Skip Navigation

Click for Lion Brand Yarn Home Page
Our Yarns
The LB Collection
Martha Stewart Crafts
Lion's Pride Woolspun
Vanna's Collection
Request Free Catalog
Our Yarns
Yarn by Weight
New Catalog
  • free patterns
  • special sales
  • new items
  • 15% off coupon
    US orders only
    view past newsletters   Click to view newsletters and subscription choice
Free Catalog
Lion Brand
     Yarn Studio
     Retail Store, New York, NY
Lion Brand
     Yarn Shop
     Retail Store, Colonie, NY
Lion Brand Outlet
     Retail Store, Carlstadt, NJ
Find a Store
post code:
more options   Click for more store-locator options
Home : Customer Reviews of a Pattern

Customer Reviews

Image of Speed Hook Shell Afghan
Speed Hook Shell Afghan
Pattern Number: 60751A
Rating: *****
4.5 (based on 11 reviews)
Write your own review
Search All Patterns:  
Displaying 1-10 of 11 results Page 1 of 2
12Display next page
Write your own review Have you made this pattern? Send us a photo
Speed Hook Shell Afghan Reviewed by Cheryl browder on 2012-04-16 *****
I'm working in this pattern now. I have two more ball of yarn to go. I bought 7 like the pattern call for. It is just beautiful ! But, I think the gauge is off. I never do the same pattern twice but this one I may consider making over and over again!

Speed Hook Shell Afghan Reviewed by s arenholz on 2012-01-16 *****
i made this afghan for my soon-to-be sister-in-law last winter. she lives in a very cold part of colorado. i didn't use thick and quick, i used hometown USA which was great! i used a dark pink/cream/chocolate brown stripe pattern, and in the end it looked like neopolitan ice cream!! :) it was quick and easy to make, and she loved it. i am going to try it with a bunch of double worsted weight that i have left over from other projects, totally random colors, some varigated some solid, and hopefully it turns out just as great!
this is an easy first afghan with the S hook.

Fast and Pretty Reviewed by Love Monkey on 2011-12-26 *****
I cranked this one out as a last-minute Christmas gift. Using two strands of worsted weight yarn I had lying around.

I cannot stress enough how loosely the initial chain should be made. In retrospect, I would have hooked my finger through each loop to make them all uniformly larger than I could get them just by loosely hooking them. The top edge ended up about 3 inches wider than the beginning edge.

All in all, very easy to make as once you start you'll not have to look at the instructions again until you are ready to edge. I edged mine hooking into whichever edge stitch gave the shell the right shape. The instructions state only into the sc edge stitch but sometimes I needed to modify it so the shells were more uniform. BTW, mother-in-law LOVED it. :)

Speed Hook Shell Afghan Reviewed by SABREENA KONSDORF on 2011-10-26 *****
Love this! This is the first afghan I have ever finished!

Speed Hook Shell Afghan Reviewed by Donna Godsey on 2009-10-06 *****
This is my FIRST afgan that I have finished, and it was sooo easy. I had read all the reviews beforehand and so I doubled it and it has taken me about a month to finish only working on it a few hours each week, but it has gone fairly quickly. The last two weeks I have actually been waiting for the store to get more of the color in that I used, so that did slow me down somewhat. Took me awhile to find the hook locally too and I love it! So quick.

<<< LOVE IT >>> Reviewed by MikiSaN on 2009-07-28 *****
I didn't have any Thick & Quick yarn on me nor a Speed I just used some yarn I had on hand and my biggest crochet hook (10 mm). It's so cute! I love it... but I really want to try it in the Thick & Quick with a speed hook. I'm definitely going to order the materials online (we live in Germany). Can't wait for it to come in the mail!!!

Click to zoom

Speed Hook Shell Afghan Reviewed by Lynne Dunning on 2009-02-26 *****
Very fun to make and I love working with Thick and Quick. My first time with the S hook and that was really humorous. I certainly would make this again and, of course, use Thick and Quick.

Speed Hook Shell Afghan Reviewed by Corene Seaver on 2009-01-26 ****
This was really easy and super fast. It ended up about 1 inch shorter than I meant to make it (51 inches). The edging was kind of confusing (but I get confused with crochet) but it worked out just fine. Here are a few pictures. I used very inexpensive yarn, regular worsted weight yarn, and I carried two threads at the same time.

Click to zoom

Click to zoom

Click to zoom

Click to zoom

Speed Hook Shell Afghan Reviewed by Jen Johnson on 2009-01-05 *****
I think this afghan is gorgeous! I made it in raspberry and have materials to make it again in wheat and blossom. I wish it were wider as well and I'm thinking of doubling the pattern next time. It is absolutely gorgeous as a finished afghan.

Speed Hook Shell Afghan Reviewed by Stephanie Roberts on 2008-12-29 ****
I really like how my afghan turned out, though I wish it was wider. This was my third crochet project ever and I want to make another. I used Taupe.

separator separator
Bookmark This!  separator
Sign up for our Newsletter  
separator Share This!  separator About Us separator Contact Us separator
  Font Size:   
Click to view page with standard font Click to view page with larger font Click to view page with largest font