Skip Navigation

Click for Lion Brand Yarn Home Page
separator
Our Yarns
The LB Collection
Martha Stewart Crafts
Lion's Pride Woolspun
Vanna's Collection
Request Free Catalog
Our Yarns
Yarn by Weight
separator
New Catalog
separator
Shop
separator
  • free patterns
  • special sales
  • new items
  • 15% off coupon
    US orders only
    view past newsletters   Click to view newsletters and subscription choice
separator
Free Catalog
separator
Patterns
separator
Lion Brand
     Yarn Studio
     Retail Store, New York, NY
separator
Lion Brand
     Yarn Shop
     Retail Store, Colonie, NY
separator
Lion Brand Outlet
     Retail Store, Carlstadt, NJ
separator
Find a Store
post code:
country:
within:
more options   Click for more store-locator options
separator
Home : Customer Reviews of a Pattern
 

Customer Reviews

Image of Unsquared Baby Throw
Unsquared Baby Throw
Pattern Number: 70476AD
Rating: ****
3.7 (based on 11 reviews)
Write your own review
 
 
Search All Patterns:  
spacer
 
Displaying 1-10 of 11 results Page 1 of 2
12Display next page
Write your own review Have you made this pattern? Send us a photo
Unsquared Baby Throw Reviewed by Candace Yoshioka on 2012-10-06 ****
I agree 100% that this pattern is TIME CONSUMING! With that said I have made it twice. The first one I did was exact to the color scheme. Knowing how long it was going to take for the second one, I made the next one using just 2 colors (yellow and purple) and it came out beautifully! Yeah, the edges tended to roll and sewing it together took about as long as making the pieces, but the Mommies who got the blankets love them and use them all the time. If you want a good project and one that may challenge your patience, then this one is right up your alley. (I have added a pic of the second one I made)

Click to zoom

Unsquared Baby Throw Reviewed by diana on 2011-01-22 *****
I LOVE this pattern! Yes, it is time-consuming, but the results are sooo worth it! It is a unique blanket, with its lively colors and soft texture.

Unsquared Baby Throw Reviewed by Mary Toombs on 2010-12-15 ****
Tedious, tedious, tedious! Thought the baby would be 3 yrs old before I finished the project, and the colors seemed a little 'muddy' to me. Putting it all together took as long as crocheting each piece. Still, it was interesting, just soomething that needs to be started about the time the pregnancy begins.

Very Beautiful But More Work Than Anticipated Reviewed by Michele Russell on 2010-03-06 ***
This pattern is easy to follow, with each fairly quick to make, and the final result is really beautiful and unusual. I'm glad I made it, however, I have a few warnings for anyone who's interested in attempting it.

1. Keep in mind the large number of color changes and that each change will require 2 ends to be woven in. I spend HOURS weaving in ends.

2. Each circle can require up to 8 connection to other circles. Again, lots of ends to weave in. And when attaching each circle, you must be aware to keep the whole piece square, which made the assembly a "table-top" project not a relaxing lap project.

3. As you can see in the provided photo, the outer edges can want to roll upward and mine did too. I decided to block each circle because of this issue and ended up with many getting much larger than the others because of NORMAL blocking. Most of my little circles got too big and because I didn't have the time to redo them, I had to make them fit. In the end, it worked out. But, if you choose to block your circles, be aware that this yarn is very pliable under the slightest heat. (Which could become an issue for washing and drying as well.)

The instructions say "EASY" but given the issues with the yarn blocking badly and all the ends, it's should say, "EASY with PATIENCE." Overall, very beautiful, but more work than I planned.

Click to zoom

Click to zoom

Unsquared Baby Throw Reviewed by CATHY RINGER on 2009-10-13 ***
The colors are very vibrant, and babies and toddlers are very attracted to this throw, however, I find this yarn to be flimsy. Maybe using this pattern with a slightly smaller hook or a completely different yarn may be a good idea like previous people have done may be a good idea.

Unsquared Baby Throw Reviewed by Susan Minor on 2009-07-17 **
It was hard to keep the circles consistent in size. There were no instructions on how to best sew it together.

Unsquared Baby Throw Reviewed by Janice Lewis on 2009-02-08 ****
Love that Cupcake yarn. Couldn't find the "violet" shade so substituted "almond" with good result. Eliminated the time consuming color changes by doing all centers first without cutting thread, then switching to the next color for all the small circles and all the large circles. Then cut them all apart. Made some extra circles and "appliqued" them onto some plain almond squares with good result and had a blanket with no holes. Blocked circles to standarize size as they seemed to wander a bit. Instructions could have mentioned which color seaming was intended for. I had an extra skein of sugarplum left over? More detail on seaming and construction details would have helped as otherwise this is not an easy pattern. Certainly a break from the standard Granny squares. These colors would go great in hexagons and be more solid.

Unsquared Baby Throw Reviewed by Michaeline Morrissey on 2008-08-31 ***
I got a chance to use up some of my stash of yarn. However, this just didn't seem substantial enough of a blanket. There were too many open areas and putting it together took a long time. The pattern would make a nice table covering if cotton thread was used.

Unsquared Baby Throw Reviewed by Tobie-Lynn on 2008-05-29 ****
I had a number of part skeins of bernat satin in baby colours that I used for this project. I quite like the patern, and think I will make one with only 2 colours next time, so the details will stand out a bit more than the colours! Very easy pattern to memorize, it makes a great 'on the go project' to take to work or doctor's visits and work on!

Click to zoom

Click to zoom

Click to zoom

Unsquared Baby Throw Reviewed by SUSAN POPOWICK WHITMAN on 2008-03-09 ****
I agree with the previous poster that this pattern is very time consuming (between the color changes and the seaming). The quality of the cupcake yarn is very soft and perfect for this pattern. I had some difficulty with blocking on some of the smaller circles. Be certain to check guage on large and small circles. Very sweet afghan.

Click to zoom

 
 
separator separator
Bookmark This!  separator
Sign up for our Newsletter  
separator Share This!  separator About Us separator Contact Us separator
  Font Size:   
Click to view page with standard font Click to view page with larger font Click to view page with largest font