Skip Navigation

Click for Lion Brand Yarn Home Page
Our Yarns
The LB Collection
Martha Stewart Crafts
Lion's Pride Woolspun
Vanna's Collection
Request Free Catalog
Our Yarns
Yarn by Weight
New Catalog
  • free patterns
  • special sales
  • new items
  • 15% off coupon
    US orders only
    view past newsletters   Click to view newsletters and subscription choice
Free Catalog
Lion Brand
     Yarn Studio
     Retail Store, New York, NY
Lion Brand
     Yarn Shop
     Retail Store, Colonie, NY
Lion Brand Outlet
     Retail Store, Carlstadt, NJ
Find a Store
post code:
more options   Click for more store-locator options
Home : Customer Reviews of a Pattern

Customer Reviews

Image of Knit Child's Raglan Cardigan
Knit Child's Raglan Cardigan
Pattern Number: 60488A-1
Rating: ****
3.7 (based on 11 reviews)
Write your own review
Search All Patterns:  
Displaying 1-10 of 11 results Page 1 of 2
12Display next page
Write your own review Have you made this pattern? Send us a photo
Knit Child's Raglan Cardigan Reviewed by Alison on 2014-03-26 *****
Enjoyed knitting this; knitted the main body in a mid coffee colour and the pockets, cuffs and edging in a rusty red. Looked lovely. Had a problem picking up the neck for the hood, the hood knitted up a little tight over the top section of the head, but I think that was my fault as I did not distribute the pick-up stitches evenly. I added some chunky recycled buttons in rusty red. It looked great on my friend's 3yr old little boy. Sorry no photo. :-)

Knit Child's Raglan Cardigan Reviewed by Beverly Cone on 2010-11-15 ****
I picked up 30 stitches for the hood and it seems to be coming out the correct size. I'll know more when I add on the button band and may make that 2" wide. My grandson (3) picked the pattern and the yarn from this website. Great fun.
And asked if he wanted a story or for me to knit said: "Grandma,Knit Knit Knit."
Submitted by:

Knit Child's Raglan Cardigan Reviewed by Sharon Munsey on 2010-11-10 ****
Im making the middle size. My tension sample showed I have to use needles 2mm larger than as stated in the pattern so its knitting up very quickly. The instructions are clear and all make sense (so far)

Knit Child's Raglan Cardigan Reviewed by Audrey Thiesen on 2010-11-03 *
I am really disappointed with this sweater. In theory it should be adorable...well actually mine did turn out adorable. The only problem is it doesn't fit my daughter. She's a size 4T, and I even made this sweater in the 5T-6T so it would fit her longer. It's too small!!! Yes, I checked my gauge, and yes, I used the right needle size. Oh and the instructions were horrible! I could barely follow them.

Knit Child's Raglan Cardigan Reviewed by Kristen Rigney on 2010-09-26 ***
Had some prolems with this pattern:
1. Raglan shaping looks much better if you ssk at the beginning of the row and k2 tog at the end when you make decreases.
2. Pattern calls for decreases every 5 rows, which means you would be decreasing on the wrong side every other time - doesn't look well.
3. Sleeves from the underarm are the same length for every size! I don't know about you, but my kid's arms grow.
4. I also altered the pattern to increase the depth of the hood. Not so important for an adult sweater, but very important for a kids' sweater.
5. Pockets are bulky on a kids' sweater in this weight yarn. I worked up pockets to size in regular Wool-Ease and sewed them on - looks better.
Turned out to be a cute sweater, but only after some major re-tooling of the pattern.

Knit Child's Raglan Cardigan Reviewed by Jennifer Wood on 2010-05-13 ****
Loved this easy pattern. Took a bit for me to fully understand pattern but all worked out. I didn't have enough wool to complete a hood so just knitted 2x2 rib collar. Looks fabulous & have other people asking where I got it from.

Knit Child's Raglan Cardigan Reviewed by Wilma Shea on 2009-10-16 ****
This was a nice pattern to make. It was fast. There could have been some changes made. For instance, I crocheted my loops right into the ribbing front. It looks good and seems more secure. The actual loop was only 10 stitches.

Knit Child's Raglan Cardigan Reviewed by Christine Green on 2009-05-08 ***
I am knitting this up for my grandaughter but without the pockets and I don't want the hood.
Any help with the front bands and collar (small) would be helpful.

Thanks to anyone who can help me. Christine (Australia)

Knit Child's Raglan Cardigan Reviewed by Marlene Noyes on 2008-10-04 ***
I couldn't find Wool-Ease Chunky (I know, I could have ordered it!), so I substituted Jiffy which has a very similar guage. I couldn't get my guage to work out, so I had to recalculate all the numbers. Jiffy is fuzzier and doesn't knit up as even looking as Chunky.
Since I read other reviews that said the hood was shallow, I added extra stitches - probably could have added more. I also picked up my stitches from the RS, not WS as in the pattern.
Not sure I would classify this as easy+. I've been knitting for 45 years and didn't have any problems, but I'm not sure a beginner would find this easy - things like picking up stitches and lots of construction.

Click to zoom

Knit Child's Raglan Cardigan Reviewed by AMY MCADEN on 2008-07-09 *****
This was a real crowd pleaser. I made it in larger sizes and added some artsy buttons!

separator separator
Bookmark This!  separator
Sign up for our Newsletter  
separator Share This!  separator About Us separator Contact Us separator
  Font Size:   
Click to view page with standard font Click to view page with larger font Click to view page with largest font