Skip Navigation

Click for Lion Brand Yarn Home Page
separator
Our Yarns
The LB Collection
Martha Stewart Crafts
Lion's Pride Woolspun
Request Free Catalog
Our Yarns
Yarn by Weight
separator
New Catalog
separator
Shop
separator
  • free patterns
  • special sales
  • new items
  • 15% off coupon
    US orders only
    view past newsletters   Click to view newsletters and subscription choice
separator
Free Catalog
separator
Patterns
separator
Lion Brand
     Yarn Studio
     Retail Store, New York, NY
separator
Lion Brand
     Yarn Shop
     Retail Store, Colonie, NY
separator
Lion Brand Outlet
     Retail Store, Carlstadt, NJ
separator
Find a Store
post code:
country:
within:
more options   Click for more store-locator options
separator
Home : Customer Reviews of a Pattern
 

Customer Reviews

Image of Classic Cables Scarf
Classic Cables Scarf
Pattern Number: 80755AD
Rating: *****
4.6 (based on 17 reviews)
Write your own review
 
 
Search All Patterns:  
spacer
 
Displaying 1-10 of 17 results Page 1 of 2
12Display next page
Write your own review Have you made this pattern? Send us a photo
Classic Cables Scarf Reviewed by Julie on 2014-08-17 ***
I agree with the comments on the p1tbl making the edges look funny.

Also, for Line 3, it only has 53 stitches in it.

Classic Cables Scarf Reviewed by Karen on 2014-07-01 *****
Super pattern. The cable repeat was easy to memorize and moved pretty quickly. I did one for my husband in cashmere and it turned out great. He really liked it and has worn in quite a bit. The knitting and purling through the back loops makes the edging lay flat and the stitches pop.

Classic Cables Scarf Reviewed by Lydia on 2014-01-18 *****
Great Pattern, the only change I made was casting on 42 stitches, not increasing, and then only repeating twice, for a total of 3 cables instead of 4. Ended up being a more medium sized scarf width.

Classic Cables Scarf Reviewed by Surekha on 2012-08-02 ****
Love the outcome..Thanks to Lion Brand for the pattern. I had to change the pattern at the edges as it was not coming properly. For K1tbl rows I started and ended with K1. For P1tbl rows I started and ended with P1. So finally edges became perfect. Definitely will make another one soon. Very easy to remember.

Click to zoom

Click to zoom

Click to zoom

Classic Cables Scarf Reviewed by A Saleh on 2012-02-07 ****
My biggest challenge in this pattern is knitting and purling through the back loop especially when working on the wrong side. Also the scarf edge looks crocked when knitting/purling through the back loop. I started another scarf and replaced the knitting/purling through the back loop with regular knitting/purling. I don’t like the results as the regular knitting/purling seem wider and form a thick featureless bar between the cables. Unlike the knitting/purling through the back loop that produces thin well-defined double bars. My next option is to apply regular knitting/purling to the sides and knitting/purling through the back loop to the inner bars.
Also in my first one I used size 7 & 8 needles and in my second one I used size 8 & 10. I like the one with the smaller needle better because the cables’ outlines are sharper while with the larger needles the cables seem flat and ill-defined at some parts.
In my second one I casted 55 stitches and the sides look better than when casting 56 and reducing one.
My last modification to this pattern would be by widening the sides. Perhaps four knit instead of knit one/ purl one /knit one on the right side.
It's an excellent project to master cables.

Classic Cables Scarf Reviewed by Eileen Hasler on 2011-08-11 *****
I made this scarf for my husband in about three weeks. Now he wants a cap to match. Can you creat a cable stich cap to go with this scarf? Thank you in advance.

Click to zoom

Classic Cables Scarf - LOVE IT! Reviewed by Leslie Martin on 2011-01-02 *****
I made this scarf last year and when my son wore it recently I thought "that's a nice looking scarf" so I made it again. This was my first cable without a cable needle and it went so much faster. The pattern is simple to remember. I absolutely LOVE this scarf. It's a quickie knit perfect for gifts.

Classic Cables Scarf Reviewed by Kenneth Feibush on 2010-07-03 *****
This scarf is my most requested work. I used the Vanna's Choice Denim Mist and the color work turned out great! One lady requested pockets at the ends of the scarf, and it was excellent. I'm just upset I didn't take a picture of it.

Classic Cables Scarf Reviewed by Deborah Hall on 2010-03-29 *****
I made two of these.The cable instructions are easy to understand and follow.This was my first time to do cables.I made one of the scarves quite a bit longer than the pattern stated,the recipient is over 6'3''tall.The longer length was appreciated.Both recipients are using and enjoying their scarves.

Click to zoom

Classic Cables Scarf Reviewed by Pat Davis on 2010-02-04 ****
I wanted to learn to do cables and this is the pattern I chose. It is a good one to learn on. However, you should be aware that this scarf is one sided (at least that is how mine is turning out), with the cables showing on only one side.

 
 
separator separator
Bookmark This!  separator
Sign up for our Newsletter  
separator Share This!  separator About Us separator Contact Us separator
  Font Size:   
Click to view page with standard font Click to view page with larger font Click to view page with largest font