Skip Navigation

Click for Lion Brand Yarn Home Page
separator
Our Yarns
The LB Collection
Martha Stewart Crafts
Lion's Pride Woolspun
Request Free Catalog
Our Yarns
Yarn by Weight
separator
New Catalog
separator
Shop
separator
  • free patterns
  • special sales
  • new items
  • 15% off coupon
    US orders only
    view past newsletters   Click to view newsletters and subscription choice
separator
Free Catalog
separator
Patterns
separator
Lion Brand
     Yarn Studio
     Retail Store, New York, NY
separator
Lion Brand
     Yarn Shop
     Retail Store, Colonie, NY
separator
Lion Brand Outlet
     Retail Store, Carlstadt, NJ
separator
Find a Store
post code:
country:
within:
more options   Click for more store-locator options
separator
Home : Customer Reviews of a Pattern
 

Customer Reviews

Image of Diagonal Granny Afghan
Diagonal Granny Afghan
Pattern Number: 70346AD
Rating: *****
4.5 (based on 8 reviews)
Write your own review
 
 
Search All Patterns:  
spacer
 
Displaying 1-8 of 8 results
Write your own review Have you made this pattern? Send us a photo
Diagonal Granny Afghan Reviewed by PK Barnes on 2012-03-28 *****
Am making this for a birthday gift for my mom with some alterations. I've decided only to make what will be the top edge straight and will make additional squares for larger afghan. Also, decided to follow Patrice Ticknor advice and make strips and join as I go. Will single crochet together for added texture.

Diagonal Granny Afghan Reviewed by Patrice Ticknor on 2010-07-14 ****
I am almost finished and it is turning out to be a beautiful afghan. However, be prepared for a lot of sewing and weaving in ends. I probably spent as much time doing that as I did crocheting. My advice - weave in the ends on the squares as you go along. When joining squares, start by making three strips of 13, joining those three strips, and then doing the two strips of 11 and joining those and the two strips of 9.... I think the instructions could have been a little more helpful as far as joining the strips. I plan to give this as a wedding gift.

Diagonal Granny Afghan Reviewed by DeeDee S on 2010-04-10 *****
I did this afghan for my grown daughter. I single crocheted the squares together and it looked great on both sides. I did not attach tassels. I changed the finish/edging to a single round of double crotchet all the way around. This afghan was simple to make and looked fabulous when I was done. Very elegant pattern.

Diagonal Granny Afghan Reviewed by PAMELA TRZENSKI on 2010-02-04 *****
This makes a very nice baby blanket. I scaled down this pattern using baby yarn and F hook and no tassels. It looks difficult but isn't.

Diagonal Granny Afghan Reviewed by Helen Ashenfelter on 2008-09-29 ****
I found the Diagonal Granny Afghan fast to make up. The directions were easy to follow. I did not include fringe on mine - a personel choice -it worked up beautifully. I am finishing the fourth one in six months.

Easy to take the yarn and a crochet hook in a bag and crochet when waiting for appointments.

Loved the changed from a square to the diagonal1

Diagonal Granny Afghan Reviewed by Kimberly Hall on 2008-06-17 ****
I made this afghan for my Mother for her Birthday. It turned out really nice I did change the pattern just slightly by stitching my pieces together w/ a raised edge. I felt it gave the afghan a little more depth. I have made several pieces from your site and magazine and have enjoyed all of them. Keep up the good work!
Kim H,KY

Diagonal Granny Afghan Reviewed by Pitsilos Karen on 2008-04-14 ****
Made my own changes to this patteren and it turned out fantastic! I doubled the number of squares and did a top stitch of single crochet to join squares. I hate to hide or work in tails so by using the single crochet to join squares, I worked in the tails and joined the pieces in one easy step! I also added additional triangle pieces to the top of the afghan to make 3 of the 4 sides straight with the tassels at the bottom edge only. This was for a wedding present and was received with raving remarks! One that was easy to carry with, too!

Diagonal Granny Afghan Reviewed by Tiffany Fawson on 2008-02-21 *****
I am about half way through making all my squares. I used the vanna's brick red. The color looks fabulous. I'm dreading sewing all those squares together, but I think it will be worth it.

 
 
separator separator
Bookmark This!  separator
Sign up for our Newsletter  
separator Share This!  separator About Us separator Contact Us separator
  Font Size:   
Click to view page with standard font Click to view page with larger font Click to view page with largest font