Skip Navigation

Click for Lion Brand Yarn Home Page
separator
Our Yarns
The LB Collection
Martha Stewart Crafts
Lion's Pride Woolspun
Request Free Catalog
Our Yarns
Yarn by Weight
separator
New Catalog
separator
Shop
separator
  • free patterns
  • special sales
  • new items
  • 15% off coupon
    US orders only
    view past newsletters   Click to view newsletters and subscription choice
separator
Free Catalog
separator
Patterns
separator
Lion Brand
     Yarn Studio
     Retail Store, New York, NY
separator
Lion Brand
     Yarn Shop
     Retail Store, Colonie, NY
separator
Lion Brand Outlet
     Retail Store, Carlstadt, NJ
separator
Find a Store
post code:
country:
within:
more options   Click for more store-locator options
separator
Home : Customer Reviews of a Pattern
 

Customer Reviews

Image of Smoky Stripes Beanie Hat and Scarf
Smoky Stripes Beanie Hat and Scarf
Pattern Number: 70064
Rating: ***
3.1 (based on 18 reviews)
Write your own review
 
 
Search All Patterns:  
spacer
 
Displaying 1-10 of 18 results Page 1 of 2
12Display next page
Write your own review Have you made this pattern? Send us a photo
Smoky Stripes Beanie Hat and Scarf Reviewed by Judy Hanson on 2014-11-05 ****
I like the pattern, but would appreciate better gauge information. I could not find the specified yarn, so am using something a little lighter, and the pattern says 25 sts = about 5 inches, and I am using black, it is hard to count the stitches. Otherwise good pattern.

Good Basic Pattern to Play With! Reviewed by Tonya Dade on 2012-01-13 ****
This is a great basic pattern for a hat. I took the advice and only cast on 70 st, worked great. I also made the hat a few rows longer to cover my husband's ears. He decided he wanted the hat lined so I cast on to the bottom of the hat and connected an identical hat to the original. I worked this hat in stockinette only and put it inside the original. I thought a lining of fleece would also work. This is a good basic pattern to play around with.

Smoky Stripes Beanie Hat and Scarf Reviewed by Ashley Elliott on 2011-12-11 ***
I was on the last color, about to start decreasing when i read the reviews. Grrr... I did notice how the hat seemed to be big. So i put it on my head and it seemed big, tried it on my husbands head( who the hat is for) and it was too big. Soooooo, I had to take it all out and start again... will try with 70 stitches and hope it turns out. It was looking pretty though.

Smoky Stripes Beanie Hat and Scarf Reviewed by veronica ryan on 2011-01-21 *****
Great pattern! First time making beanie in flat pattern and it came out great! I added 4 additional rows to elongate the beanie slightly- makes a big difference.
I'm making a bunch of these to send to www.operationbeanies.org
for our troops and veterans.
thanks for an easy quick pattern.

Smoky Stripes Beanie Hat and Scarf Reviewed by Danielle Rosa on 2010-11-20 *
If you're making it for a man with a man size head or bigger, do all 100 stitches.

even still this hat is small


Smoky Stripes Beanie Hat and Scarf Reviewed by Audrey on 2010-08-06 *****
GREAT pattern. I used the needles it gives, but only used 70 stitchs, and that worked a lot better. I made it for a friend, and when I make one for my, I might use 60 or 55 stitchs.

Smoky Stripes Beanie Hat and Scarf Reviewed by KATHY RECH on 2010-01-24 *****
I made this hat and scarf and it turned out really good in blue and gold so I recommend it.

Smoky Stripes Beanie Hat and Scarf Reviewed by Rachel on 2009-12-11 ***
It fits my head nicely but I do like my hats to not stretch as much. I'm making a second one but shouldn't have cast on so many sts.

Smoky Stripes Beanie Hat and Scarf Reviewed by Alicia Wroblewski on 2009-10-08 **
I should have read the reviews first! This hat is way too big, even after checking my gauge! Luckily it knits up pretty fast, I had to go down to a size 7 needle!

Smoky Stripes Beanie Hat and Scarf Reviewed by LINDA V SHEPHERD on 2009-01-05 **
I made this hat exactly by the pattern and it was way too wide. Made a second one using size 7 needle and it is much better. Liked the pattern but will always have to make it using a smaller needle in order to get it to fit properly.

 
 
separator separator
Bookmark This!  separator
Sign up for our Newsletter  
separator Share This!  separator About Us separator Contact Us separator
  Font Size:   
Click to view page with standard font Click to view page with larger font Click to view page with largest font