Skip Navigation

Click for Lion Brand Yarn Home Page
separator
Our Yarns
The LB Collection
Martha Stewart Crafts
Lion's Pride Woolspun
Vanna's Collection
Request Free Catalog
Our Yarns
Yarn by Weight
separator
New Catalog
separator
Shop
separator
  • free patterns
  • special sales
  • new items
  • 15% off coupon
    US orders only
    view past newsletters   Click to view newsletters and subscription choice
separator
Free Catalog
separator
Patterns
separator
Lion Brand
     Yarn Studio
     Retail Store, New York, NY
separator
Lion Brand
     Yarn Shop
     Retail Store, Colonie, NY
separator
Lion Brand Outlet
     Retail Store, Carlstadt, NJ
separator
Find a Store
post code:
country:
within:
more options   Click for more store-locator options
separator
Home : Customer Reviews of a Pattern
 

Customer Reviews

Image of Zig Zag Afghan
Zig Zag Afghan
Pattern Number: 80208AD
Rating: *****
4.5 (based on 10 reviews)
Write your own review
 
 
Search All Patterns:  
spacer
 
Displaying 1-10 of 10 results
Write your own review Have you made this pattern? Send us a photo
Zig Zag Afghan Reviewed by Nicole Cawlo on 2013-06-10 *****
This worked up really nicely. Easy pattern to get down and finish quickly. I only used two colors for this - Bourbon and Herb Garden. Both of these are in the painterly line of Homespun so the colors change throughout to give it a really neat look.

Click to zoom

Zig Zag Afghan Reviewed by Renee Melton on 2013-03-20 *****
This was much easier to make than I had expected! I got the hang of the pattern quickly.
I made it with three colors because it was a graduation gift for someone going to Pitt and I wanted it to be in the university's colors.
(I didn't think to account for the fact that I used a worsted weight yarn instead of Homespun, so it came out much smaller than it should have, but it will make a great lapghan!)

Click to zoom

Zig Zag Afghan rather unique Reviewed by Annette on 2013-02-17 ****
Easier than it looks. Thanks to the other reviewer who mentioned 7 tr is not same as 7 tr cluster. I used rococo, colonial blue, barley, and wildfire. At first I thought the wildfire would not work well since it is a painterly yarn but it turned out quite nice. I think the design has a southwest sort of look to it. The only thing I do not like is the changing of yarn every two rows (and having to hide the tails) but that is the nature of the design.

Click to zoom

Click to zoom

Zig Zag Afghan Reviewed by margret on 2013-02-01 *****
I made this pattern several years ago and love it.

Click to zoom

Zig Zag Afghan Reviewed by Mary Tarasyuk on 2010-10-19 *****
I made this afghan in southwest colors and it is fabulous. It is interesting to crochet, works up fast, and is not very hard once you get the hang of the pattern.

Zig Zag Afghan Reviewed by Kathy Reich on 2009-06-29 ***
I did make this afghan. It was relatively simple once I got started. Word to the wise - remember that the triple 7 crochet is NOT the same as the 7 triple cluster. I read too quickly over the directions and thought it was the same stitch. Needless to say, it didn't work! I hope that might help someone else. Also, I used Wildfire as one of my colors - it is a "painted" yarn. I should NOT have used a painted yarn for this pattern. The colors in the afghan pattern change so frequently that when the yarn changes color(not so very gradually) to what they call slight shades of blue and if you have started another row that is supposed to match previous rows in color - it will look COMPLETELY different. I had to throw away bunches of yarn to get back to the basic "Wildfire" color that I needed. I was so worried that I would not have enough to finish...I did - just barely. All of my other colors were heathered and they worked very nicely. So just stick to heathered colors for this pattern. Another warning with this yarn - knot it at the ends it WILL fray out quite badly. I'm done with the afghan, it is beautiful but I would not do another in this yarn.

Zig Zag Afghan Reviewed by Iris Hamlin on 2009-05-05 *****
Love this one. Made it with suggested colors. The pattern is easy and the Homespun works up quickly into a nice heavy afghan. Beautiful and fun to make.

Zig Zag Afghan Reviewed by D Moore on 2009-03-07 ****
I thought the pattern was going to be difficult since it said Intermediate, but I am finding it very easy to use. I'm making my afghan for a baby so I'm using a different type of yarn and a different sized hook. Looks good so far.

Zig Zag Afghan Reviewed by Pam on 2009-02-20 ****
I absolutely LOVE this pattern. I made it for a wedding gift with different colors, and now want to start one for my daughter. I do wish the pattern was a little tighter though I love the design. Just afraid fingers, etc. will get caught int the holes!

Zig Zag Afghan Reviewed by Barbara on 2008-11-06 *****
Absolutely LOVED this pattern. Thought it was going to be very complicated, but after you establish the pattern, you can crochet without checkig the pattern until the edging. I changed the colors b/c I wanted a "Christmas" afghan, so my colors were white, red, green & light grey while also holding a silver cotton crochet thread at the same time. Turned out beautifully, & it looks like you've done such interquit work.

 
 
separator separator
Bookmark This!  separator
Sign up for our Newsletter  
separator Share This!  separator About Us separator Contact Us separator
  Font Size:   
Click to view page with standard font Click to view page with larger font Click to view page with largest font