Skip Navigation

Click for Lion Brand Yarn Home Page
separator
Our Yarns
The LB Collection
Martha Stewart Crafts
Lion's Pride Woolspun
Request Free Catalog
Our Yarns
Yarn by Weight
separator
New Catalog
separator
Shop
separator
  • free patterns
  • special sales
  • new items
  • 15% off coupon
    US orders only
    view past newsletters   Click to view newsletters and subscription choice
separator
Free Catalog
separator
Patterns
separator
Lion Brand
     Yarn Studio
     Retail Store, New York, NY
separator
Lion Brand
     Yarn Shop
     Retail Store, Colonie, NY
separator
Lion Brand Outlet
     Retail Store, Carlstadt, NJ
separator
Find a Store
post code:
country:
within:
more options   Click for more store-locator options
separator
Home : Customer Reviews of a Pattern
 

Customer Reviews

Image of Winter Lace Afghan
Winter Lace Afghan
Pattern Number: 80115AD
Rating: *****
4.4 (based on 52 reviews)
Write your own review
 
 
Search All Patterns:  
spacer
 
Displaying 31-40 of 52 results Page 4 of 6
Display prior page 123456Display next page
Write your own review Have you made this pattern? Send us a photo
Winter Lace Afghan Reviewed by Carol L'Herault on 2009-03-06 *****
Just finished this throw and it is truly a beautiful pattern. My advice to anyone trying it is to carefully count each pattern row -doing this saved me from having to rip out rows! After having to rip out several rows at a time I figured this is a good way to avoid mistakes.

Winter Lace Afghan Reviewed by Joanne Quon on 2009-02-23 ****
I posted earlier that I was having a difficult time with this pattern and was giving up. I'm not a beginner, but an intermediate/advanced knitter. It was too stressful with all the YO's so I decided not to knit it. After thinking and loving the pattern I decided to try again after many false starts. Finally, I finished it after about two+ months. I must say it is the most beautiful afghan and worthy of a second chance.

If you are looking to gain some more experience and patience the end result is well worth it. Love the weight of the yarn and it is truly a heiloom piece.

I would recommend what others have said and COUNT your stitches after EACH row.

Winter Lace Afghan Reviewed by Patricia Homer on 2009-02-13 *****
I found that once I had learned the pattern--and it took many repetitions before I had it down-it really is not difficult.I had done nearly 3 repetitions before I needed to rip it out and start again
I am knitting it in doubled yarn worsted instead of the fisherman weight. In the Vanna's Choice large skein it has required only 4 of these. Not bad!

Winter Lace Afghan Reviewed by hpliler on 2009-02-13 ****
I am going to try this since I used this pattern for the sweater I am working on now. I wouldn't say it is fast it is very time consuming for me and yes it took me a lot of practice to get it right. I don't know why because now that I get it there is nothing to it.

Winter Lace Afghan Reviewed by Tiffany Clark on 2009-02-04 *
I am so glad to see that some other people had trouble with this pattern also. I worked on it for 2 weeks, starting-ripping-starting-ripping, before I finally gave up. This is a beautiful pattern but warning to knitters thinking about making it-its not easy! And I highly suggest using the tips others have posted!

Winter Lace Afghan Reviewed by Katie Kasel on 2009-02-02 ****
I found using the stitch markers recommended by a knitter on this site, made the project really easy. I will definitely make another one.

Winter Lace Afghan Reviewed by Felicia Duhon on 2009-01-28 ****
Just made this blanket. Was a little hard at first, had to rip it out once after the first couple of pattern rows. I started using a stitch marker and counted my sequence of stitches, if I had the right number and it look right, I would move the stitch marker for the next sequence. This was a tremendous help.

Winter Lace Afghan Reviewed by kathy bates on 2009-01-24 *****
I just finished this afghan. I also had to rip out alot. It does help to count the stiches after every pattern row. It turned out great and because of ripping out so much, it is error free. Horray! We tend to keep the heat down and this afghan keeps me toasty warm while watching TV or working on my next project.
I agree it should probably be rated intermediate because of the yarn overs and 10 different pattern rows. Helps to keep the pattern next to you during the whole process.

Winter Lace Afghan Reviewed by Veronica Sherwood on 2009-01-18 ****
I have made a lot of changes to what it stated here - I cheaped out and bought a much lighter, worsted weight yarn, still wool. I also switched to smaller needles, and added a bunch of stitches instead of 95.
I have only been knitting for a year, but I really enjoy knitting this. Perhaps because I adore the yarn and needles I'm using, but I don't mind the pattern.
My only major problem is that I accidentally ended up skipping a row a while back, so my number of stitches is slightly messed up, but you can barely tell in the blanket.
Still, I think it is significantly harder than Easy+.
My advice is to take a pause in between each repeat of the lace pattern, every 12 stitches or whatever it is. Also make sure if you ever set down your knitting, make sure you stop at the end of a repeat. Or, of course, use stitch markers, that would make my advice useless!

Winter Lace Afghan Reviewed by annevictoire lawrence on 2009-01-13 ****
I already posted, stating it was heavy. I agree that it was DIFFICULT to make, it is not an "easy +" at all. What i ended up doing is flash cards: for each row, i made a card and listed the stitches in columns. I had to undo a lot, mainly because i would forget a yarn over. The pattern was not intuitive at all. I also didn't knit the original border, because the tension of the border is not the same as the blanket, and it would stretch. this is a mistake in the design.
The result is beautiful, but my mother doesn't want it on her bed anymore, it's too heavy.

 
 
separator separator
Bookmark This!  separator
Sign up for our Newsletter  
separator Share This!  separator About Us separator Contact Us separator
  Font Size:   
Click to view page with standard font Click to view page with larger font Click to view page with largest font