Skip Navigation

Click for Lion Brand Yarn Home Page
separator
Our Yarns
The LB Collection
Martha Stewart Crafts
Lion's Pride Woolspun
Request Free Catalog
Our Yarns
Yarn by Weight
separator
New Catalog
separator
Shop
separator
  • free patterns
  • special sales
  • new items
  • 15% off coupon
    US orders only
    view past newsletters   Click to view newsletters and subscription choice
separator
Free Catalog
separator
Patterns
separator
Lion Brand
     Yarn Studio
     Retail Store, New York, NY
separator
Lion Brand
     Yarn Shop
     Retail Store, Colonie, NY
separator
Lion Brand Outlet
     Retail Store, Carlstadt, NJ
separator
Find a Store
post code:
country:
within:
more options   Click for more store-locator options
separator
Home : Customer Reviews of a Pattern
 

Customer Reviews

Image of Kid's Helmet Hat
Kid's Helmet Hat
Pattern Number: 60198AD
Rating: ****
4.0 (based on 18 reviews)
Write your own review
 
 
Search All Patterns:  
spacer
 
Displaying 1-10 of 18 results Page 1 of 2
12Display next page
Write your own review Have you made this pattern? Send us a photo
Kid's Helmet Hat Reviewed by Cathy Listengart on 2011-11-08 ****
I tried this pattern on size 13 needles for my four year old. As suspected it was still way too small. I ended up pulling it out (only took a few hours anyway!). I then followed the toddler pattern, but cast on 48 stitches instead of the 36 in the pattern, and worked a few extra rows before shaping the top. I haven't put the ear flaps on yet but it is very cute and my son loves it!

Kid's Helmet Hat Reviewed by Cynthia Hamley on 2011-10-05 ****
Pattern says cast on 36 for toddler. This is much too small. I cast on 42 and it is still a little too snub for Ryan’s larger than average 1 1/2 year old head. As reflected in the reviews at Lionbrand, this pattern is incorrectly sized.
I used double strands. Next time I will try a larger needle to get a larger hat. I did little i-cord strings at the end of the ear flaps.
Cute none the less.

Click to zoom

Kid's Helmet Hat Reviewed by Debra Brandt on 2010-12-04 *****
I was glad that I read the reviews first; and decided to take most recommendations to use the toddler size for my 11 month old granddaughter. This worked up very easily and quickly. I have already done 3 more; complete with "idiot" mittens (minus the thumb) to go along with her hat.

Kid's Helmet Hat Reviewed by Lesly Newton on 2010-11-01 ****
I just finished this hat for my 6month old grandson. After reading the other reviews I used the toddler pattern and it will probably just fit him. It came out very cute and I added braided ties and a pompom on the top using both colors. Very simple, but very small.

Kid's Helmet Hat Reviewed by Delphine Selles on 2010-01-06 ****
I used Alpine wool (I wanted something warmer) to knit this hat, #13 needles and added two stitches because the gauge did not quite match up. It turned out to be the perfect size for my 3 1/2 year-old. I also increased the size of the earflaps (picked up 10 stitches instead of the 7 indicated in the pattern) because I found them to be a little small.
Turned out great overall and makes for a warm winter hat.

Kid's Helmet Hat Reviewed by Becky Scheetz on 2009-11-09 ****
I love this pattern, but as all the others stated, this hat is very small, I tweeked the pattern abit, and made it larger, it worked...I used a chunky yarn and size 11 needles.
All in all, this is a very cute pattern, and can be made with different colors, stripes, etc...so I will continue to use it...Becky 11/09/09

Kid's Helmet Hat Reviewed by Lorraine Gardner on 2009-10-29 ****
Like everyone else the hat was way too small. I made both sizes and I don't think either will fit my 2yr.old grandaughter. I agree with the lady adding the braided ties. I'm not sure if I can figure out how to make it bigger. It is a great easy pattern and I thank Lion Brand for this site!

Kid's Helmet Hat Reviewed by Nicole on 2009-10-06 ****
I have known how to knit for years, but completing a project has always been a challenge because I have trouble reading patterns. This hat, however, was simple, quick and easy to understand (I only used one colour). I was able to complete it in an evening while my one year old son was sleeping. The toddler size fits my son perfectly. One comment, I had to use size 10mm to get the correct gage.
This project has motivated me to try more challenging patterns

Click to zoom

Kid's Helmet Hat Reviewed by Christine Cole on 2009-07-29 ****
I made this pattern in a solid purple. It came out cute but the ear flaps are kind of low. My gauge may have been off for that to happen. I also think it looks better with some braided ties on the ear flaps. It was a very quick and easy pattern to follow; I made it in just hours. This was my first knitting project in over 3 yrs.

Kid's Helmet Hat Reviewed by Christine Westgate on 2009-04-01 **
like other's commets --- way too small!!!!!!!!! Not true to gauge!!

 
 
separator separator
Bookmark This!  separator
Sign up for our Newsletter  
separator Share This!  separator About Us separator Contact Us separator
  Font Size:   
Click to view page with standard font Click to view page with larger font Click to view page with largest font