Skip Navigation

Click for Lion Brand Yarn Home Page
separator
Our Yarns
The LB Collection
Martha Stewart Crafts
Lion's Pride Woolspun
Request Free Catalog
Our Yarns
Yarn by Weight
separator
New Catalog
separator
Shop
separator
  • free patterns
  • special sales
  • new items
  • 15% off coupon
    US orders only
    view past newsletters   Click to view newsletters and subscription choice
separator
Free Catalog
separator
Patterns
separator
Lion Brand
     Yarn Studio
     Retail Store, New York, NY
separator
Lion Brand
     Yarn Shop
     Retail Store, Colonie, NY
separator
Lion Brand Outlet
     Retail Store, Carlstadt, NJ
separator
Find a Store
post code:
country:
within:
more options   Click for more store-locator options
separator
Home : Customer Reviews of a Pattern
 

Customer Reviews

Image of Hat And Scarf
Hat And Scarf
Pattern Number: 70379AD
Rating: ****
4.1 (based on 30 reviews)
Write your own review
 
 
Search All Patterns:  
spacer
 
Displaying 1-10 of 30 results Page 1 of 3
123Display next page
Write your own review Have you made this pattern? Send us a photo
Hat And Scarf Reviewed by Barbara White on 2013-12-18 *****
this pattern was super easy and loved the results. my hat fit great and I'm about halfway through the scarf. I used the Tudor color Homespun, and I like the way it turned out. I'll be making more for sure!

Hat And Scarf Reviewed by Jacquelin Villamor on 2013-09-22 *****
Thank You so much for having this pattern on your web sit. I have used this pattern for a few scarves and hats, but it has been some how misplaced.Now I can happily use it again to make some new hats.

Hat And Scarf Reviewed by Lori Pedersen on 2013-02-24 ***
This is a very cute hat, if you have a head the size of a small tangerine. I had to frog the whole thing. I will make this again, because it does have a really nice look to it, but I will do what another reviewer said--use SIZE 8 and then SIZE 10 needles on the project. That makes a lot more sense--not only would it actually fit an adult head, but the knitting would be easier. Instead, it fit my four-year-old's head.

And to just prove that the amount of stitches is too small, take a look at Lion Brand's Sunrise Hat for children, which I also made with bad result. The children's hat has you casting on 63 stitches on SIZE 10 needles. Then, this adult hat has you casting on 60 stitches on SIZE 6 and then moving to only size 8??? Makes no sense. In short, my children's hat was too big (fit granny) and this adult hat was too small (fit my four-year-old).

Hat And Scarf Reviewed by Lori A R Head on 2012-11-17 ***
I just made the hat portion of this pair. I matched the gage for the pattern and used Homespun in Colonial Blue, but I feel like the hat came out a lot smaller than I expected.

Click to zoom

Click to zoom

Click to zoom

Click to zoom

Reviewed by Connie Gayle White on 2012-01-13 *****
I love this pattern and may never knit another hat pattern again. Besides using Homespun, I have used Lion Brand Tweed Stripes yarn for the 'purl rounds' with a complimentary solid color for the 'knit rounds'. (you need to knit one round of before you start the purl rounds to make the colors transition look right) I do the same yarn combinations for the scarf. Everybody loves the look! I have already started on the children's hat and scarf sets for our church Christmas project 2012. This is one of those simple but elegant projects I can do in the car, on a conference call or watching University of Kentucky basketball!

Hat Reviewed by mj borrelli on 2011-11-06 *****
This hat is a hit with everyone that sees it...and then wants me to make one for them...I have been knitting long enough to know that I am not a great knitter and yet this hat turns out beautifully every time!

Hat And Scarf Reviewed by Ann Collins on 2011-10-30 ****
I have made many of these hats, I just love the pattern, it is very easy to knit. I wasn't too thrilled with the scarf though.

Hat And Scarf Reviewed by Angela on 2011-03-28 *****
I am not sure what the person commenting above means when she states the pattern for the scarf is written for the circular needles.

The HAT states circulars needles.

The SCARF states, using larger needles, which is the straight needles.

The scarf is knit in rows. Simply turn the work at the end of each row and you should have no problem.

Easy for a beginner! But still cute because of the self striping by the yarn.


Hat And Scarf Reviewed by Ulla Hellstrand on 2010-11-07 ***
I followed the directions for the hat and it came out great. Had some problems with the scarf pattern which is written for circular knitting (rounds), while the instructions call for straight needles (rows). To match the hat pattern, I worked the scarf on straight needles in rows. Rows 1-6, knit RS, purl WS; rows 7-10, purl RS, knit WS. I repeated these rows until I obtained the desired length. I give this pattern a 3-star rating because the scarf directions are unclear.

Hat Reviewed by Meghan on 2010-06-20 *****
I was making a scarf with this yarn and got the urge to look up a hat pattern to go with it. I am very happy I found this pattern. The hat is cute and it fits great. I did not have to make any adjustments to the pattern.

Click to zoom

 
 
separator separator
Bookmark This!  separator
Sign up for our Newsletter  
separator Share This!  separator About Us separator Contact Us separator
  Font Size:   
Click to view page with standard font Click to view page with larger font Click to view page with largest font