Skip Navigation

Click for Lion Brand Yarn Home Page
Our Yarns
The LB Collection
Martha Stewart Crafts
Lion's Pride Woolspun
Vanna's Collection
Request Free Catalog
Our Yarns
Yarn by Weight
New Catalog
  • free patterns
  • special sales
  • new items
  • 15% off coupon
    US orders only
    view past newsletters   Click to view newsletters and subscription choice
Free Catalog
Lion Brand
     Yarn Studio
     Retail Store, New York, NY
Lion Brand
     Yarn Shop
     Retail Store, Colonie, NY
Lion Brand Outlet
     Retail Store, Carlstadt, NJ
Find a Store
post code:
more options   Click for more store-locator options
Home : Customer Reviews of a Pattern

Customer Reviews

Image of 5 1/2 Hour Throw
5 1/2 Hour Throw
Pattern Number: 80112AD
Rating: *****
4.6 (based on 25 reviews)
Write your own review
Search All Patterns:  
Displaying 1-10 of 25 results Page 1 of 3
123Display next page
Write your own review Have you made this pattern? Send us a photo
5 1/2 Hour Throw Reviewed by Liz Burns on 2015-03-24 ****
I found this to be the fast moving blanket. Have made 6 of these and takes longer for me than 5 1/2hrs to make. But have used various yarns to make the blankets. My go to blankets.

Found that I like wider blankets and longer being the family members are taller than average. So I by pounds of love and other yarn manufactures

5 1/2 Hour Throw Reviewed by Debbie White on 2014-06-22 *****
I found the V-stitch very easy. This was my first time to use the larger needle and three strands of yarn. Wasn't as difficult as I thought it would be, once I got the hang of it. I made this using the colors in the pattern. I never tie knots in my yarn when starting a new skein. However, with this pattern I did. The stitching is so loose that it made weaving in the ends nearly impossible.

Things I would do different on the next one:
1. Make it wider. I felt the throw was too narrow and long. I did not add the fringe.
2. Try using a smaller needle to tighten the stitches.

I'm still a beginner crocheter and I felt this pattern was easy to do.

Reviewed by Alyssa Frederick on 2013-10-21 *****
This is one of my two go-to blanket patterns. I sometimes add fringe, sometimes double the pattern, etc. but I love it! Always turns out beautiful and makes a great gift! (Always takes me more than 5 1/2 hours though lol)

5 1/2 Hour Throw Reviewed by melanie jarvis on 2013-05-02 *****
this throw is quick and easy and I love mixing colors to suit your decor

5 1/2 Hour Throw Reviewed by Johanna Paciullo on 2012-08-29 *****
I love this throw. I've made 10 so far for gifts. It's become my favorite give away and I always color coordinate to my recipient's delight. Here's my latest and it's a real favorite. I made it for a birthday gift but honestly don't think I can part with it. It takes me a little longer than 5 1/2 hours but not much and I don't mind because it goes fast. Pick your favorite 3 colors and make one for yourself and see what I mean. Thank you Lion Brand.

Click to zoom

Click to zoom

5 1/2 Hour Throw Reviewed by Julie on 2012-04-03 ****
At first the large hook called for in this pattern was hard to use and get used to but after I got the hang of it, it went very smooth. It is a great pattern to use for gifts and I now call it my "Anniversary Blanket". I really like the way it comes out. Takes no time to make.
It really is only 5 1/2 hours!
(I did not put the fringe on though)

5 1/2 Hour Throw Reviewed by Tommi Johnstone on 2011-09-05 ****
Nice easy pattern. I used two strands of white and one strand color to make this and was able to use up a bunch of random skeins by doing so. Also opted for a contrasting scalloped edge (two strands black, one strand white) instead of the fringe.

Click to zoom

Click to zoom

5 1/2 Hour Throw Reviewed by SUSAN HULTS on 2011-08-10 ****
I made this in white and off white color combo using 2 Homespun colors and 1 Jiffy color. It is a loose weave but with the Homespun it is very soft, almost fluffy and should be warm for a snuggle on the sofa! I had plenty of yarn knowing I would make it longer but I did not use fringe. Homespun doesn't lend itself to fringe so I crocheted a picot edge on all 4 sides (sc to attach, *3 chs, 1 sc in next 3 sts, repeat from* and sl st in last st to join) which made a nice finish. I hope the recipient will be pleased as I think it has turned out nicely.

5 1/2 Hour Throw Reviewed by lee biber on 2011-04-18 *****
have make several of these, one for me, 2 as gifts. Easy and fun to make because when you are done its make a very nice piece. The fringe really dresses it up. choose nice colors (3) that go together well and also contrast...great for a house gift

5 1/2 Hour Throw Reviewed by Christie Selken on 2011-04-03 *****
I found this a very simple project to make. Directions were easy to follow and project moved along very quickly. I changed the colors and have already purchased more yarn to make another. I highly recommend this for a fast, easy project that's quick to make.

Click to zoom

separator separator
Bookmark This!  separator
Sign up for our Newsletter  
separator Share This!  separator About Us separator Contact Us separator
  Font Size:   
Click to view page with standard font Click to view page with larger font Click to view page with largest font