Skip Navigation

Click for Lion Brand Yarn Home Page
separator
Our Yarns
The LB Collection
Martha Stewart Crafts
Lion's Pride Woolspun
Vanna's Collection
Request Free Catalog
Our Yarns
Yarn by Weight
separator
New Catalog
separator
Shop
separator
  • free patterns
  • special sales
  • new items
  • 15% off coupon
    US orders only
    view past newsletters   Click to view newsletters and subscription choice
separator
Free Catalog
separator
Patterns
separator
Lion Brand
     Yarn Studio
     Retail Store, New York, NY
separator
Lion Brand
     Yarn Shop
     Retail Store, Colonie, NY
separator
Lion Brand Outlet
     Retail Store, Carlstadt, NJ
separator
Find a Store
post code:
country:
within:
more options   Click for more store-locator options
separator
Home : Customer Reviews of a Pattern
 

Customer Reviews

Image of Tumbling Blocks Afghan
Tumbling Blocks Afghan
Pattern Number: 80263AD
Rating: *****
4.3 (based on 12 reviews)
Write your own review
 
 
Search All Patterns:  
spacer
 
Displaying 1-10 of 12 results Page 1 of 2
12Display next page
Write your own review Have you made this pattern? Send us a photo
Tumbling Blocks Afghan Reviewed by Pat Young on 2013-08-09 *****
Thanks to the reviewer who suggested clip clothes pins for bobbins. I would have been beside myself otherwise. I modified the color palette, using black for the shadow side of the blocks. I lined this with a lightweight fleece to cover the back work. This worked out to be one gorgeous afgan. I am so pleased with it. I wasn't in a rush so it took me from April until August to finish it but I work full time so could only devote a couple hours a night to it. After the pattern was established, I could just about knit without the chart! LionBrand struck another winner!

Tumbling Blocks Afghan Reviewed by joanne on 2012-08-06 *****
Made this as a baby blanket, and the mom loved the finished afghan. Mom's favourite colour is purple, so I made sure to incorporate it into the crocheted edge. Used wooden clothes pins as bobbins, with good success. Avoided weaving in the loose ends on the back, by backing the afghan with flannel, and "quilting" with black floss by tying knots in each of the black squares.

Click to zoom

Click to zoom

Tumbling Blocks Afghan Reviewed by Nancy Fiedler on 2012-05-02 *****
This is indeed a challenging pattern. I planned to work on it during a very long road trip. I did not see the bajillion bobbins listed in the materials list and so did not take them with me in the extra, large bag of yarn...This afghan was impossible to make until I was able to find them along the way.... I too changed some colors, using my stash..and increased the width as well, to 2 1/2 pattern widths. I hope that is enough. I do plan to make it again, using all scraps/leftovers, except for the dark brown, will see what happens when I get to the borders.......That is, if I am not done in by all those tails on the backside.....I hate that part of a project...

Click to zoom

Click to zoom

Tumbling Blocks Afghan Reviewed by CHARLOTTE A STEVENS on 2011-12-17 ****
I made this for eldest Daughter, because her's had to be different from anyone else! Still have filled bobbins, and a lot of yarn left over. Not the most economical afghan to make, but it was 'interesting! I made Tumbling Blocks as a Quilt also.

Click to zoom

Tumbling Blocks Afghan Reviewed by MICHAL BEN NER C O LIZ TAPPER on 2010-11-15 *****
It was a challenge, but I used my own colors and the results were so glorious that I made two, one for my family and one for my newly married daughter and her husband.

Michal

Tumbling Blocks Afghan Reviewed by Deb Lueders on 2010-11-15 ****
Instead of doing this pattern in Intarsa, and dealing with all the bobbins, I did it using Interlac technique, then I only had to have one or two bobbins at a time. And you'll be a real pro at picking up stitches after this! After it is blocked, it lays just the same.

not worth it Reviewed by Patricia Thompson on 2010-10-24 *
The colors are ugly and reminiscent of the 1970s. The pattern is okay, if you don't mind up to 20 different bobbins on a row, with hundreds of ends to weave in. I was disappointed with the results and it remains a UFO.

Click to zoom

Tumbling Blocks Afghan Reviewed by Caroline Ellis on 2010-08-10 *****
Very pretty pattern and, despite many dangling bobbins, not difficult.
I used the suggested colors but will definitely use different ones next time as they were rather dull

Tumbling Blocks Afghan Reviewed by NAOMI REINSTATLER on 2010-07-20 ****
My afgan is beautiful and has the 3-D effect. My only comment is regarding all the leftover yarn. If the afgan were made a few blocks wider it would be a nicer size and more of the yarn would have been used.

Tumbling Blocks Afghan Reviewed by Cheryl Griffith on 2010-04-02 *****
My sister gave me the yarn for this afghan for Christmas and I just finished it. It is gorgeous! I was going to keep it at work but so many people are lusting after it, I'm afraid it isn't safe so home it goes!

 
 
separator separator
Bookmark This!  separator
Sign up for our Newsletter  
separator Share This!  separator About Us separator Contact Us separator
  Font Size:   
Click to view page with standard font Click to view page with larger font Click to view page with largest font