Skip Navigation

Click for Lion Brand Yarn Home Page
separator
Our Yarns
The LB Collection
Martha Stewart Crafts
Lion's Pride Woolspun
Request Free Catalog
Our Yarns
Yarn by Weight
separator
New Catalog
separator
Shop
separator
  • free patterns
  • special sales
  • new items
  • 15% off coupon
    US orders only
    view past newsletters   Click to view newsletters and subscription choice
separator
Free Catalog
separator
Patterns
separator
Lion Brand
     Yarn Studio
     Retail Store, New York, NY
separator
Lion Brand
     Yarn Shop
     Retail Store, Colonie, NY
separator
Lion Brand Outlet
     Retail Store, Carlstadt, NJ
separator
Find a Store
post code:
country:
within:
more options   Click for more store-locator options
separator
Home : Customer Reviews of a Pattern
 

Customer Reviews

Image of Multi-Hued Afghan
Multi-Hued Afghan
Pattern Number: 70143AD
Rating: *****
4.9 (based on 9 reviews)
Write your own review
 
 
Search All Patterns:  
spacer
 
Displaying 1-9 of 9 results
Write your own review Have you made this pattern? Send us a photo
Multi-Hued Afghan Reviewed by Robyn on 2010-11-11 *****
Very easy and rewarding. I was extremely happy with the outcome. Super soft and Colors are awesome. Everyone fights for this blanket. I had enough left over jiffy yarn to add an extra panel. Very easy knitting Highly recommend.

Click to zoom

Click to zoom

Multi-Hued Afghan Reviewed by Martha Steele on 2010-04-27 *****
TIP FOR SEWING UP! It is very easy to sew up panels. It is called mattress stitch. To begin, connect the two panels with a stitch or two. Then,on the panel on your left, pick up the bar BETWEEN the last and the next-to-last stitch. Then, on the panel on your right, pick up the bar between the first and the second stitch. By pick up i mean pass your needle under it then come out above it. Alternate this until it is all stitched up. Every few stitches, I pull the yarn tight and then hold the seam and stretch it (pull up with one hand and down with other). You want it to give because knitting gives. If you didn't do exactly the right amt of rows, you'll notice at the end. This may sound tedious, but the polished result is worth it. Yes, it gives it a "wrong" side, but that is okay. That is how it is done. Look up mattress stitch if you need help. Good luck!

Multi-Hued Afghan Reviewed by Ruthie Nicholas on 2010-04-02 *****
Made this for my mother-in-law. She thought it was too small so I made two extra panels & increased each block by a few rows (I don't remember how many). It was wonderfully easy & fast to knit up. But I found myself stumped when it came to sewing the panels together. I actually put the finished panels in a box for a few months & then tackeled it. When I did I finished the blanket in 2 hours or less. I've determined the next time I make ANY project with panels I will FIND a way to knit them as one piece. :-) I love jiffy yarn & look forward to finishing my current projects so I can try out a few other afghans I've seen here (glowing colors; glorous colors; & cascading colors).

Multi-Hued Afghan Reviewed by Ronnii Shelby on 2009-05-20 *****
Got KADD (Knitter’s Attention Deficit Disorder)? Then this is the project for you!!

This project is simply the best type of project for self-diagnosed KADDs like me. The project knits quickly because of the large needles. That's key for ADD Knitters. Second, the project is worked in panels, again, helping to progress quickly and creating a sense of accomplishment. The panels also make this a very portable project so you can work it on while traveling in a car, plane, etc. Third, the color changes help to maintain your interest. The colors are constantly changing. You become excited and anticipate the changing of colors, eager to see what the mix will look like. You will love this project!!

The only suggestions I have are as follows: The picture can be somewhat deceiving. The model in the picture is either -00 or the afghan pictured, is actually bigger. It’s small and I’d like to have seen it a bit longer and a bit wider. I am going to add another panel to the one I created. There is so much yarn left and it could really use an extra panel. Unless you are making a baby blanket, I’d say go wider and longer. In either case, this is a great project and I’m so glad I did it!!! Have fun!

Multi-Hued Afghan Reviewed by Leta R Jones on 2008-09-26 *****
Made one for myself and it turned out so pretty that I am now making some for Christmas presents. I am also trying different yarns for each one. I have used the Jiffy, Vanna's Choice and next will use Homespun. This is a GREAT project - fast, fun and a beautiful result.

Multi-Hued Afghan Reviewed by Leslie Dorrough on 2008-08-13 *****
This was so much fun to make because of the changing of colors throughout the whole blanket. Was also quick to make!!

Multi-Hued Afghan Reviewed by Denise Owens on 2008-07-02 *****
I used similar colors using Homespun yarn, and it turned out great! The afghan is very soft, cuddly, and warm. It's very easy to knit, and it is beautiful.

Multi-Hued Afghan Reviewed by Deborah Harding on 2008-05-08 *****
Wow what a wonderful pattern to use up all the odds of yarn from other projects. I have tons and am going to make this pattern for a friend that gave me 4 boxes full of wool. A backwards single crochet around the edge will prevent rolling too.

Multi-Hued Afghan Reviewed by MARSHA FULLER on 2008-05-01 ****
My kit came with slightly different colors, but the afghan as a whole came out beautifully. I love the idea that I can use this in any room and it is the center of attention! I'm thinking about adding another panel so my hubby can use it and his WHOLE lap can be covered.

 
 
separator separator
Bookmark This!  separator
Sign up for our Newsletter  
separator Share This!  separator About Us separator Contact Us separator
  Font Size:   
Click to view page with standard font Click to view page with larger font Click to view page with largest font