Skip Navigation

Click for Lion Brand Yarn Home Page
separator
Our Yarns
The LB Collection
Martha Stewart Crafts
Lion's Pride Woolspun
Request Free Catalog
Our Yarns
Yarn by Weight
separator
New Catalog
separator
Shop
separator
  • free patterns
  • special sales
  • new items
  • 15% off coupon
    US orders only
    view past newsletters   Click to view newsletters and subscription choice
separator
Free Catalog
separator
Patterns
separator
Lion Brand
     Yarn Studio
     Retail Store, New York, NY
separator
Lion Brand
     Yarn Shop
     Retail Store, Colonie, NY
separator
Lion Brand Outlet
     Retail Store, Carlstadt, NJ
separator
Find a Store
post code:
country:
within:
more options   Click for more store-locator options
separator
Home : Customer Reviews of a Pattern
 

Customer Reviews

Image of Half Moon Shawl
Half Moon Shawl
Pattern Number: 70474AD
Rating: *****
4.6 (based on 37 reviews)
Write your own review
 
 
Search All Patterns:  
spacer
 
Displaying 1-10 of 37 results Page 1 of 4
1234Display next page
Write your own review Have you made this pattern? Send us a photo
Half Moon Shawl Reviewed by B G Cox on 2013-01-23 *****
This is a beautiful shawl. Have made several and given them away. We have a shawl ministry at our church and am always looking for patterns that work up quick and easy. This is it. The ladies love them. Thank you so much.

Half Moon Shawl Reviewed by lulwah on 2012-11-17 ****
the rep. raws are confusing. you may have to rewrite it to make it simple and easy to read. but at all it is easy and fun pattern. thank you :-)

Half Moon Shawl Reviewed by Lauren Carey on 2012-03-21 *****
A very fast and simple design once you get the hang of it. I was able to work on it in near dark to get ready to sleep. I didn't have the access to the required yarn, so I used an acrylic yarn. The end result is very warm and classy, perfect for sitting outside on a cool evening.

Click to zoom

Click to zoom

Half Moon Shawl Reviewed by charlene on 2011-11-06 ****
This shawl is perfectly easy to make - that being said, the directions were a little crazy. I won't repeat what has already been said, but what helped me most was writing the correct rows that were referred. It's not difficult, but it takes a little patience to complete.

Half Moon Shawl Reviewed by pjcoufal on 2011-03-22 **
I'm currently making this shawl as a gift for my mother-in-law for Mother's Day. It is very pretty, but the pattern is needlessly complicated and needs to be rewritten.

I had to rip out rows because when it said to DC in next DC I did so, when I really should have DC in the first DC. I would also find the opposite true at times, too!

The repeat rows are confusing, also. For example, Row 16-19, repeat Rows 10-13. No problem, I get row 16 done, go to 17, it sends me to 11 which sends me to 5. The directions should have you going straight to the row needed instead of all over. It makes it hard to keep track of rows.

I consider myself an intermediate crocheter, and if I had trouble keeping track of this pattern, I think a beginner would just totally give up.

For the aesthetic effect, it definitely gets 5 stars, but the pattern as written gets a 2.

Half Moon Shawl Reviewed by J Bedard on 2011-01-03 *****
Easy to do once you get the hang of it. I have make 2 and my second one is better than the first. Thank you for all the free patterns. Alot are easy and fun to do. I love crocheting. ;)

Click to zoom

Click to zoom

Half Moon Shawl Reviewed by henderson stephani on 2010-06-25 *****
I've made this shawl 3 times already, and I'm starting on a 4th! Very easy to follow pattern. :o)

Half Moon Shawl Reviewed by irma on 2010-06-14 *****
I love my shawl. I am planning on doing another one for my mom. I wish I had read the review about this shawl before i did it. It would have made me feel better. I agree with the previous review, that it was confusing to keep going back to one row just to be instructed to go to another row. I also agree about the inconsistencies of the starting points for some of the rows. I had to undo several of my rows just so the count would be accurate. Over all I struggled thru it and I learned and enjoyed the challenge of doing this project! My friends like my shawl and are planning on doing there own.

Half Moon Shawl Reviewed by Wanda Bigelow on 2010-02-08 ****
It is a beautiful shawl, and I am almost finished with the second one. However, I found that all the wording was not consistent. For instance, crochet in "first" double crochet sometimes means at the bottom of the beginning chain and sometimes it means the first double crochet after the beginning chain. I also found it difficult to keep going back to rows 10-12 and then being told to go back to rows 5 & 6, and then to another row, etc. It would have been easier to just say, go back to row 5 immediately. This is my second one because I messed up the first one with the lack of consistencies.

Half Moon Shawl Reviewed by Swati Lotlikar on 2009-09-04 *****
The shawl that I made was in a greyish blue colored yarn. It can also be worn on formal dress, and has an elegant fall from the shoulders.

The pattern is very easy.

 
 
separator separator
Bookmark This!  separator
Sign up for our Newsletter  
separator Share This!  separator About Us separator Contact Us separator
  Font Size:   
Click to view page with standard font Click to view page with larger font Click to view page with largest font