Just finished this blanket. It turned out beautifully. I corcheted a lacy border all around.Initially had trouble with the center. Did not know how to read a graph. So I transposed every block into a stitch on seperate paper. It took time but it was worth it.I tend to knit faster if I am confident I won't have to tear out a row. I am having trouble getting the blanket to lay flat. The small white squares are bigger than the rose colored strips and they bunch up. I layed it flat on my queen size bed and steamed it, now just waiting for it to dry hoping it will work. It will be a gift for my daughter-in-law and her new baby. I made it in pale green, (seafoam), a moss green and the almond. Did not cross stitch the center. I like it better that way.

Reviewed by clare on 2011-11-24 ****
I loved this pattern and am not an advanced knitter. I changed the colours to blue for my nephew.

I had a few issues with understanding the dragon skin pattern but it turned out fine ... But as a completed piece it's very, very large!!! Oh well he loves it!!

Heirloom Baby Blanket Reviewed by Jennifer Lowden on 2010-11-11 ****
I made this for a new grandmother and she loves it. I made it square leaving the two leaf sections off. I sewed them together and made a scarf, so it turned into two projects at once.
Very easy to follow and I learned a lot!

Heirloom Baby Blanket Reviewed by CARRIE ENGLISH on 2010-09-10 *
I do like the stich patterns but the instructions were very hard to follow.I found myself guessing on the center block. I don't have time for a guessing game. The blanket did not lay right as some squares were to tight and the other were to loose. Will not repeat the blanket. But I will use some of the new stiches learned.

Heirloom Baby Blanket Reviewed by Rozan Glover on 2010-09-13 ***
Oh My! --
I printed out this pattern on 9/3/2010. I completed it on 9/13, sans blocking. (I had to downlowd the pattern to get the center block details.)
I opted to make it all in a soft white. Since the child has arrived & it's a boy!, I'm tempted to do the cross stitches in blue, but, not so sure that will happen. I like the solid white color & the beauty of the stitches. The heirloom aspect really shows through.

This is by no means an easy pattern. Even for experienced knitters.

There is a comment about the Dragon Skin Pattern from a previous knitter that I might be inclined to agree with, but, as it turned out, I actually liked the Dragon Skin in the final.

The pattern is a bit forgiving. I am sure that some of my blocks were not made exactly to measurement, but, after sewing them all together, it worked out. I experminted with other leaf pattern squares, in the end, used the recommended patterns.

Two of my girlfriends are having babies, I initially thought I would make this for both, but, I don't think I will do this pattern again.

Although I did join all of the blocks -- pleased that they all came together & all of the loose ends were incorporated -- I don't like working in pieces.

The other child will recieve a very different blanket

Sorry, no picture now, maybe later



 
 
separator separator
Bookmark This!  separator
Sign up for our Newsletter  
separator Share This!  separator About Us separator Contact Us separator
  Font Size:   
Click to view page with standard font Click to view page with larger font Click to view page with largest font