Skip Navigation

Click for Lion Brand Yarn Home Page
Our Yarns
The LB Collection
Martha Stewart Crafts
Lion's Pride Woolspun
Vanna's Collection
Request Free Catalog
Our Yarns
Yarn by Weight
New Catalog
  • free patterns
  • special sales
  • new items
  • 15% off coupon
    US orders only
    view past newsletters   Click to view newsletters and subscription choice
Free Catalog
Lion Brand
     Yarn Studio
     Retail Store, New York, NY
Lion Brand
     Yarn Shop
     Retail Store, Colonie, NY
Lion Brand Outlet
     Retail Store, Carlstadt, NJ
Find a Store
post code:
more options   Click for more store-locator options
Home : Customer Reviews of a Pattern

Customer Reviews

Image of 5 1/2 Hour Throw
5 1/2 Hour Throw
Pattern Number: 80218AD
Rating: *****
4.7 (based on 12 reviews)
Write your own review
Search All Patterns:  
Displaying 1-10 of 12 results Page 1 of 2
12Display next page
Write your own review Have you made this pattern? Send us a photo
5 1/2 Hour Throw Reviewed by Kerrie Turner on 2013-07-08 *****
I have made 4 of these blankets with the speed hook and they are always well recieved. I will say that when the "holiday homespun" comes out, I always stock up and make Christmas gifts galore! They turn out great in those colors.
awesome pattern and really quick to do. It is true that it gets heavy, but it is manageable.

Loving it.. Reviewed by Chimica on 2012-02-17 *****
I've been working on this blanket and so far I am loving the ease of this pattern. For one I didn't use the hook or the amount of yarn on the pattern. Instead I used one single strand and a K hook. I found this to make for a nice thick pattern with very little holes. I'm planning on making a few more of these but in a premature baby size because of the true ease and thickness of the results.

5 1/2 Hour Throw Reviewed by Patricia Jaroslawski on 2011-08-22 *****
I have made two of these afghans. They work up very quickly. I used a "Q" hook rather than the speed hook. The first time I used 3 strands of homespun, but the second tine I used only 2 as I found the finished product to be very heavy with the three strands. Both projects turned out beautifully and were very cozy; perfect to snuggle up under while reading or watching tv. I used differnt colours of homespun to match the recipients decor. Homespun can be a little tricky to work with if you have to pick up only back loops ertc, but it was not an issue with the simple stich and large hook used for this pattern. The range of colours and softness of the yarn makes me come back to homespun for many projects.

5 1/2 Hour Throw Reviewed by Megan on 2011-04-18 ****
I used 3 strands of Vanna yarn (blue, green brown) and it came out nice and heavy and snuggly. Took me longer than 5.5hrs (and I think I made it larger too) but by far the fastest afghan I've ever made.

5 1/2 Hour Throw Reviewed by DEBORAH A CENKO on 2010-09-18 *****
I made one and am starting my second. Works quickly and easily. Love Homespun yarn and this pattern!

5 1/2 Hour Throw Reviewed by Joan on 2009-05-08 *****
I have made three of these and they are beautiful. As I don't like using Homespun, I use Vanna's Choice and only use 3 strands with a smaller size hook and always make it wider and longer. I made one using red, white and blue for my grandson.
Never crocheted before and this was simple and quick.

5 1/2 Hour Throw Reviewed by Dawn Sullivan on 2009-04-17 ****
Nice easy stitch and goes by quick but very open. Next time drop size hook.

5 1/2 Hour Throw Reviewed by Crystal N on 2009-03-20 ***
I have made one of these, but it seemed too short to be a fully comforting blanket. So I added ten more stitches across to make it wider, which I would recommend if you are using this pattern. However, I think the spaces in the blanket are too big and it isn't exactly very warm.. but I would say it looks nice as a decorative piece.

5 1/2 Hour Throw Reviewed by betsy on 2009-01-30 *****
I have made dozens of these. My last one consists of only using 2 balls at a time...each row with 2 differnt colors. Never repeating a row (with colors) LONG fringe at the top and bottom ends. I am using all of my left over yarn. Probably the most beautiful throw I have ever seen and made. I used a smaller hook. (A great way to use up all your left-over yarn)

5 1/2 Hour Throw Reviewed by JO HODGE on 2009-01-23 *****
I made six of these, joined them in a 3 across by 2 across pattern...King size coverlet in the boldest colors you ever saw! Am now working on the matching pillows...this is so fast, so easy and I love the fact that I can just throw it in washer, and then lay it out on the bed to dry...Thanks for a super, simple pattern!

separator separator
Bookmark This!  separator
Sign up for our Newsletter  
separator Share This!  separator About Us separator Contact Us separator
  Font Size:   
Click to view page with standard font Click to view page with larger font Click to view page with largest font