Skip Navigation

Click for Lion Brand Yarn Home Page
separator
Our Yarns
The LB Collection
Martha Stewart Crafts
Lion's Pride Woolspun
Request Free Catalog
Our Yarns
Yarn by Weight
separator
New Catalog
separator
Shop
separator
  • free patterns
  • special sales
  • new items
  • 15% off coupon
    US orders only
    view past newsletters   Click to view newsletters and subscription choice
separator
Free Catalog
separator
Patterns
separator
Lion Brand
     Yarn Studio
     Retail Store, New York, NY
separator
Lion Brand
     Yarn Shop
     Retail Store, Colonie, NY
separator
Lion Brand Outlet
     Retail Store, Carlstadt, NJ
separator
Find a Store
post code:
country:
within:
more options   Click for more store-locator options
separator
Home : Customer Reviews of a Pattern
 

Customer Reviews

Image of Basketweave Cape
Basketweave Cape
Pattern Number: VK25CapeAD
Rating: ****
3.8 (based on 10 reviews)
Write your own review
 
 
Search All Patterns:  
spacer
 
Displaying 1-10 of 10 results
Write your own review Have you made this pattern? Send us a photo
Basketweave Cape Reviewed by Amy Brooks on 2011-08-03 **
I think this pattern could have been written better. The neck edging instructions are unclear, so I just winged it and did my own thing. It's a beautiful pattern, but you have to do a lot of mental work to figure out what the pattern wants you to do.

Basketweave Cape Reviewed by Catherine Sullivan on 2009-04-22 ***
the basketweave is beautiful, but the cape is just huge. Trying to figure out how to cut it down without having to rip the whole thing apart.
Also agree that the arm holes would be better further out to the sides.

Basketweave Cape Reviewed by Diane Ladd on 2009-01-09 ****
I made this for my mom and she loved it. The instructins were a little confusing for the slits and the collar. I ended up picking up stitches around the neck edge and worked the basket weave pattern for about 3 inches. I thought the folded collar would be much too bulky especially for her.

Basketweave Cape Reviewed by meo on 2008-11-17 ****
I really like this cape. I received many compliments on the cape, even from men. I made a beret to go along with it. Simple beautiful.

Basketweave Cape Reviewed by Mary Jane Lord on 2008-11-07 *****
I was also confused about the collar, but it was helpful to read the other reviews. I think the directions are fairly clear, but it's just an unusual way to attach the collar.

Basketweave Cape Reviewed by Cindy on 2008-03-14 ****
Collar instructions are a bit confusing because normally you would expect to sew the open edges to the neckline and have the fold at the top, but this one works opposite with the fold being sewn to the neckline and the open edges being left at the top. The cape came out great though and was simple to do.

Basketweave Cape Reviewed by VERONICA MATSUBARA on 2008-09-10 ****
It's a great project, however I think the holes for the arms should be more closer to the sides instead to the center, in order to feel more comfortable

Basketweave Cape Reviewed by s. clemmons on 2008-03-20 ****
If you are petite (as I am) this may run a bit large. I wish the pattern was written for multiple sizes, but it is still pretty and warm. The only other issue was that the instructions for attaching the the collar were not as clear as I would have liked.

Basketweave Cape Reviewed by Beth Bayley on 2008-03-08 ****
I hate it when the instructions say "now do the same thing for the other side only backwards and in mirror image" I can't think that 3-dimensionally. I'd pay $5 more to get the instructions spelled out for me for the mirror image sides.

Basketweave Cape Reviewed by Maria Davila on 2008-01-22 ****
I made this and it is beautiful and warm. My only suggestion is that the instructions for the collar were a bit confusing. It seems it can be attached to the body in a few ways. I found one that worked, but not sure if it is correct!

 
 
separator separator
Bookmark This!  separator
Sign up for our Newsletter  
separator Share This!  separator About Us separator Contact Us separator
  Font Size:   
Click to view page with standard font Click to view page with larger font Click to view page with largest font