Skip Navigation

Click for Lion Brand Yarn Home Page
separator
Our Yarns
The LB Collection
Martha Stewart Crafts
Lion's Pride Woolspun
Request Free Catalog
Our Yarns
Yarn by Weight
separator
New Catalog
separator
Shop
separator
  • free patterns
  • special sales
  • new items
  • 15% off coupon
    US orders only
    view past newsletters   Click to view newsletters and subscription choice
separator
Free Catalog
separator
Patterns
separator
Lion Brand
     Yarn Studio
     Retail Store, New York, NY
separator
Lion Brand
     Yarn Shop
     Retail Store, Colonie, NY
separator
Lion Brand Outlet
     Retail Store, Carlstadt, NJ
separator
Find a Store
post code:
country:
within:
more options   Click for more store-locator options
separator
Home : Customer Reviews of a Pattern
 

Customer Reviews

Image of King of the Beasts (Lion) Dog Sweater
King of the Beasts (Lion) Dog Sweater
Pattern Number: 60475
Rating: *****
4.8 (based on 10 reviews)
Write your own review
 
 
Search All Patterns:  
spacer
 
Displaying 1-10 of 10 results
Write your own review Have you made this pattern? Send us a photo
King of the Beasts (Lion) Dog Sweater Reviewed by lori on 2011-11-13 ****
Great Pattern. I crocheted the neck and armholes - much easier that knitting on four needles. I also added two crocheted ears within the mane. My labradoode, Binx, looked so cute for Halloween.

Click to zoom

Click to zoom

King of the Beasts (Lion) Dog Sweater Reviewed by Jennie Miller on 2011-01-07 *****
This was a very fun project to make. Pattern was easy to follow and worked up quickly.

Click to zoom

King of the Beasts (Lion) Dog Sweater Reviewed by Diana on 2010-10-26 *****
OMG This is the cutest costume. My lab will be wearing it on Halloweeen. It was a quick knit and directions were good, I was confused on the sewing but I figured it out.Left out the armhole/sleeve part and didn't use the mohair because I didn't find it. I added 10 rows onto the neck/mane becuase I wanted to make sure it stayed on her head and not like a turtle neck. But if it's too cold out she will have a sweater to wear, very functional. Super cute, lots of compliments.

Click to zoom

King of the Beasts (Lion) Dog Sweater Reviewed by Karla Ekelberry on 2010-06-16 *****
This pattern is so cute I am thinking of making one for my cousin's dog Maxwell(also known as max, max, or my favorite.Sir Maxwell. He willl look so cuten in it.

King of the Beasts (Lion) Dog Sweater Reviewed by lynette on 2010-04-08 *****
This knitted up so quickly! I substituted a few colors of eyelash-type yarn in the mane, and it was fabulous (hilarious, actually).
My dog is a small poodle, so the collar was a little short for his long neck. Otherwise, this is a stunning piece to a canine wardrobe, and a really fun gift to give!

King of the Beasts (Lion) Dog Sweater Reviewed by L. Jack on 2009-09-24 ****
Nugget, just under 9 lbs., is charcoal grey so changed the colors but went with pattern yarn type suggestions. One ball of the heavy body yarn was plenty for him. Had to size down the size small and slightly increase the chest to fit the deeper poodle/shitzu chest. Skip the dp needles and just crochet around front legs, much easier. Crochet around neck to finish, also much easier. Make the head/mane as a separate piece! It gets heavy for a little dog; you will want to remove it pretty quickly. Tied the tail on so can be removed to wash. Doubled the yarn in the tassel for tail.
Makes up very quickly!

King of the Beasts (Lion) Dog Sweater Reviewed by Linda Reale on 2009-02-12 *****
This is an adorable patternand very easy to make. I made mine a little differently. I knit the armholes separately and sewed them on. I also knit a normal collar just up to his neck and made a separate headband for the mane, leaving 3" between earholes so his ears could stick out; put a snap on the back for the tail so the mane and tail can be removed; that way the sweater can be worn throughout the winter. This sweater/costume couldn't be any cuter!! Thank you for sharing it!!

Click to zoom

King of the Beasts (Lion) Dog Sweater Reviewed by Natalie Green on 2008-12-07 *****
I don't know how to knit in the round, so I knitted a shawl collar in the rib pattern by knitting an increase to make a trapezoid, attached that to the main body and added some fringe to the collar (and some eyelash yarn). The nice surprise about that is that the collar folds down off his ears. My min pin is now a lot warmer and my lab is a little jealous.

Click to zoom

Click to zoom

Click to zoom

Click to zoom

King of the Beasts (Lion) Dog Sweater Reviewed by Kristina Goodin on 2008-10-28 *****
can someone please convert this to a crochet pattern i wanna make for my dog for halloween and this is the cutiest i have found

King of the Beasts (Lion) Dog Sweater Reviewed by Kay Kauffman on 2008-02-14 *****
This worked up very quickly and the small size fit my 13 lb dog perfectly. I made the tail and mane detachable because the sweater is so warm and can be worn everyday. I would also say that only 1 skein of the main color is necessary for the small size, but the pattern calls for 3, which would be for the largest size. (I used the extra 2 balls that I had purchased to knit a matching scarf for myself!)When you read what supplies are neccesary note that in addition to the regular size 13 needles, you will need dbl points to do the collar and cuffs.

 
 
separator separator
Bookmark This!  separator
Sign up for our Newsletter  
separator Share This!  separator About Us separator Contact Us separator
  Font Size:   
Click to view page with standard font Click to view page with larger font Click to view page with largest font