Skip Navigation

Click for Lion Brand Yarn Home Page
separator
Our Yarns
The LB Collection
Martha Stewart Crafts
Lion's Pride Woolspun
Vanna's Collection
Request Free Catalog
Our Yarns
Yarn by Weight
separator
New Catalog
separator
Shop
separator
  • free patterns
  • special sales
  • new items
  • 15% off coupon
    US orders only
    view past newsletters   Click to view newsletters and subscription choice
separator
Free Catalog
separator
Patterns
separator
Lion Brand
     Yarn Studio
     Retail Store, New York, NY
separator
Lion Brand
     Yarn Shop
     Retail Store, Colonie, NY
separator
Lion Brand Outlet
     Retail Store, Carlstadt, NJ
separator
Find a Store
post code:
country:
within:
more options   Click for more store-locator options
separator
Home : Customer Reviews of a Pattern
 

Customer Reviews

Image of Seed Stitch Cardigan
Seed Stitch Cardigan
Pattern Number: 70204A
Rating: *****
4.7 (based on 13 reviews)
Write your own review
 
 
Search All Patterns:  
spacer
 
Displaying 1-10 of 13 results Page 1 of 2
12Display next page
Write your own review Have you made this pattern? Send us a photo
Seed Stitch Cardigan Reviewed by dee ryan on 2013-01-25 ****
I enjoyed making this sweater. I have made it many times and it's quick and easy. I like to use non-baby colors.

Click to zoom

Seed Stitch Cardigan Reviewed by Norma Matthews on 2011-08-24 *****
I am not a very advanced knitter, but I loved making this cardigan. It was easy to knit up and it came out looking even better than the illustration. I made it in ecru with taupe trim and pearl buttons for my 4-year-old grand-daughter and have just begun a second one in ecru with dark brown trim and brass buttons for her 7 year-old sister. Since the pattern is so simple, I find I can readily enlarge it to fit the older child. Furthermore, I plan to go on and make a third version in red with navy trim and brass buttons for my 8-1/2-year-old grandson. The only caution I can offer to other knitters is to be sure to block the pieces carefully (I steamed them) before joining. The edges curl rather badly otherwise and would compromise a nice, even seaming. The trick to making this project look really professional seems to lie in getting the seaming just right. Also, when joining the contrasting collar, I found it necessary to pick up and knit the first row in the same ecru color for one row before beginning the seed stitch in the contrast color in order to round out the stair-step bind-offs at the neck. That was the only modification I had to make in the interest of getting a nice crisp finish. I can't wait to create the second and third versions of this very nice pattern.

Seed Stitch Cardigan Reviewed by Tarra Weddel on 2011-03-18 ****
Really enjoyed making this sweater. It was my first venture beyond the blankets and scarves. The only problem I had was making my seed stitches up the sides and around the neck look as nice as my bottom edges. If anyone has any advice I would love to have it!!!!

Click to zoom

Click to zoom

Seed Stitch Cardigan Reviewed by Claire Smith on 2011-02-24 *****
Lovely cardigan. knitted up very quickly and has become one of my daughter's favourites!

Seed Stitch Cardigan Reviewed by Rebekah on 2011-02-20 ****
I made two of these for my nieces. It was my first sweater. This was an easy pattern to follow. Both sweaters turned out quite nice, however this is just a reminder to measure your gauge! The first sweater was too small because I didn't watch the gauge.

Seed Stitch Cardigan Reviewed by unchienne on 2010-11-30 ****
My first project after a scarf and hat. The pattern was fairly easy to follow, but since it's listed for a beginner level, I'm a bit surprised that it didn't include some more detailed instructions, especially when dealing with the yarn overs in the seed stitch buttonhole band. Had to muddle a bit through that as everything I did threw my stitch pattern off kilter. Also, some suggestions for seams would have been nice. I used what my book called invisible vertical seam (mattress stitch?) and shoulder seam that was worked similar to a duplicate stitch across both sides. And I would have included more than just a couple of lines on seaming altogether. Again, this is supposed to be for beginners. I'm not saying there should be a tutorial for each stitch...just clarification and specifics.

However, the finished project looks nice, though I can spot a half-dozen errors (my own fault there). I don't have buttons on mine yet. I still would recommend this as a good way to break away from small projects/accessories.

Click to zoom

Seed Stitch Cardigan Reviewed by Jody Malm on 2010-09-22 *****
This was my first attempt at knitting something other than a scarf. I made this for my great niece/godchild and I had no problem at all with the directions.
Attached is a photo of her today going to preschool.

Click to zoom

Seed Stitch Cardigan Reviewed by m on 2009-12-11 *****
I really liked making this sweater - simple easy to follow instruction. Only wish it was in the round, so it didn't have so much seaming & wish the button holes came with a better button hole method. But, thought the instructions were fabulously clear - which I find very unusual in knitting patterns!

Seed Stitch Cardigan Reviewed by Pam Asbell on 2009-07-26 *****
great pattern and easy to do.

Seed Stitch Cardigan Reviewed by Sabrina on 2009-04-01 *****
Great sweater! My 2 yr old loves it. It was easy and I feel great that I made this for her. This was my first "sized" project and it turned out nice.

 
 
separator separator
Bookmark This!  separator
Sign up for our Newsletter  
separator Share This!  separator About Us separator Contact Us separator
  Font Size:   
Click to view page with standard font Click to view page with larger font Click to view page with largest font