Skip Navigation

Click for Lion Brand Yarn Home Page
separator
Our Yarns
The LB Collection
Martha Stewart Crafts
Lion's Pride Woolspun
Request Free Catalog
Our Yarns
Yarn by Weight
separator
New Catalog
separator
Shop
separator
  • free patterns
  • special sales
  • new items
  • 15% off coupon
    US orders only
    view past newsletters   Click to view newsletters and subscription choice
separator
Free Catalog
separator
Patterns
separator
Lion Brand
     Yarn Studio
     Retail Store, New York, NY
separator
Lion Brand
     Yarn Shop
     Retail Store, Colonie, NY
separator
Lion Brand Outlet
     Retail Store, Carlstadt, NJ
separator
Find a Store
post code:
country:
within:
more options   Click for more store-locator options
separator
Home : Customer Reviews of a Pattern
 

Customer Reviews

Image of Extra Easy, Extra Fabulous Sweater
Extra Easy, Extra Fabulous Sweater
Pattern Number: 70517AD
Rating: ****
3.5 (based on 39 reviews)
Write your own review
 
 
Search All Patterns:  
spacer
 
Displaying 1-10 of 39 results Page 1 of 4
1234Display next page
Write your own review Have you made this pattern? Send us a photo
Extra Easy, Extra Fabulous Sweater Reviewed by Alexandra on 2014-11-27 *****
This is the first sweater I have knit. The instructions were fairly easy...I learned a couple of new things too. I feel the size chart was a bit off, as I wear a size large in RTW clothing, but the chart said I would be a small. This is why my sweater looks asymmetrical, when in fact the pattern is not. I also lengthened the sleeves. I messed up a little with the button holes but all in all I am very happy with the result. Its come in very handy for the cold weather we've been having as its SUPER warm!

Click to zoom

Extra Easy, Extra Fabulous Sweater Reviewed by Jodie Hawley on 2011-10-09 **
Seems like an easy way to solve at least some of the problems described below would be to make one front piece similar to back but keep the front neck shaping-ie., eliminate the double-breasted element.

The T&Q yarn is a great idea but Lion should put together some better patterns.

Extra Easy, Extra Fabulous Sweater Reviewed by Karlen on 2011-05-29 *
This pattern was a huge disappointment. My adult daughter asked me to knit this sweater for her, which I did. I'm an experienced knitter, so this was an easy pattern for me to do.

Although it looks great in the picture, we were very disappointed in this pattern and the resulting sweater.

This yarn is very heavy. The double-breasted front makes this sweater MUCH too hot to wear indoors.

The overlapping layers in front add a lot of bulk, and my daughter found she was constantly having to pull and tug to get the inside layer to lie flat when she sat down or moved about.

The overlapping fronts are heavy and have only the support of the top two buttons. So the front of the sweater pulls the rest of the sweater out of shape and makes the sweater sag.

There's really no good way to fix these problems, so this project was a waste of time and money. It's a shame, because the sweater looks so nice in the photo!

Extra Easy, Extra Fabulous Sweater Reviewed by Rebecca Haubrich on 2011-04-15 *
Be careful with checking ratings for this one. Folks say it is boxy, heavy, arm holes are too big... and then give it 4 or 5 stars. Dont' waste your time!

Extra Easy, Extra Fabulous Sweater Reviewed by Lindsay on 2010-11-15 ***
I love this sweater! However, I had to tear almost the entire sweater out because the armholes were so large I could have fit three arms in one armhole! So disappointing!

Extra Easy, Extra Fabulous Sweater Reviewed by MAUREEN PAIGE on 2010-09-23 ***
I made this in the yarn shown and it turned out perfectly. The only drawback, as other's have mentioned, it was way too heavy/thick. I would prefer the pattern in a worsted weight. All-in-all very easy and quick pattern.

Extra Easy, Extra Fabulous Sweater Reviewed by deb enright on 2010-05-20 ****
I've made two, and neither is long enough, I am tearing out the second one, and making it with size 15 needles...and longer... to see if it drapes better when it isn't so bulky.

I love the pattern, just wish it was written for lighter yarn....I've tried adapting, and using two strands to make it lighter, but it doesn't really work out well.


Extra Easy, Extra Fabulous Sweater Reviewed by Jane Casler on 2010-04-29 *
Not difficult to knit BUT way too bulky and too short. Very boxy looking. Even though I am petite and thin, it made me look chunky.

Extra Easy, Extra Fabulous Sweater Reviewed by Connie Rabun on 2010-02-01 ****
Just finished my second one. The first one I knitted turned out to be too small for me as I knit tightly, so I gave that one to my thin elegant daughter. The next one I made XL (I wear L in store-bought clothes) and the fit was perfect. The only issue I have is that the buttonholes tend to stretch and need reinforcing. But then again, I am a beginner. My length came out as the picture, my sleeves seem to be a little shorter, but more to my liking anyway. I get a lot of compliments as does my daughter. I think I might try this one again and alter the buttonholes to one stitch instead of two.

Extra Easy, Extra Fabulous Sweater Reviewed by Leah Davis-Hemphill on 2009-12-18 *****
My sweater is bulky, stiff and short too. So the nest time I make it I will use a less bulky yarn combination and make the bodice longer. There is another pattern just like this one that is a little longer. I think that the length suggested is a good starting point, I love this pattern! Here is a photo of my sweater. Doing the boucle mix soon! Keep clicking thos sticks!

Click to zoom

 
 
separator separator
Bookmark This!  separator
Sign up for our Newsletter  
separator Share This!  separator About Us separator Contact Us separator
  Font Size:   
Click to view page with standard font Click to view page with larger font Click to view page with largest font