Skip Navigation

Click for Lion Brand Yarn Home Page
Our Yarns
The LB Collection
Martha Stewart Crafts
Lion's Pride Woolspun
Vanna's Collection
Request Free Catalog
Our Yarns
Yarn by Weight
New Catalog
  • free patterns
  • special sales
  • new items
  • 15% off coupon
    US orders only
    view past newsletters   Click to view newsletters and subscription choice
Free Catalog
Lion Brand
     Yarn Studio
     Retail Store, New York, NY
Lion Brand
     Yarn Shop
     Retail Store, Colonie, NY
Lion Brand Outlet
     Retail Store, Carlstadt, NJ
Find a Store
post code:
more options   Click for more store-locator options
Home : Customer Reviews of a Pattern

Customer Reviews

Image of Cable Scarf
Cable Scarf
Pattern Number: 80678AD
Rating: ****
3.9 (based on 14 reviews)
Write your own review
Search All Patterns:  
Displaying 1-10 of 14 results Page 1 of 2
12Display next page
Write your own review Have you made this pattern? Send us a photo
Cable Scarf Reviewed by Michele B on 2011-12-24 *****
I made this scarf in one colour with 2 balls of wool. I felt if was long enough. It was quick to make and a great pattern. Wonderful project!!

Cable Scarf Reviewed by Jennifer Thompson on 2011-07-21 *****
I made this scarf with the Hometown yarn and it was my first cable pattern attempt. I used size 17 needles and before I knew it the scarf was too long to switch to the second color but it's all black and I love it. It looks like something I would have bought in the store!!!!!

Cable Scarf Reviewed by Tami on 2009-10-19 ****
This was my first cabled project, and it was pretty easy! I am excited that I've done something with cables now, and look forward to yet more :-)

I made the scarf half-length, as I didn't feel my brother-in-law would want an 80" scarf. I think it will be just about right for him to tuck the ends into his coat. It's very warm. I made it with one skein each of the Thick & Chunky in Grass and Denim.

Click to zoom

Cable Scarf Reviewed by Kim on 2009-02-06 *****
This pattern was the first pattern I attempted with cables. Thanks to the excellent instructions, I will no longer shy away from patterns which include cables. The results are fantastic! I added a few extra rows of seed stitch at the beginnging and the end of the scarf so the ends better resemble the sides of the scarf. Thank you for another wonderful and easy to follow pattern!

Click to zoom

Cable Scarf Reviewed by Lauren Caliolio on 2009-01-05 ****
Not bad. Done in Wheat.

Had some issues with curling on the sides where the border ends and the pattern begins. Cold water blocking remedied the issue somewhat.

Click to zoom

Cable Scarf Reviewed by Linda L. Morgan on 2008-12-07 ***
I haven't made this but I have solved a lot of my "curling" problems by doing this: on the last stitch of every row, bring the yarn to the front (toward you) and slip the last stitch as if to knit. Turn. Knit the first stitch and continue with the pattern. This not only helps with the "curling" but makes a beautiful edge on both sides! Enjoy.

Cable Scarf Reviewed by Sharon Morris on 2008-11-19 *
I made this last year for my dad and had a horrible time with the scarf curling up on both sides. I even tried blocking it, and that didn't help

Cable Scarf Reviewed by Karen on 2008-11-18 *****
I blocked this scarf when I was done, and what a difference. It's softer, and it lays flat, and just isn't so stiff. This is a really nice scarf to make- I used a cream color for the entire thing, and people cannot believe that it's made. They think I bought it! That's flattering!!

Cable Scarf Reviewed by CAROLYN A MCDONOUGH on 2008-11-17 *****
I am working with the color Spice and like the way it handles. So far I haven't had any trouble with edges curling. I never have with the various scarves I've made. I wonder if that is really a problem once you are wearing the scarf. Do the ends have to be perfectly flat?

Cable Scarf Reviewed by Kris French on 2008-11-13 ****
Haven't made it but making a couple inches of seed stitch (to match border) should solve curling problem.

separator separator
Bookmark This!  separator
Sign up for our Newsletter  
separator Share This!  separator About Us separator Contact Us separator
  Font Size:   
Click to view page with standard font Click to view page with larger font Click to view page with largest font