Skip Navigation

Click for Lion Brand Yarn Home Page
separator
Our Yarns
The LB Collection
Martha Stewart Crafts
Lion's Pride Woolspun
Vanna's Collection
Request Free Catalog
Our Yarns
Yarn by Weight
separator
New Catalog
separator
Shop
separator
  • free patterns
  • special sales
  • new items
  • 15% off coupon
    US orders only
    view past newsletters   Click to view newsletters and subscription choice
separator
Free Catalog
separator
Patterns
separator
Lion Brand
     Yarn Studio
     Retail Store, New York, NY
separator
Lion Brand
     Yarn Shop
     Retail Store, Colonie, NY
separator
Lion Brand Outlet
     Retail Store, Carlstadt, NJ
separator
Find a Store
post code:
country:
within:
more options   Click for more store-locator options
separator
separator
Home : Customer Reviews of a Pattern
 

Customer Reviews

Image of Pirate Pal
Pirate Pal
Pattern Number: 70445AD
Rating: *****
5.0 (based on 8 reviews)
Write your own review
 
 
Search All Patterns:  
spacer
 
Displaying 1-8 of 8 results
Write your own review Have you made this pattern? Send us a photo
Pirate Pal Reviewed by Christine Hanstad on 2009-04-03 *****
I'm giving the Pirate Pal 5 stars because I LOVE how it turned out, but as a beginner I struggled with the instructions for the arms and legs... so I'll point out what I did in case anyone else has troubles. To start, I ch2 and then worked 5 stitches in the 1st chain. Once I got that far I followed the instructions listed BUT after joining with a slip stitch and ch 1, I TURNED the piece and continued. Hope this helps!

Click to zoom

Click to zoom

Click to zoom

Pirate Pal Reviewed by CaptainKarrow on 2011-08-01 *****
The legs and arms were a bit more difficult to crochet than the body, but it wasn't hard.

I will be making more pals. It's adorable! :)

Click to zoom

Pirate Pal Reviewed by Tracy Giannini on 2010-06-09 *****
I'm a beginner and this was a good project to learn and practice some new things (changing yarn colors, crocheting in the round, etc.) I also had trouble with getting the arms and legs started. I took Christie's tip and chained two and then did my single crochets in the first chain. After that it was a breeze. And he turned out very cute!

Pirate Pal Reviewed by Tabitha on 2010-03-29 *****
I made this for my friend's son and he totally loved the toy. He is a baby so I made it out of baby yarn in softer colors. It was very easy to make and was my first crocheted doll.

Pirate Pal Reviewed by heather littler on 2010-01-22 *****
This pattern was very simple, and easily made in one day. As soon as it was done my son absolutely loved his "pirate guy".

Click to zoom

Pirate Pal Reviewed by Kyla Chandler on 2009-06-10 *****
I really liked this pattern. I'm a beginner so I need simple. I tweeked it a little as you can see. Then I liked it so much I made a second "pillow pal". I made Pirate Pete No-Pants and Barney Brown Bear. I went for more of a square shape and stitched a letter on the back, so it has more of a learning block look.

Click to zoom

Click to zoom

Pirate Pal Reviewed by Stephanie Marshik on 2008-10-09 *****
Completed this project in one day on Talk Like A Pirate day (9/19). I used Jiffy (lemon) for the body which gave it substance for squishability. Jiffy was too thick for the arms and legs so I used scraps. Those arms and legs turned out to be surprisingly easy to do. The instructions were very clear. He's been named Yellowbeard because of the slight fuzziness of Jiffy.

Click to zoom

Great, easy project! Reviewed by Dana Williams on 2008-10-02 *****
This pirate got me into making stuffed animals. With a few color alterations (I made mine in a dark green spectrum), he has become the envy of all my friends.

Easy, quick and adorable. Quick gift!

 
 
separator separator
Bookmark This!  separator
Sign up for our Newsletter  
separator Share This!  separator About Us separator Contact Us separator
  Font Size:   
Click to view page with standard font Click to view page with larger font Click to view page with largest font