Skip Navigation

Click for Lion Brand Yarn Home Page
separator
Our Yarns
The LB Collection
Martha Stewart Crafts
Lion's Pride Woolspun
Vanna's Collection
Request Free Catalog
Our Yarns
Yarn by Weight
separator
New Catalog
separator
Shop
separator
  • free patterns
  • special sales
  • new items
  • 15% off coupon
    US orders only
    view past newsletters   Click to view newsletters and subscription choice
separator
Free Catalog
separator
Patterns
separator
Lion Brand
     Yarn Studio
     Retail Store, New York, NY
separator
Lion Brand
     Yarn Shop
     Retail Store, Colonie, NY
separator
Lion Brand Outlet
     Retail Store, Carlstadt, NJ
separator
Find a Store
post code:
country:
within:
more options   Click for more store-locator options
separator
Home : Customer Reviews of a Pattern
 

Customer Reviews

Image of Scarf Hood
Scarf Hood
Pattern Number: 80397AD
Rating: *****
4.8 (based on 12 reviews)
Write your own review
 
 
Search All Patterns:  
spacer
 
Displaying 1-10 of 12 results Page 1 of 2
12Display next page
Write your own review Have you made this pattern? Send us a photo
Scarf Hood Reviewed by Lori A R Head on 2012-11-17 ****
I used 2 strands of worsted weight acrylic yarn in Colt's blue held together for the body and made the pattern wider in order to make the hood bigger. I also made it longer so I could fold up the ends into pockets. I lined it w/white Fun Fur.

Click to zoom

Click to zoom

Click to zoom

Click to zoom

Scarf Hood Reviewed by Irlanda Diaz Pino on 2011-12-09 *****
Again... Another winner!

I have made several of these in different colors, the one my sister wears in the photo was knitted using bigger size needles so it wouldn't curl (the others tended to curl a bit)

I'll try an take more pics of the others I've made so I can upload them here. I try an upload all the pics I can because it always helps when you see someone's finished project (well.. At least it helps me ;) )

Click to zoom

Click to zoom

Reviewed by Dorcas Berthold on 2011-11-27 *****
Thanks to LionBrands' free patterns and Michaels fantastic sale on Thanksgiving evening I was able to afford the yarn for this great project and another knit scarf/hood. All for $23! I just hope my daughters let me keep them! Lol
I've fallen in love with scoodies (as LB has named them). The two patterns I chose were this one and #60614 - a 90" cable with hood attached. For this scarf I decided to stick with the colors LB used and for the cable scoodie I chose 131-Grass.
I will alter the hood on both patterns because I don't want a pointy top. Maybe the ladies above would've thought the hat more age appropriate my way.
I am going to attempt to knit it with decreases and then increase back at the middle of hat portion. If I'm unsuccessful ill just do what i did on my first scoodie when i hated the cone-head appearance - I'd already seamed it up the way this one is, didn't like- turned it inside out again and sewed a new seam just inside of the original, making it more rounded. When I'm wearing it I never notice the added bulk and when I flip hood down while still wearing the scarf it doesn't seem to show.
I hope I described that well. I'll try to take notes and pictures as I knit it. I'm working on the other scarf first because it looked easier to attempt my alteration on.
If you like this scoodie then you'll love the other one too. Cables are easy and you'll be a pro when you're done - pattern 60614

Scarf Hood Reviewed by bridy madill on 2011-11-20 *****
This pattern knits up very fast. I made two of them as gifts for friends. I omitted the fur trim.

Scarf Hood Reviewed by Summer Bushnell on 2010-06-03 *****
Love this pattern. Made three different colors! Have modified the pattern to make a baby one and a kid one.

Click to zoom

Click to zoom

Click to zoom

Click to zoom

Scarf Hood Reviewed by Susan Stein on 2010-02-18 *****
Treated myself to the yarn and made myself (yay! something for MYSELF)this beautiful, elegant scarf. Did not make it hooded, though. Kept it flat. Gorgeous. I have actually had people stop me to ask about the scarf. Thank you Lion Brand for the wonderful pattern.

Scarf Hood Reviewed by Lisa Rymdeko on 2009-12-10 *****
my mom loves to wear hooded scarves but the stores never seem to make them thick enough or big enough. so i saw this pattern used a different yarn and i crochet the ends of it with a dc and it looks incredible. thanks for the pattern!

Scarf Hood Reviewed by gerti barthuly on 2009-06-27 *****
I have made the same exact scarf and it turned out fabulous!!!!!The color combo is very rich, classy looking. I crochet mine using hdc on the body and followed the instruction on the edging. I made 3, one just like the picture, black with black fun fur, russet with matching fun fur. I gave it to my 3 aunts from chicago and I got nothing but accolade!

Scarf Hood Reviewed by kim keegan on 2009-02-22 ****
I just finished making this and followed the directions to make the "hood" portion. After putting it on, I realized it was just a little too cutesy for an older person, like myself. Probably is ok on a more romatic, younger person.

I torn it out and made the whole thing flat and love it!

Scarf Hood Reviewed by susan palle on 2009-02-02 *****
i love this look. works up beautifully and fairly fast. very rich and sexy looking.

 
 
separator separator
Bookmark This!  separator
Sign up for our Newsletter  
separator Share This!  separator About Us separator Contact Us separator
  Font Size:   
Click to view page with standard font Click to view page with larger font Click to view page with largest font