Skip Navigation

Click for Lion Brand Yarn Home Page
separator
Our Yarns
The LB Collection
Martha Stewart Crafts
Lion's Pride Woolspun
Request Free Catalog
Our Yarns
Yarn by Weight
separator
New Catalog
separator
Shop
separator
  • free patterns
  • special sales
  • new items
  • 15% off coupon
    US orders only
    view past newsletters   Click to view newsletters and subscription choice
separator
Free Catalog
separator
Patterns
separator
Lion Brand
     Yarn Studio
     Retail Store, New York, NY
separator
Lion Brand
     Yarn Shop
     Retail Store, Colonie, NY
separator
Lion Brand Outlet
     Retail Store, Carlstadt, NJ
separator
Find a Store
post code:
country:
within:
more options   Click for more store-locator options
separator
Home : Customer Reviews of a Pattern
 

Customer Reviews

Image of Thigh High Footless Socks
Thigh High Footless Socks
Pattern Number: 70782AD
Rating: *****
4.2 (based on 10 reviews)
Write your own review
 
 
Search All Patterns:  
spacer
 
Displaying 1-10 of 10 results
Write your own review Have you made this pattern? Send us a photo
Thigh High Footless Socks Reviewed by Carla Jones on 2010-10-27 *****
My granddaughter loved these when she saw them. She picked out the yarn and I just finished them. I added ribbing at the top like that at the beginning. I knit them flat, but when I added the stitches back after the heel opening, I added half the amount required to each side so that the seam goes up the center of the back. If she has trouble with them staying up I will weave some elastic thread thru the ribbing at the top. Thanks so much for this fun pattern!

Click to zoom

Thigh High Footless Socks Reviewed by Brynn on 2009-10-11 *****
Love this pattern. I've made a dozen or so pairs of these leg warmers for friends all across the country and have even modified a few pairs for the guys. Went through the pain of sewing the seams the first time around and, like everyone else, decided that knitting in the round was the way to go. Quick and easy knitting that doesn't require any concentration.

Thigh High Socks Reviewed by Mary Ann Fritsch on 2009-04-08 ****
Knitting these "heel-slit" leg warmers (took me a while to figure out that the slit was meant for the heel--duh!) on 4 needles made more sense and did away with that tiresome seaming. Just a tip: I incorporated a one-row buttonhole" for the heel slit and used the left and right M-1 increases adjacent to the slit. It's been a real learning process. Also, I hope to knit or weave in some elastic thread in the top thigh area to help keep them up. I've been using size 13 needles for socks--made some of those "scrunchies"--and this project made me reach for my glasses.

Thigh High Socks Reviewed by Kristin Roman on 2009-03-29 *****
Cute pattern and really easy to do! Good for knitting while also chatting with friends, or watching TV- doesn't require intense concentration. I despise sewing, so I modified the pattern to knit in the round- very easy to do. I also modified it to fit my leg a little better after I knit the first pair and they were a little loose around the thigh. I did one pair in "Rock Candy" and am now working on a pair in "Toffee". This was my first experience with self-striping yarn- I love the stuff!

Thigh High Socks Reviewed by Claire Danvers on 2009-03-08 ****
i have to agree with every here...i call these leg warmers, not socks...but they are very cute and comfey!!!! i also think that they would be better knit in the round to advoid the seam...

Thigh High Socks Reviewed by Charlene Ferguson on 2009-02-06 ****
The name doesn't do the project justice- they are "no-heel leg warmers". STILL ADORABLE! The construction allows for more wearing options as a fashion accessory. This is a great first project for someone to work with smaller needles and sock yarn. I'd have given an extra star for instructions written for knitters who would want to knit them in the round.
Thank you for your website!

Thigh High Socks Reviewed by Carolyn on 2009-01-12 ****
I would call these LEG WARMERS not socks. They look adorable!

Thigh High Socks Reviewed by ROSALIE A GONZALEZ on 2008-10-27 ****
I plan on making these for my 12 year old granddaughter and I would call these THIGH HIGH SCRUNCHES....., rather then socks. She loves the fact that there is no heel or foot.
I agree, why not knit them on a circular needle and avoid the seam. Thanks for offering this neat pattern.

Thigh High Socks Reviewed by mary carmichael on 2008-09-11 ****
I am in the process of making
these great thigh highs and
am interested in how to create
a heel in them. thanks

Thigh High Socks Reviewed by Marilyn Lee on 2008-08-31 ***
why call these socks when there is no foot or heel? Add a foot and heel, switch to circular knitting (why oh why have a seam??) and you would really have a great thigh high sock! You'll need a 3rd ball of yarn. This is what I plan to do with this pattern. these modifications will increase my rating to 5 star.

 
 
separator separator
Bookmark This!  separator
Sign up for our Newsletter  
separator Share This!  separator About Us separator Contact Us separator
  Font Size:   
Click to view page with standard font Click to view page with larger font Click to view page with largest font