Skip Navigation

Click for Lion Brand Yarn Home Page
separator
Our Yarns
The LB Collection
Martha Stewart Crafts
Lion's Pride Woolspun
Request Free Catalog
Our Yarns
Yarn by Weight
separator
New Catalog
separator
Shop
separator
  • free patterns
  • special sales
  • new items
  • 15% off coupon
    US orders only
    view past newsletters   Click to view newsletters and subscription choice
separator
Free Catalog
separator
Patterns
separator
Lion Brand
     Yarn Studio
     Retail Store, New York, NY
separator
Lion Brand
     Yarn Shop
     Retail Store, Colonie, NY
separator
Lion Brand Outlet
     Retail Store, Carlstadt, NJ
separator
Find a Store
post code:
country:
within:
more options   Click for more store-locator options
separator
Home : Customer Reviews of a Pattern
 

Customer Reviews

Image of Need for Tweed Dog Sweater
Need for Tweed Dog Sweater
Pattern Number: 60539
Rating: *****
4.4 (based on 43 reviews)
Write your own review
 
 
Search All Patterns:  
spacer
 
Displaying 1-10 of 43 results Page 1 of 5
12345Display next page
Write your own review Have you made this pattern? Send us a photo
Need for Tweed Dog Sweater Reviewed by Jenna Hager on 2014-10-26 ****
Tried making the small first but it was way too little for my 14lb Schnoodle. Then I made the medium and it was a bit too long, but that's no fault of the pattern. I knit both in one day (in Charcoal) and added a few rows of 2x2 ribbing to the collar.
He's pretty hard to sit still for a picture!

Click to zoom

Click to zoom

Need for Tweed Dog Sweater Reviewed by Melanie Haniph on 2014-04-01 *****
This was a fun and easy pattern to make for my dog - I had it finished in a day. She was in between sizes, so she can grow into the sweater a little bit. The great thing about the recommended yarn for this pattern is that it stretches, and is super easy to slip on and off the dog.

Click to zoom

Great First Project Reviewed by Susan Breslow on 2014-01-24 ****
I loved working on this, even though I tore out the stitches and started over several times. My dogs fell in between the sizes, so first it seemed too big, then too small. But it worked out fine and they looked adorable in it.

I choose Syracuse Orange yarn since the dogs are blondes and we live in a wooded area.

The area where I could have used more help was sewing the pieces together. Since I'd never sewn a knitted piece, I wasn't sure what to do. It would have been great if the pattern linked to that info.

I followed a YouTube video. It's a little lumpy at the seams, but as DH says, "The dogs don't care." In fact, they love wearing their sweaters.

Click to zoom

Click to zoom

Click to zoom

Click to zoom

Reviewed by Nicolle Fann on 2013-01-26 *****
VERY EASY & VERY FAST pattern to follow. I have made 4 of these sweaters so far. 3 XL for my German Shepherd and one M size. Because I do not like seaming I calculated where I would be connecting the under-piece and then picked up a stitch from the left side, cast on the required stitches for the bottom-piece, picked up a stitch from the right side of the top piece and just knitted back and forth picking up a stitch at each of the next rib rows on each end until it was time for the decreases. Then I reconnected at the collar and continued the pickup/connection process.
Also, I agree that this sweater would be nicer with some ribbing for a collar and possibly arms. So, I converted the first inch or two of the top piece to a 2x2 rib. For the collar of both the top and bottom, I chose not to bind off at the last row. Instead I put the stitches from the top piece on a holder until I was done with the bottom piece. Then when I was done with the last row of the bottom piece I simply continued knitting the top piece stitches that were on the collar in a 2x2 rib.
For the M size sweater I followed the instructions as written with the exception of the collar (I used my method as previously mentioned). I added the 2x2 ribbing as previously mentioned, then seamed the sides with a whip stitch between rib rows.. Looked nice. Then I picked up 16 stitches (4 st top, 4 st on R and L sides, & 4 st bottom) and knitted a 2x2 rib. Looks nice.

Need for Tweed Dog Sweater Reviewed by Melissa Mullane on 2013-01-08 *****
I made the medium for my 15# Boston Terrier due to her chest measurement. Just a few inches long so I will make again with only change in length. I loved this pattern. I have been knitting for one month and made this in 6 hours. Pattern is easy to follow. Added the following week: I forgot to add it took 1.25 skeins of yarn for the Medium. I made this pattern again in a size small -it took less than a skein and 2.5 hours. It was just a bit small for her. I'm going to try it a third time~

Need for Tweed Dog Sweater Reviewed by Rozelle Teplitsky on 2013-01-01 ****
This wasn't difficult to make except that the dog for whom I knitted it was a little heavier than the pattern. So I had to stretch it somewhat although I had the dog's dimensions.

Otherwise, it was an easy pattern.

Need for Tweed Dog Sweater Reviewed by on 2012-03-24 ****
This is a quick and easy project. I made the medium for our dog Emma. Her chest measured just under 22” under her arm pits and her back was about 17 inches - depending on were you measure her neck starting at.

It says in the directions that you can make the medium with one skein - but I ran out 3” into the underside - so I would recommend having two skeins of Thick and Quick (or whatever) since I can’t see making this with a single skein.

The things I don’t like about the project are the seaming the two pieces together - I would much rather it be knit in one piece and am trying to think how to make this on a circular needle so it is in fact seemless next time. I also don’t really like the arm and neck holes. I would love it to have a ribbed kneck instead of just a bind off edge. I was able to get it on her fine - but I think a ribbed neck would be nicer.

I could see the Underpiece being longer here too. Since Emma is a girl I am not as worried about having the underside cut away as much.

I think it’s a great first dog sweater. It knit up fast and it is machine washable and dryable.

Click to zoom

Click to zoom

Click to zoom

Click to zoom

Need for Tweed Dog Sweater Reviewed by becki bell on 2012-01-28 *****
I made the XL size for my granddaughter's goat. Perfect fit! i've made several sizes for dogs as well - easy and quick to make!

Need for Tweed Dog Sweater Reviewed by Charlene Gryszowka on 2012-01-05 *****
Made one for my daughters dog Linus and was asked to make a dew more for some friends. I love that I can make the XL in no time at all. So easy.

Click to zoom

Need for Tweed Dog Sweater Reviewed by Patti Lake on 2011-11-17 *****
I made this in a small for my toy poodle. I added a few rows of purls to the back panel to add interest since the yarn I used was a plain color.

Click to zoom

 
 
separator separator
Bookmark This!  separator
Sign up for our Newsletter  
separator Share This!  separator About Us separator Contact Us separator
  Font Size:   
Click to view page with standard font Click to view page with larger font Click to view page with largest font