Skip Navigation

Click for Lion Brand Yarn Home Page
separator
Our Yarns
The LB Collection
Martha Stewart Crafts
Request Free Catalog
Our Yarns
Yarn by Weight
separator
New Catalog
separator
Shop
separator
  • free patterns
  • special sales
  • new items
  • 15% off coupon
    US orders only
    view past newsletters   Click to view newsletters and subscription choice
separator
Free Catalog
separator
Patterns
separator
Lion Brand
     Yarn Studio
     Retail Store, New York, NY
separator
Lion Brand
     Yarn Shop
     Retail Store, Colonie, NY
separator
Lion Brand Outlet
     Retail Store, Carlstadt, NJ
separator
Find a Store
post code:
country:
within:
more options   Click for more store-locator options
separator
Home : Customer Reviews of a Pattern
 

Customer Reviews

Image of Cable Capelet
Cable Capelet
Pattern Number: 60486A
Rating: ***
2.9 (based on 24 reviews)
Write your own review
 
 
Search All Patterns:  
spacer
 
Displaying 1-10 of 24 results Page 1 of 3
123Display next page
Write your own review Have you made this pattern? Send us a photo
Cable Capelet Reviewed by Holly on 2014-10-14 ****
Made this used super bulkey one strand. Came beautiful but it is small. Going to add a few extra inches on top to add a finished look

Cable Capelet Reviewed by Mandy on 2012-12-11 *
It turns out rather lumpy and awful. I don't think it's wearable.

Cable Capelet Reviewed by Elaine Beason on 2011-08-13 ***
I love this pattern except I initially used the old uncorrected pattern and had to start over after about 1/2 way through. Be sure to get the corrections. Corrections make 100% difference.

Cable Capelet Reviewed by Sara Gallaher on 2011-03-02 **
I was so excited to try this pattern, but had a lot of difficulty with it. After reading reviews, I knew I was going to have to make it bigger than the original pattern. I used size 15 needles, and bulky weight (6) yarn, and ended up casting on 192 stitches, adding 20 rows, and slightly altering the ending to get the fit that I wanted. In the end I got a caplet that I love, but not without some trial and error and - ultimately - wasted time.

Cable Capelet Reviewed by Martha Baugh on 2011-01-14 **
It's pretty but...it was too bulky. Double strands of the yarn was too difficult to work. I didn't finish the project.

Cable Capelet Reviewed by melinda wynn on 2010-11-08 ****
I knew as soon as I looked at the model this cape would never fit me. She is painfully thin and probably an x-small. For us real women the extra 24 stitches are needed and because the poncho in the picture didn't look finished, actually sloppy along the edges, I added 2" of stockingnet stitch as well before I started the cabling and added a little extra at the collar for a "rolled" affect. Also, Homespun is not a favorite of mine so I used the Wool Ease Chuncky. The result was a tighter stitch and too me a much more sophisticated look.

Cable Capelet Reviewed by Lesley Goodman on 2010-05-21 *****
This turned out so stylish (I added the extra stitches and 10 extra rows per suggestion of other reviewers)! I love it! After several tries I had to break down and get stitch markers because I kept getting interrupted and lost count. Great introduction to cables. I plan to make more for friends and family.

Cable Capelet Reviewed by Jennifer Sorensen on 2010-02-12 *****
I loved this pattern. I also tried it with two strands held together and without the cabling. Each turned out great!

Click to zoom

Click to zoom

Cable Capelet Reviewed by Alicia on 2009-11-28 ****
I loved the photo. Luckily when I tried the pattern, it had already been revised. But it was quite small. So I ripped it up and started again.

I added 24 stitches, and 10 additional rows. I know one of the reviews suggested adding 20, but I felt it was enough with 10.

The result after the revisions was great. I have now made 2 and am working on a 3rd. This will make a great gift for anyone.

Cable Capelet Reviewed by Christin Curran on 2009-09-19 *****
I finished this in two evenings--and it is so cute! I'm going to make this for several twenty-something friends. (I was able to make mine with only one skein, but barely).

The new pattern is accurate and straight-forward.

 
 
separator separator
Bookmark This!  separator
Sign up for our Newsletter  
separator Share This!  separator About Us separator Contact Us separator
  Font Size:   
Click to view page with standard font Click to view page with larger font Click to view page with largest font