Skip Navigation

Click for Lion Brand Yarn Home Page
separator
Our Yarns
The LB Collection
Martha Stewart Crafts
Lion's Pride Woolspun
Vanna's Collection
Request Free Catalog
Our Yarns
Yarn by Weight
separator
New Catalog
separator
Shop
separator
  • free patterns
  • special sales
  • new items
  • 15% off coupon
    US orders only
    view past newsletters   Click to view newsletters and subscription choice
separator
Free Catalog
separator
Patterns
separator
Lion Brand
     Yarn Studio
     Retail Store, New York, NY
separator
Lion Brand
     Yarn Shop
     Retail Store, Colonie, NY
separator
Lion Brand Outlet
     Retail Store, Carlstadt, NJ
separator
Find a Store
post code:
country:
within:
more options   Click for more store-locator options
separator
Home : Customer Reviews of a Pattern
 

Customer Reviews

Image of Amigurumi 'Shelly' Girl Doll
Amigurumi 'Shelly' Girl Doll
Pattern Number: 60658
Rating: *****
4.4 (based on 8 reviews)
Write your own review
 
 
Search All Patterns:  
spacer
 
Displaying 1-8 of 8 results
Write your own review Have you made this pattern? Send us a photo
Amigurumi 'Shelly' Girl Doll Reviewed by julia Neenan on 2013-06-11 ****
I enjoyed this project. Really cute doll, but I can't seem to get the head attached so it doesn't flop. The scarf helped to stabilize it. I made her with multicolors of yarn to match a baby blanket I had just finished. It will be an awesome gift.

Amigurumi 'Shelly' Girl Doll Reviewed by robbalina on 2012-12-01 ****
this pattern was pretty asy. only part i had trouble with was the sewing!!! ugh. i have no idea how to sew lol. i ended up turning my head inside out because i wasnt sure wish side to use and its on wrong. but still turned out pretty cute for my first try!

Click to zoom

Click to zoom

Click to zoom

Amigurumi 'Shelly' Girl Doll Reviewed by Michele on 2012-10-23 ****
The doll was very easy to make and came out really cute. I don't have a ton of crochet experience either. I used thick yarn to embroider the eyes and used brown yarn for the hair. A previous commenter indicated she latch-hooked "hair" with yarn...I like that idea too.

The only thing I had a hard time with was the hat. I did it about 4 times. It's a little big. The head may be a little smaller because of the thinner yarn I used for the face. I'm not sure if I was going in the correct 'back loop' and it took a couple tries to figure out that Row 4 uses sc instead of hdc. Also, I added a couple more rows at the end with the contrast color instead of just one the pattern calls for. I think adding a little crocheted flower or two to the hat would be adorable too (for Shelly).

I am definitely making more. Fun, easy, and cute little gifts for my nieces for Christmas. Got more pretty-colored yarn at the store today :)

Thanks for the pattern!!

Click to zoom

Amigurumi 'Shelly' Girl Doll Reviewed by Lauren Skar on 2011-10-18 *****
This was a lot of fun and the doll is so cute. I crocheted the hat so it can come off and attached yarn for hair instead of using the fun fur stuff.

Click to zoom

Amigurumi 'Shelly' Girl Doll Reviewed by Audrey Diehl on 2010-02-27 ****
This pattern was a big hit with my family! I found this to be a very cute and easy pattern. Sewing all the pieces together can be tedious though. I made 2 'Shelly Dolls', one for me and one for my granddaughter. My daughter-in-law wants a 'Mike and Meghan' set, which I will start on tonight.

Click to zoom

Amigurumi 'Shelly' Girl Doll Reviewed by Jessica on 2010-02-01 *****
I made the "Shelly" doll and loved it! I had more trouble with the arms and legs than anything because I have difficulty going in rounds in such a small space. I still haven't attached the feet.
I didn't like the short hair the pattern called for, so I sewed brown yarn around what would be the hair line and then latch hooked her hair starting at the neck and working my way up. Some websites I found suggested making a "wig cap" but I worked directly to the doll's head without difficulty...it just took some time. I used Vanna's Choice Chocolate and it tooks about a half skein for all of it...it's alot of hair!

Click to zoom

Amigurumi 'Shelly' Girl Doll Reviewed by Shawnette Richey on 2008-10-22 ****
I really loved this project. It was my first amigurumi attempt. I made this pair for my five year old daughter for Christmas last year and she just loved it. It was a lot easier than I anticipated but I did not enjoy the sewing.

Amigurumi 'Shelly' Girl Doll Reviewed by Heather on 2008-03-08 *****
I really enjoyed making this doll. It was one of my first projects. I made it using different moves because I didn't know how to do all of the different chains yet and I'm sure my gauge was way off, and it still came out looking like the picture, so that to me makes this a great project for anyone to do no matter the skill, it really is EASY when other projects on here say it's easy and it should be rated a little higher.

 
 
separator separator
Bookmark This!  separator
Sign up for our Newsletter  
separator Share This!  separator About Us separator Contact Us separator
  Font Size:   
Click to view page with standard font Click to view page with larger font Click to view page with largest font