Skip Navigation

Click for Lion Brand Yarn Home Page
separator
Our Yarns
The LB Collection
Martha Stewart Crafts
Lion's Pride Woolspun
Request Free Catalog
Our Yarns
Yarn by Weight
separator
New Catalog
separator
Shop
separator
  • free patterns
  • special sales
  • new items
  • 15% off coupon
    US orders only
    view past newsletters   Click to view newsletters and subscription choice
separator
Free Catalog
separator
Patterns
separator
Lion Brand
     Yarn Studio
     Retail Store, New York, NY
separator
Lion Brand
     Yarn Shop
     Retail Store, Colonie, NY
separator
Lion Brand Outlet
     Retail Store, Carlstadt, NJ
separator
Find a Store
post code:
country:
within:
more options   Click for more store-locator options
separator
Home : Customer Reviews of a Pattern
 

Customer Reviews

Image of V Shawl
V Shawl
Pattern Number: 80442AD
Rating: *****
4.8 (based on 21 reviews)
Write your own review
 
 
Search All Patterns:  
spacer
 
Displaying 1-10 of 21 results Page 1 of 3
123Display next page
Write your own review Have you made this pattern? Send us a photo
V Shawl Reviewed by K Robertson on 2012-01-09 *****
Enjoyed doing this in Homepun Tudor. I turned the corner when I was close to the end of the first ball, about 33 inches, and matched the color run with the second ball to make it symmetrical. Interestingly, the two balls of yarn were wound different ly, with the colors going in opposite order. That is not a trait I would always wish in two balls of the same yarn, but it was good with this, as I was able to pull both from the inside.

Click to zoom

Click to zoom

Click to zoom

V Shawl Reviewed by Melva Godwin on 2011-07-13 ****
I knitted this shawl in Homespun's Waterfall color. The striping is as beautiful as it is in the model picture. My only complaint is with the yarn. My first ball ended after knitting to around 32" but the second ball would have lasted me an entire 36 inches f I hadn't had to go to it to finish the first half (I ended up buying a third skein.) But I've had this complaint before about differing lengths of Homespun yarn skeins. To control the cost of the shawl, I would probably decrease the length by around 2 inches or so to make sure I had enough yarn: the decreased length will not be missed. I am knitting another one for my sister now in "Mediterranean." I'm also going to try one in "Lagoon" and one in "Nuveau."

Click to zoom

Click to zoom

Click to zoom

V Shawl Reviewed by Ronda on 2010-12-30 *****
An "easy" pattern that really IS easy--seeing as how I can't even remember how to purl and have previously only made scarves. This pattern knits up beautifully and can be made heavier or lighter weight just by changing from single strand to double-strand knitting. Can wear as shown in Lion Brand model picture or as shown in my picture with both points thrown over opposite shoulders.

Click to zoom

V Shawl Reviewed by Margaret Horner on 2010-12-10 *****
This came out beautiful. I made it with the painted dessert and hte shading is gorgeous. It hangs nicely because of the bias. I will make this pattern again. It only took two nights to knit.

V Shawl Reviewed by Pene Kedzorski on 2010-10-28 *****
I made one for myself. I love it and have received numerous compliments. Pattern was easy to follow although I made mine 3-4" inches longer than suggested in the pattern so that it would fall farther on my back and hanger lower in the front. I like to wear it with long skirts, boots and a wrapped belt for a chic look. I'll be wearing this a lot this winter with many things. Thanks!

V Shawl Reviewed by CAROLINE YEAGER on 2010-10-07 ****
I used size 13 needles to make the fabric looser and more "drape-y". I also increased the width to about 20". Al in all, I was extremely pleased with the way the shawl turned out. I plan to make more shawls to donate to local hospitals and nursing homes.

V Shawl Reviewed by Shelley on 2010-09-07 *****
This was my first project after not picking up my knitting needles for many years. It was a perfect choice - simple and satisfyingly quick and I'm very pleased with the completed shawl.
(I took a Sharpie pen and labelled my needles "O" & "E" for Odd & Even to keep track of rows.)
I knit in Homespun Nouveau and the rich colours are going to look great with jeans or cords and a turtleneck held with my big copper broach.

Click to zoom

V Shawl Reviewed by Jaki Erdoes on 2010-03-06 ****
Lovely and uncomplicated, just a little too narrow. I added a p3, k3 pattern to give it a more interesting texture. If I make another, I would make it wider by 10 or 12 stitches. (This is a discontinued yarn I had in my stash, not Homespun.)

Click to zoom

V Shawl Reviewed by JACQUELYN J BAILEY on 2010-02-20 *****
This shawl is easy, quick, warm, and a way to use up all the leftover Homespun I have accumulated over the years. It looks great, too!

V Shawl Reviewed by rosanne johnson on 2010-01-16 *****
I made this last year in blue and donated it to Hospice, and the people who saw it decided it was perfect as it didn't slip off the shoulders. I made several copies of the pattern to give to others who thought they would make it also!

 
 
separator separator
Bookmark This!  separator
Sign up for our Newsletter  
separator Share This!  separator About Us separator Contact Us separator
  Font Size:   
Click to view page with standard font Click to view page with larger font Click to view page with largest font