Skip Navigation

Click for Lion Brand Yarn Home Page
separator
Our Yarns
The LB Collection
Martha Stewart Crafts
Lion's Pride Woolspun
Request Free Catalog
Our Yarns
Yarn by Weight
separator
New Catalog
separator
Shop
separator
  • free patterns
  • special sales
  • new items
  • 15% off coupon
    US orders only
    view past newsletters   Click to view newsletters and subscription choice
separator
Free Catalog
separator
Patterns
separator
Lion Brand
     Yarn Studio
     Retail Store, New York, NY
separator
Lion Brand
     Yarn Shop
     Retail Store, Colonie, NY
separator
Lion Brand Outlet
     Retail Store, Carlstadt, NJ
separator
Find a Store
post code:
country:
within:
more options   Click for more store-locator options
separator
Home : Customer Reviews of a Pattern
 

Customer Reviews

Image of Knit Child's Solid Socks
Knit Child's Solid Socks
Pattern Number: 70479A
Rating: **
1.4 (based on 8 reviews)
Write your own review
 
 
Search All Patterns:  
spacer
 
Displaying 1-8 of 8 results
Write your own review Have you made this pattern? Send us a photo
Knit Child's Solid Socks Reviewed by nancy gibney on 2013-04-05 ***
regarding the heel instructions, instead of sw,try using priscilla wild's no wrap short row heel. There is a video and it is so much easier, it's all I use now. cute sock! P. s. I wish the patterns with discontinued colors in them had yarn colors substituted in the pattern already. thanks.

Knit Child's Solid Socks Reviewed by Debbie Eggebrecht on 2011-11-27 *
I agree completely with the other reviews. Looks like a great sock. Too bad it doesn't turn out like that. I just did a wrap and turn in place of the slip and wrap. Never heard of that. But the worst part comes after that. How can you just continue knitting after you do a heel. Don't you have to pick up stitches along the edge of the heel you just knit? This pattern is hogwash. Don't waste your time.

Knit Child's Solid Socks - CONFUSING!!! Reviewed by Fernanda on 2010-10-14 *
I´m glad I´m reading these reviews, I thought I wasn´t able to understand the pattern. But now I see that a lot of people could not understand it either. It´s so confusing!!! Not easy at all. They should make a video tutorial to show us how they they did this sock. Well, now I can move on and try another pattern.

Knit Child's Solid Socks Reviewed by Tiffany Medina on 2010-08-24 *
All of the reviewers are absolutely right. this pattern is very confusing. The sw stitch does not make sense, and the pattern seems to be incorrect.

Knit Child's Solid Socks Reviewed by BETH HOWE on 2009-01-13 *
I have been knitting for over 35 years and I too can not figure this pattern out - and I have made tons of socks!

Knit Child's Solid Socks Reviewed by Lee Ann Shafer on 2008-05-23 *
I'm glad to read the reviews of previous knitters. Thought perhaps I was losing it, but after years of knitting, I'll be darned if I can figure out the sw directions. Please give us something easier to decipher.

Knit Child's Solid Socks Reviewed by Barb Palmer on 2008-05-12 *
I must agree with the previous knitters' reviews. Especially the SW directions are EXTREMELY confusing! My grandchildren would love these but the directions as written make it impossible to decipher. At the website About.com, Sarah White gives great directions for a mini sock. I am a first-time sock knitter and can usually follow the patterns easily. Sarah's directions gave me a great little sock that turned out perfectly. All of Lion Brand sock directions using this SW method are woefully inadequate. The pattern for adult socks, Joan's socks, is a much easier pattern but I can not translate into a child's size. Please reevaluate your sock instructions and rewrite them with the heel flap & gusset as indicated by a previous reviewer.

Knit Child's Solid Socks Reviewed by Andrea Gerber on 2008-04-08 **
Be sure to check out the reviews for this same sock, with the featured color being the purple one. The pattern is the same, just the color is different.

I'm writing a more complete review there, but this pattern should NO WAY be rated as EASY+ with the directions as they are currently given. Woefully inadequate. The pattern is cute. What is not cute is spending lots of time trying to make these instructions work.

 
 
separator separator
Bookmark This!  separator
Sign up for our Newsletter  
separator Share This!  separator About Us separator Contact Us separator
  Font Size:   
Click to view page with standard font Click to view page with larger font Click to view page with largest font