Skip Navigation

Click for Lion Brand Yarn Home Page
separator
Our Yarns
The LB Collection
Martha Stewart Crafts
Lion's Pride Woolspun
Vanna's Collection
Request Free Catalog
Our Yarns
Yarn by Weight
separator
New Catalog
separator
Shop
separator
  • free patterns
  • special sales
  • new items
  • 15% off coupon
    US orders only
    view past newsletters   Click to view newsletters and subscription choice
separator
Free Catalog
separator
Patterns
separator
Lion Brand
     Yarn Studio
     Retail Store, New York, NY
separator
Lion Brand
     Yarn Shop
     Retail Store, Colonie, NY
separator
Lion Brand Outlet
     Retail Store, Carlstadt, NJ
separator
Find a Store
post code:
country:
within:
more options   Click for more store-locator options
separator
separator
Home : Customer Reviews of a Pattern
 

Customer Reviews

Image of Simple Cable Scarf
Simple Cable Scarf
Pattern Number: 80888AD
Rating: ****
3.9 (based on 18 reviews)
Write your own review
 
 
Search All Patterns:  
spacer
 
Displaying 1-10 of 18 results Page 1 of 2
12Display next page
Write your own review Have you made this pattern? Send us a photo
Simple Cable Scarf Reviewed by William Bray on 2015-01-07 ****
This scarf is great for what it is. I began doing this scarf so I could learn how to do cables and it has shown me the way... I invite anyone who wants to learn this great design feature to do this pattern. As others have mentioned before me. The pattern is designed in a way that allows a curl to develop. I have modified the pattern to allow for a constant K5 on the edges and adjusting the p to 3 instead of 5. With that, it is coming out fantastic!

Pretty Good If You Work With It Reviewed by Emily Klie on 2013-01-05 ****
This scarf is a good beginning cable pattern. It's almost like a sampler with a couple very basic cable variations. It's a little narrow and overly long for my taste. I skipped the middle cable pattern to get a better length. It did roll very badly (that always happens with this kind of edging) but I gently and thoroughly steamed it on both sides with my iron and it came out great. Steaming does make it lose some visual texture but it also looked more finished.

Simple Cable Scarf Reviewed by Sophia Ross on 2011-11-05 *
Changing to Cable Pattern 2 was not aesthetically pleasing for me. I ripped that part out and went back to Cable Pattern 1.
There seems to be a hole left after doing the cable, going from the knit to the purl. The design of Cable pattern 2 was not balanced, and detracted from the scarf. The ends do curl, but I hope it will correct with blocking.

Simple Cable Scarf Reviewed by Joyce Spillars on 2011-06-12 *
I ended up taking it out because the edges were curling badly. I tried altering the pattern but didn't like my results. Will try a different pattern.

Simple Cable Scarf Reviewed by Sarah Fleck on 2011-02-19 *****
I love this pattern. Althought I used a different yarn, Vanna's Choice, and it is curling up on the the sides. I guess I will try to block it like the other reviews have said. :0(

Simple Cable Scarf Reviewed by DIANA L MARKS on 2009-09-10 ****
I like this pattern, but I used a different medium weight yarn and the edges are flat and clean.

The pattern itself is great!

Simple Cable Scarf Reviewed by Christine Henderson on 2011-02-04 *****
This was my first time doing a cable knit and it was super easy. This made me feel confident and willing to try more cable patterns.

Simple Cable Scarf Reviewed by Juana Pena on 2010-11-28 *****
I just started knitting and I was thinking about a pattern in my head for a scarf. I swear the one I had in mind is exactly like this one!!! I have started it and I love it so far. I used a violet-purple yarn. It is so beautiful so far. Thank you!

Simple Cable Scarf Reviewed by Catherine Sison on 2010-08-12 ****
I am making this pattern right now, really easy, but is curlilng up ( I am using a different kind of yarn) Maybe you can substitute the stockinette with seed stitch instead. Will block it when I'm finished.

Simple Cable Scarf Reviewed by Linda on 2010-06-12 ***
This was my first attempt at knitting for many years. It's easy to knit, but I have a bad curling problem, with the sides curling over to obscure the cable. I've blocked it a couple of times, but it still curls. I used a different wool, so that might be why.

 
 
separator separator
Bookmark This!  separator
Sign up for our Newsletter  
separator Share This!  separator About Us separator Contact Us separator
  Font Size:   
Click to view page with standard font Click to view page with larger font Click to view page with largest font