Skip Navigation

Click for Lion Brand Yarn Home Page
Our Yarns
The LB Collection
Martha Stewart Crafts
Lion's Pride Woolspun
Vanna's Collection
Request Free Catalog
Our Yarns
Yarn by Weight
New Catalog
  • free patterns
  • special sales
  • new items
  • 15% off coupon
    US orders only
    view past newsletters   Click to view newsletters and subscription choice
Free Catalog
Lion Brand
     Yarn Studio
     Retail Store, New York, NY
Lion Brand
     Yarn Shop
     Retail Store, Colonie, NY
Lion Brand Outlet
     Retail Store, Carlstadt, NJ
Find a Store
post code:
more options   Click for more store-locator options
Home : Customer Reviews of a Pattern

Customer Reviews

Image of Magnolia Afghan
Magnolia Afghan
Pattern Number: 80266AD
Rating: ****
4.1 (based on 15 reviews)
Write your own review
Search All Patterns:  
Displaying 1-10 of 15 results Page 1 of 2
12Display next page
Write your own review Have you made this pattern? Send us a photo
Magnolia Afghan Reviewed by Lori Griffin on 2014-07-28 *****
I wanted to crochet this for a long time but was afraid of the homespun. The trick is to use a bigger hook. After awhile, I got used to it and am very pleased with the results!! I used the color quartz.

Click to zoom

Click to zoom

Click to zoom

Magnolia Afghan Reviewed by Kate Drake on 2014-03-24 ***
This came out very pretty, which was nice.

I used Barrington, and it looks very nice and is quite soft.

Two big downfalls to this pattern:

- The final project isn't as big as they say it will be (mine's more 40"x60" instead of 48"x60")

- I crochet fairly efficiently, and almost always have leftover yarn at the end of a project. 7 skeins was NOT enough to do the final row of the wide panel, nor to do the second round of border.

Magnolia Afghan Reviewed by jen on 2012-01-22 ****
I made this afghan using the delft yarn, and it turned out lovely. I also crocheted the narrow panel in the same direction as the wide panel; this was mainly to decrease the amount of sewing.

Magnolia Afghan Reviewed by kathy e on 2011-08-28 ***
This is a lovely afghan and i already bought yarn for it. It is a perfect way to use the beauty of this yarn. But i don't like the pattern. too much sewing and i am not good at that. I don't know if i have the skill to do it but i am sure the flower strip cld be redone to a join as you go piece. At least one of the other panels cld also be joined to the flower strip as you crochet. I will see what i can do but i am not really in the mood for a challenging project like that. Maybe i shld just make a shawl instead.

Reviewed by Jessica Connhaer on 2011-07-13 ***
After reading this pattern, I decided to change it a bit. The instructions were just too awkward for me. I did five magnolia panes, sewed them into a strip, and did a row of SC along the edges. Then I started in the top corner, ch 11, turned and SC back to the bottom. It's called a 1x1 ribbing pattern, and I just did it all across the top. Then I started at the bottom of the magnolias and did rows of hdc until it was long enough. Less sewing and trying to make the swatches fit.

Magnolia Afghan Reviewed by Karin van Gasteren on 2011-05-25 *****
Hi! I am Karin from Holland and just want to say that I love this beautiful peace of work. Imagine waking up with your lover, open your eyes and only see the lovely blanket...haha. In time I will try to make someting like this.
With love from Leusden Holland, Karin van Gasteren.

Magnolia Afghan Reviewed by sandra massey on 2011-03-05 *****
Beautiful just beautiful!!

Magnolia Afghan Reviewed by Danielle on 2011-01-20 ***
i'm working on this right now, and i'm almost done. I don't know if it's just me or if others have had this problem as well, but when i did the medallion strip my gauge must've been wayyy off because mine was tiny, so instead of just one i made about 3 and sewed them together into one big one, i liked that look much better. and i also used different colors

Magnolia Afghan Reviewed by Susan on 2010-11-28 *****
I used Homespun 'Pearls' yarn and it was simply beautiful. The end result is luxurious. My only change was using 3 magnolias instead of 4 as only 3 would fit within the parameters. My gauge was correct, so I've no idea why/how that happened. I will use the leftover magnolia for a pillow.

Click to zoom

Click to zoom

Magnolia Afghan Reviewed by Roz Decas on 2010-07-16 ****
This was probably the biggest project I've ever made. I changed the pattern a bit. I made it 5 magnolias wide (instead of 4) and I made the bottom part a bit longer, to be able to drape over a queen-size bed. The only thing is that by doing this, it kind of weighs the blanket down. Otherwise it's great. It was a gift for my mom who loved it.

Click to zoom

separator separator
Bookmark This!  separator
Sign up for our Newsletter  
separator Share This!  separator About Us separator Contact Us separator
  Font Size:   
Click to view page with standard font Click to view page with larger font Click to view page with largest font