Skip Navigation

Click for Lion Brand Yarn Home Page
separator
Our Yarns
The LB Collection
Martha Stewart Crafts
Lion's Pride Woolspun
Vanna's Collection
Request Free Catalog
Our Yarns
Yarn by Weight
separator
New Catalog
separator
Shop
separator
  • free patterns
  • special sales
  • new items
  • 15% off coupon
    US orders only
    view past newsletters   Click to view newsletters and subscription choice
separator
Free Catalog
separator
Patterns
separator
Lion Brand
     Yarn Studio
     Retail Store, New York, NY
separator
Lion Brand
     Yarn Shop
     Retail Store, Colonie, NY
separator
Lion Brand Outlet
     Retail Store, Carlstadt, NJ
separator
Find a Store
post code:
country:
within:
more options   Click for more store-locator options
separator
Home : Customer Reviews of a Pattern
 

Customer Reviews

Image of Cable Comfort Throw
Cable Comfort Throw
Pattern Number: 70071AD
Rating: *****
4.9 (based on 12 reviews)
Write your own review
 
 
Search All Patterns:  
spacer
 
Displaying 1-10 of 12 results Page 1 of 2
12Display next page
Write your own review Have you made this pattern? Send us a photo
Cable Comfort Throw Reviewed by Marlene Gross on 2012-12-03 ****
I just finished this and it is very easy to make and lovely. The wool is soft and has a nice weight.

I made 3 panels instead of 5 so there would be less sewing together but still not too much bulk to comfortably knit. I did this by knitting panels 1 & 2 as one continuous wider panel and then the same for panels 4 & 5 - you just have to remember to have one of the double panels with the front cable first and the back cable second, and the other panel the back cable first and the front cable second.

I repeated the 18 pattern rows one additional time to make the afghan a little longer, but I still find it a bit short and would recommend anyone who prefers more of a blanket than a lap throw to add at least two extra patterns of 18 rows.

I also edged it all around in two rows of single crochet which gives it a nice finish and helps keep the edges from curling, but it was great even before I did that.

Fun to make, not too hard and very cozy!

Cable Comfort Throw Reviewed by Christa Kelley on 2012-10-03 *****
My first big knitting and cable project. One of the easier patterns I've followed, and also I love the yarn they call for. I made this throw for my mom she loves it!! I made some mistakes but I love the outcome of it. Can't wait to make one for myself!

Click to zoom

Cable Comfort Throw Reviewed by Maryanna Thompson on 2012-02-23 *****
I found this pattern to be very well written and easy to understand. The woolease yarn was very nice to use. It was really soft and I loved how it worked up.

Cable Comfort Throw Reviewed by Elizabeth on 2011-03-28 *****
I'm currently knitting this pattern and loving it! Sadly, I have carpel tunnel which makes me go much more slowly due to several breaks. I'm new to cables as well as large projects. Therefore, for anyone new to cables or large projects, I have a few suggestions!

I bought a counter to use and clicked it for each row. I went up to 18 rows, then returned to zero.
Everytime I finished a set of 18 rows, I'd mark it with a piece of yarn to keep my count straight.

I'm making this in 2 colors and it looks amazing so far! I've extended it to have 10 cables and to be 7 panels wide. My boyfriend is rather tall, a little 5' x 5' just isn't going to cut it! :) Have a great time with this and happy knitting!

Cable Comfort Throw Reviewed by sue clark on 2011-02-19 *****
I made three of these as Christmas gifts.They were beautiful.I knit all on circular needle using marker for each cable section. a great cable to learn on.Only Complaint is it is very heavy towards the end,and I did make it 1 skien longer

Cable Comfort Throw Reviewed by KARIN on 2010-09-07 *****
I knit this for my niece for her bridal shower gift. She absolutely loved it! Everyone said how complicated it looked to make. But I knew how simple and easy it was. One "magic row" as I called it did the impressive twist and the rest was simple knit & purl. I did extend the pattern to 11 repeats instead of the 8 called for in the pattern - as my niece's fiance is quite tall. Knitting the throw in panels made it very convenient for me to take it everywhere! This is a super soft yarn and makes a super warm afghan! Thanks LB!!!

Click to zoom

Cable Comfort Throw Reviewed by JULIA KROPP on 2010-02-14 *****
This is an amazing blanket. I made it for my friends who were getting married, and they were so impressed with it. They thought it was incredibly difficult to make when it was really a sinch! I highly recommend buying the kit. It's very helpful. Definitely use this pattern if you want something quick to knit, but want it to look impressive at the same time!

Cable Comfort Throw Reviewed by tina on 2008-12-10 *****
I made this with the grey marble and added length (9 rows instead of 7) I wanted it to be a good blanket to cover up with while watching TV. I'm glad I did. My family loves it and everyone I show it to thinks it's beautiful. There's just something about cables. I love them!
This was my first cable project and it was soooooo easy. It looks amazing and anyone can do this pattern.
I'll be making some scarves with this pattern and I"m sure they'll look great.
One quick note: buy a "stitch counter" and tie it the first row, that way you know where you are. Also if you count the cables you'll know how many "sets" of rows you've completed. That's a hint for the newbies like me. I can use all the help I can get! Enjoy!!

Cable Comfort Throw Reviewed by on 2008-11-21 *****
Thanks for the easy cable explanation. I have many books and none were as simple!

Cable Comfort Throw Reviewed by Tina Wagner on 2008-09-04 *****
Easy to Make and beautiful when done. I made it twice as long and twice as wide for a cover for my bed. Although heavy, it's wonderful to snuggle under during the winter!

 
 
separator separator
Bookmark This!  separator
Sign up for our Newsletter  
separator Share This!  separator About Us separator Contact Us separator
  Font Size:   
Click to view page with standard font Click to view page with larger font Click to view page with largest font