Skip Navigation

Click for Lion Brand Yarn Home Page
separator
Our Yarns
The LB Collection
Martha Stewart Crafts
Lion's Pride Woolspun
Vanna's Collection
Request Free Catalog
Our Yarns
Yarn by Weight
separator
New Catalog
separator
Shop
separator
  • free patterns
  • special sales
  • new items
  • 15% off coupon
    US orders only
    view past newsletters   Click to view newsletters and subscription choice
separator
Free Catalog
separator
Patterns
separator
Lion Brand
     Yarn Studio
     Retail Store, New York, NY
separator
Lion Brand
     Yarn Shop
     Retail Store, Colonie, NY
separator
Lion Brand Outlet
     Retail Store, Carlstadt, NJ
separator
Find a Store
post code:
country:
within:
more options   Click for more store-locator options
separator
Home : Customer Reviews of a Pattern
 

Customer Reviews

Image of Granny Sampler Blanket
Granny Sampler Blanket
Pattern Number: 70254AD
Rating: ****
3.9 (based on 8 reviews)
Write your own review
 
 
Search All Patterns:  
spacer
 
Displaying 1-8 of 8 results
Write your own review Have you made this pattern? Send us a photo
Granny Sampler Blanket Reviewed by Theresa Ball on 2011-08-21 *****
the squares are easy, but I also switched to a smaller hook...no directions for joining..but since my squares are smaller I added a border. I printed out all directions with the colors that I bought because the color scheme pattern was not easy to follow. all in all a very nice project if you have crocheted before..a beginner may have problems because ther are no joining directions..colors are hard to figure out and a smaller needle makes a much better square especially the popcorn square.

Reviewed by Patty Oconnor on 2011-03-14 ***
This pattern turned out...okay. I bought the kit so it included all the colors shown. I also substituted some squares because 3 patterns was not a good "sampler". As a result I had to buy extra yarn to join and add a border. All in all - not my favorite granny pattern.

Granny Sampler Blanket Reviewed by Angie Jasonides on 2010-12-24 *****
I like how this blanket is going, however I was confused because my squares looked differnt. When I zoomed into the picture I realized it is actually showing the backside of the blanket. That explains why I couldn't see the popcorn stitches!

Granny Sampler Blanket Reviewed by JUDY CARLSON on 2010-05-14 ***
The colors in the pattern do not match the colors shown in the picture. Color "I" was left out and a mysterious color "P" was in the pattern. But I figured out the colors from the picture. I also joined the squares using Denim Mist and made a border. Love it!

Click to zoom

Granny Sampler Blanket Reviewed by Cassandra Nelson on 2009-12-24 ****
My family is Swedish, so rather than making this with the colors that were called for, I made it with blue and yellow, as the Swedish flag. I also added a row of double crochet around each square making them more even to put together, then crocheted them together with a single crochet As a beginning crocheter, this was not hard at all and with changing the colors you can do lots of different designs.

Click to zoom

Click to zoom

Granny Sampler Blanket Reviewed by Kristen Gillette on 2009-11-02 ****
I adjusted this pattern quite a bit. I was planning on making the 8-color afghan, but I didn't find the pattern large enough or interesting enough. So I redesigned this pattern to suit eight colors. Each motif has six distinct color sequences that do not repeat over any other motif. I also adjusted the grid pattern so that even though the motifs have a regular repeating pattern, the color sequences do not. Essentially, I'm trying to make it as hodge podge as I can, because Vanna's Choice yarns are just so interesting together. I'll post some pictures when I'm finished.

Granny Sampler Blanket Reviewed by Cathy Kauffman on 2009-06-15 ***
I chose this pattern for its simplicity and as a learning tool to get back into crocheting. I finished the squares with no problem, but was stumped at connecting the squares. I am very interested in how others connect the squares with all the multiple colors

Granny Sampler Blanket Reviewed by Karen Elgas on 2008-05-27 ****
I made one of each motif of this pattern and while I did like each one and also the concept of using several motifs in the same afghan, I had to made adjustments to each motif pattern so that the finished squares more approximate the same size. Now that they do, I am eager to make more!! I am also very interested in reading comments from other's about their results! Karen E.

 
 
separator separator
Bookmark This!  separator
Sign up for our Newsletter  
separator Share This!  separator About Us separator Contact Us separator
  Font Size:   
Click to view page with standard font Click to view page with larger font Click to view page with largest font