Skip Navigation

Click for Lion Brand Yarn Home Page
separator
Our Yarns
The LB Collection
Martha Stewart Crafts
Lion's Pride Woolspun
Request Free Catalog
Our Yarns
Yarn by Weight
separator
New Catalog
separator
Shop
separator
  • free patterns
  • special sales
  • new items
  • 15% off coupon
    US orders only
    view past newsletters   Click to view newsletters and subscription choice
separator
Free Catalog
separator
Patterns
separator
Lion Brand
     Yarn Studio
     Retail Store, New York, NY
separator
Lion Brand
     Yarn Shop
     Retail Store, Colonie, NY
separator
Lion Brand Outlet
     Retail Store, Carlstadt, NJ
separator
Find a Store
post code:
country:
within:
more options   Click for more store-locator options
separator
Home : Customer Reviews of a Pattern
 

Customer Reviews

Image of Jacket Deconstructed
Jacket Deconstructed
Pattern Number: 60648A
Rating: ****
3.8 (based on 16 reviews)
Write your own review
 
 
Search All Patterns:  
spacer
 
Displaying 1-10 of 16 results Page 1 of 2
12Display next page
Write your own review Have you made this pattern? Send us a photo
Jacket Deconstructed Reviewed by Ann Snoeyenbos on 2014-01-29 *****
I'm working on my fourth one of these. I love this jacket because it's more stylish than most cardigans. It keeps my neck warm when needed but still opens completely when the heat's on. I use one or two shawl sticks when I need max warmth but it drapes nicely when open

The knitting is simple--good for public transit and tv watching. I've made all four in Vanna's Choice but I'm planning to make a couple more in lighter yarns (silk + cotton) for spring.

Reviewed by liz roe on 2012-07-12 ****
I'm making my third sweater from this pattern! One was a gift--like others I found the yarn recommendation to be too bulk, so for the second one I used the cashmere blend, and actually crocheted it following the pattern. This time I'm using Wool-Ease and following the pattern, except I added a garter stitch on the edges so it doesn't curl.

Jacket Deconstructed Reviewed by Madeliene Hobgood on 2012-05-31 ****
I just completed this jacket...made it as a birthday present for my daughter. I used cotton ease yarn so that she can use it year round. Hope she likes it. Very easy pattern to follow, and it came out great!

Jacket Deconstructed Reviewed by Lea on 2012-04-25 *****
I have just finished this and absolutely love it! It is quick and easy to knit and looks wonderful when finished. :)

Reviewed by kristina on 2011-10-06 ****
I have yet to make this (next project), but have a few helpful hints. I have a jacket like this made out of jersey fleece, and it is wonderful. Vanna yarn can be bulky if knit to tightly, but a yarn with a combination of something like bamboo and acrylic/wool would be wonderful. The size and shape are perfect, but the yarn really needs to have a lot of drape for this jacket to look right. With the Vanna yarn, this can be achieved by using a larger needle size, knit up a gauge swatch, and adjust the cast on and measurements accordingly. I use this exact yarn to make 61" cowls, but use a #11 needle to avoid bulk when it is wrapped around the neck multiple times.

Jacket Deconstructed Reviewed by Maggie Monsen on 2010-01-04 *****
I have never received as many compliments from so many people about this sweater. It is oddly stylish and sure to be noticed. Very easy to make, I call it my mindless knitting. I too use a big broach on the one shoulder to hold it closed and tuck it over the other shoulder on the inside side. Several friends tell me I should make these to sell and they'd be first in line. Working on my second one for my daughter who is at college and she will use it to snuggle in while studying.

Jacket Deconstructed Reviewed by Christina Herr on 2009-12-21 *****
I just finnished making this jacket, and love it. I used the same color that is in the picture. I did not have any problems with the fit what so ever and use a pin also for closure. I will be making another one after the holidays. Great Pattern!!!

Jacket Deconstructed Reviewed by rachael giglio on 2009-04-04 ***
i loved this patter idea but made a few changes. I did a 4x4 rib along the front edges (CO and BO edges)for about 8 rows. this kept ti from curling a ton in the front.I also wanted a different sleeve so i created my own fuller and shorter, it hits just below the elbow and is full enough to wear over a long sleeved tee. I also found hat the front hung oddly, so i stood in front of the mirror for probably half an hour playing with it tp try to create a different shape i finnaly settled on this solution. sew a large decorative button to one shoulder and another button on the INSIDEof the other shoulder, attatch I- cord loops to each top corner and fasten. this actually gives a very slimming and falttering line! i live how it looks and it stays put while i'm hauling around my three kids. I love the result with a little tweaking. I used wool-ease sportweight which is much lighter weight than what the pattern calls for but had no problems (i knitted it a size up from what i usually would)

Jacket Deconstructed Reviewed by Teri-Ann Peri on 2009-03-20 *
I made this with the recommended yarn and the correct gauge but I was so unhappy with the fit, It was so bulky and stuck out in the back. I ended up ripping it out and trying to save the yarn I could for reuse.

Jacket Deconstructed Reviewed by marymcra on 2009-03-11 *
Did not like the finished garment.The back was bulky and the front angles were strange. Didn't look anything like this picture.

 
 
separator separator
Bookmark This!  separator
Sign up for our Newsletter  
separator Share This!  separator About Us separator Contact Us separator
  Font Size:   
Click to view page with standard font Click to view page with larger font Click to view page with largest font