Skip Navigation

Click for Lion Brand Yarn Home Page
separator
Our Yarns
The LB Collection
Martha Stewart Crafts
Lion's Pride Woolspun
Vanna's Collection
Request Free Catalog
Our Yarns
Yarn by Weight
separator
New Catalog
separator
Shop
separator
  • free patterns
  • special sales
  • new items
  • 15% off coupon
    US orders only
    view past newsletters   Click to view newsletters and subscription choice
separator
Free Catalog
separator
Patterns
separator
Lion Brand
     Yarn Studio
     Retail Store, New York, NY
separator
Lion Brand
     Yarn Shop
     Retail Store, Colonie, NY
separator
Lion Brand Outlet
     Retail Store, Carlstadt, NJ
separator
Find a Store
post code:
country:
within:
more options   Click for more store-locator options
separator
Home : Customer Reviews of a Pattern
 

Customer Reviews

Image of Make It Yours Purse-Swirling Spirals
Make It Yours Purse-Swirling Spirals
Pattern Number: 60777A
Rating: ****
3.8 (based on 8 reviews)
Write your own review
 
 
Search All Patterns:  
spacer
 
Displaying 1-8 of 8 results
Write your own review Have you made this pattern? Send us a photo
Reviewed by blkimes on 2012-01-06 *****
I wish i could show u a pic. I only had size 8 needles and I used the same amt of stitches the directiins call for, so mine is probably smaller than the original- but I love it! This is my first felting project. I am a very beginner knitter. I kind of made my own button loop bc I didnt understand the directions- and it is just fine. I did not put my pouch in the dryer. It may not be perfectly felted- but it is not over felted either. I feel it is just right. The shape did not warp and it feels very durable. Now I need to go buy some embroidery thread and learn how to blanket stitch so I can sew this baby up! I LOVE it! Although, The felting yarn did stick a lot to my bamboo needles. That wasnt fun- but its so cute I will probably make more. :)

Great gift idea Reviewed by Paige Kirkman on 2008-11-30 *****
I have made several of these. They are quick to make and I like to personalize the back with an initial or flower. They are small, so probably not good for toiletries unless you increase the stitches and make it bigger and use snaps instead of a loop closure. I have had trouble with the loop in the directions. I find an i cord works better since a crocheted loop tends to felt completely together.

Make It Yours Purse-Swirling Spirals Reviewed by Carissa on 2008-10-12 *****
I was thinking of knitting this purse as a charity piece for homeless women to keep their personal toiletries for their own dignity. To anyone who has made this, do you think this is big enough for that purpose?

Make It Yours Purse-Swirling Spirals Reviewed by Joan Anderson on 2008-09-03 *****
I have made at least 10 of these so far and have given them as gifts. They are fast and easy to make. I make each one with different yarn and/or various colors of yarn. I have fun choosing lining material for them; some are more "formal" than others. I also look for pins or antique buttons to cover the magnetic snap I use. I prefer that over trying to get a button through a loop!
Joan Anderson

Make It Yours Purse-Swirling Spirals Reviewed by cerredwin thorson on 2008-05-06 ****
I loved the pattern. I made a few as gifts, just big enough for cell phone and wallet. Made the pattern bigger and made a clutch purse, lined with fake suede for stifness. Also changed the toggle closure for 3 snaps or velcro, the edges can curl. I will certainly make more.

Make It Yours Purse-Swirling Spirals Reviewed by cerredwin thorson on 2008-05-06 ****
Just read the other two reviews. I felt by hand not in the washer, you have more control and the yarn won't twist out of shape. I use a 3 gallon pail and a toilet plunger, use hot water and real soapy water. I do 3 or 4 at a time, same color yarn so colors dont't mix. I shape while I felt, plunge for a few minutes, take them out and check then repeat till they have felted to the right thickness. Rinse and block lightly. Don't put anything on top, it will flatten too much. Yes you plunge a bit, but it's a fun workout and you don't overfelt your creation. Have Fun!

Make It Yours Purse-Swirling Spirals Reviewed by AnD on 2008-03-03 *
this was my first attempt at felting and i'm slightly disappointed. after it came out of the wash it was shaped funny (and i know that could just be because of my washer), and the button hole fell off. i think i may try one of the crochet ones next and see if i have better results.

Make It Yours Purse-Swirling Spirals Reviewed by Lynn Spencer on 2008-02-26 *
This was my first attempt at felting so I wanted to do something fast and easy. When I attached the loop in the center of the last row, I felt like it was in the wrong place, but since I had never felted before I thought maybe the shrinkage during washing would be different than I imagined it would be - but it wasn't so if you follow the pattern according to the instructions the loop is on the wrong side. It should be in the center of on of the short ends instead of the center of the last row. Otherwise the yarn felted beautifully - I'm just disappointed that my loop is in the wrong place. Guess I'll try it again.

 
 
separator separator
Bookmark This!  separator
Sign up for our Newsletter  
separator Share This!  separator About Us separator Contact Us separator
  Font Size:   
Click to view page with standard font Click to view page with larger font Click to view page with largest font