Skip Navigation

Click for Lion Brand Yarn Home Page
separator
Our Yarns
The LB Collection
Martha Stewart Crafts
Lion's Pride Woolspun
Request Free Catalog
Our Yarns
Yarn by Weight
separator
New Catalog
separator
Shop
separator
  • free patterns
  • special sales
  • new items
  • 15% off coupon
    US orders only
    view past newsletters   Click to view newsletters and subscription choice
separator
Free Catalog
separator
Patterns
separator
Lion Brand
     Yarn Studio
     Retail Store, New York, NY
separator
Lion Brand
     Yarn Shop
     Retail Store, Colonie, NY
separator
Lion Brand Outlet
     Retail Store, Carlstadt, NJ
separator
Find a Store
post code:
country:
within:
more options   Click for more store-locator options
separator
Home : Customer Reviews of a Pattern
 

Customer Reviews

Image of Earflap Hat
Earflap Hat
Pattern Number: 70318AD
Rating: *****
4.2 (based on 21 reviews)
Write your own review
 
 
Search All Patterns:  
spacer
 
Displaying 1-10 of 20 results Page 1 of 2
12Display next page
Write your own review Have you made this pattern? Send us a photo
Earflap Hat Reviewed by Monique Mercier on 2012-01-11 **
The pattern guage is off. i only used a j hook and still couldn't get more than 3.5 inches. the extra chain in each row acts like an increase while also lengthening so it becomes huge. I would suggest an H hook and no added chains on each row. I have a good beanie pattern but needed an earflap add on


Reviewed by smurfette112178 on 2011-12-07 *****
Super easy to make. I made 5 within a week. I don't understand all the reviews about it being so big.... I actually needed a k hook to fit a 22in head. So, either I crochet super tightly, or something. I dunno, but it worked for me. Lots of last minute Christmas gifts, and using up leftover yarn at the same time. Thanks. :-)

Earflap Hat Reviewed by Lisa Caldwell on 2011-09-13 ***
I made this hat in brown & orange for my teen son to wear in the woods. The plan was to have many more stripes, but at ROUND 12 it was already slightly too big & he is the size of a grown man. I plan to make this hat using left over colors of yarn for my 8 year old daughter, stopping at Round 12 and adding the ear flaps, which will easily button/tie under her chin. Also, my hubby has a VERY large head and at round 12 it fits his head perfectly. I'm giving this a 3 because I'd never get the size right if the person weren't on hand for me to check the size as I crocheted. Very easy to crochet though!!!

Click to zoom

Earflap Hat Reviewed by Kristina on 2010-02-06 *****
Great hat, but stop increasing at 60 stitches around. The longer part in back is not necessary for women & children. The flaps are super easy to make. I finished it with a pompon on top and braided 6 strands of yarn to make ties hanging from each earflap. An all-around great hat! Experiment & add your own pattern, etc.

Earflap Hat Reviewed by Liddia Freouf on 2010-01-14 *****
I found this pattern so I could make one for a Christmas gift. It is very easy and it turned out great! I liked it enough I made myself one and then another one for a birthday gift. I used different colors for each hat to personalize it to the wearer. It looks great in a plain color or different stripe patterns than the one shown, very versitile. It is cozy and warm too. I really recommend this pattern!

This pattern is great! Reviewed by Samantha Bilodeau on 2010-01-05 *****
I haven't ever done it with all of the color changes, but I have made it with a solid color several times and it's great! The first hat I ever made was this one and I think that looser stitches is likely the reason for all the complaints about it being too big (I left off the neck panel and made it 4 rounds shorter the first time and it's still good sized - it's the blue one). All hats since are perfect, even for small children, with or without the ear flaps.

I also often add ties if I'm adding earflaps. :)

Click to zoom

Click to zoom

Click to zoom

Click to zoom

Earflap Hat Reviewed by Barbara Bloominger on 2009-12-05 *****
I've made several of these hats now and found the pattern to be very easy. I made mine with one solid color and looks great. I did have to adjust my hook since I crochet tightly.


Barbara B, New Jersey

Earflap Hat Reviewed by Ruth E Curwick on 2009-11-11 ****
I found this pattern easy to follow. My only complaint is that it turned out to be much larger than I needed. My solution was to line my hat with fleece. :D ~Lily

Earflap Hat Reviewed by chandra poley on 2009-09-29 **
I'm glad I read some of the reviews. I am not quite done with the hat but I can already tell it is HUGE! I am using the right needle and even measured my stitches and they are the size suggested by the pattern but it is still way too big for any human I know of. I am going to start over and make less rows (maybe 8).

Earflap Hat - easy first project! Reviewed by Andrée-Anne Mercier on 2009-09-23 ****
This is my favorite hat crochet pattern for kids. It is a fast and easy project that one can easily adapt to suit different styles and needs. I love to knit it plain, and add a contrasting color for the brim and ties (I always add ties). I usually omit knitting the back piece, because it is not necessary, and looks and fits better without it. If you need the extra coverage at the back of the head, I suggest you reduce the number of stitches as you go, so it will fit snugly. This has been my inspiration for many many fun crocheted hats.

 
 
separator separator
Bookmark This!  separator
Sign up for our Newsletter  
separator Share This!  separator About Us separator Contact Us separator
  Font Size:   
Click to view page with standard font Click to view page with larger font Click to view page with largest font