Skip Navigation

Click for Lion Brand Yarn Home Page
separator
Our Yarns
The LB Collection
Martha Stewart Crafts
Lion's Pride Woolspun
Request Free Catalog
Our Yarns
Yarn by Weight
separator
New Catalog
separator
Shop
separator
  • free patterns
  • special sales
  • new items
  • 15% off coupon
    US orders only
    view past newsletters   Click to view newsletters and subscription choice
separator
Free Catalog
separator
Patterns
separator
Lion Brand
     Yarn Studio
     Retail Store, New York, NY
separator
Lion Brand
     Yarn Shop
     Retail Store, Colonie, NY
separator
Lion Brand Outlet
     Retail Store, Carlstadt, NJ
separator
Find a Store
post code:
country:
within:
more options   Click for more store-locator options
separator
Home : Customer Reviews of a Pattern
 

Customer Reviews

Image of Hand-Knit Danbury Hooded Sweater Jacket
Hand-Knit Danbury Hooded Sweater Jacket
Pattern Number: 60588
Rating: ****
3.3 (based on 15 reviews)
Write your own review
 
 
Search All Patterns:  
spacer
 
Displaying 1-10 of 15 results Page 1 of 2
12Display next page
Write your own review Have you made this pattern? Send us a photo
Reviewed by Christina Olson on 2015-05-22 *
Followed the pattern and used everything it called for and the sweater was way too big! What an embarrassment!

Hand-Knit Danbury Hooded Sweater Jacket Reviewed by olivia on 2014-08-20 *
I agree with a previous reviewer. I knit this pattern in a medium and it turned out huge. After putting that much work into it, I was disappointed.

Hand-Knit Danbury Hooded Sweater Jacket Reviewed by Maike Hess on 2013-11-10 *
I knitted this, and used the medium size directions as this is the SMALLEST of sizes, and found that it was HUMUNGO! Medium size would fit a size 18-20 woman's. I'm sure the size Lg. and size XL would fit a small airplane.....but don't quote me on that as I did not knit those sizes.
I am an experienced knitter and checked my gauge beforehand, used the size knitting needles as stated, and used the size yarn required. It was correct.
At any rate, I ended up getting everything except the hood finished, and started sewing the pieces together, only to realize that these dimensions are WAY TOO BIG! I'm a size 8-10 women's...So I ended up ripping it apart, and will try it with my own size stitching. I will let you know what those new starting stitches are for 8-10 women's, and send along the finished picture as well.
Also, as a commentator stated in an earlier post, she is right in saying the hood directions are grossly incorrect. They do not make any sense. I will reconfigure them to make sense.
The main directions for front, back, and arms are accurate and easy to follow. The hood directions are vague and difficult for most knitters to follow.
All in all, I can see where this is a very lovely sweater/coat for colder climates. I plan on lining mine with fleece for added warmth as I spend a lot of time working outdoors.

Hand-Knit Danbury Hooded Sweater Jacket Reviewed by Denise Brady on 2013-10-22 **
The sizing for hand knitting is WAY too big. I'm not small, but it is huge. I am an experienced knitter.

Also, the hood instructions make no sense. I do believe you need to knit 2 panels.

Good style, horrible directions and WRONG with the hood piece

Hand-Knit Danbury Hooded Sweater Jacket Reviewed by gail johnson on 2011-11-01 *****
Very easy to do..Beautiful..I did mine in charcoal..

Hand-Knit Danbury Hooded Sweater Jacket Reviewed by Marita Jeffrey on 2011-05-26 ****
My girlfriend and I are each making this sweater on the loom. We were so excited to knit this on the loom. However, we have found the loom instructions have NOT been complete and are NOT helpful at all. I am a beginner and would have NOT been able to make this sweater, but because she is experienced, we have struggled through. We have had to come to this pattern (needle knit) to make sense of it. We will be posting pictures when we are done, but we can tell you, the small is VERY VERY SMALL!! She is now trying to put her sweater together and we are confused on the shoulder seam. There are NO instructions on the loom sweater explaining how to sew the side seams or how many inches(5")!!! Anyway, we will be posting pictures. If anyone has any help, things you ran into like we have, assembling this sweater, please let us know!! Will be posting lightweight black and cream sweaters soon for you to see and will type the help you might need!!

Hand-Knit Danbury Hooded Sweater Jacket Reviewed by Catherine Sanborn on 2011-01-22 *****
Easy to knit for a nice warm coat for up-north winters.

Hand-Knit Danbury Hooded Sweater Jacket Reviewed by ANNETTA W BARTON on 2010-10-11 *****
I love this pattern. It was very easy to knit and it fits perfectly. I lined mine with flannel and it's very warm. It knits up really quickly and easy to sew together. I plan to knit another one exactly like it soon.

Hand-Knit Danbury Hooded Sweater Jacket Reviewed by Patricia on 2010-01-13 *****
Absolutely loved this warm & cuddly sweater. Great for cold Irish weather! Did not have problem with curling.

Hand-Knit Danbury Hooded Sweater Jacket Reviewed by Wayne Trusler on 2009-10-11 *****
Nice and warm & & with a HOOD!!!
Totally Awesome!!!

 
 
separator separator
Bookmark This!  separator
Sign up for our Newsletter  
separator Share This!  separator About Us separator Contact Us separator
  Font Size:   
Click to view page with standard font Click to view page with larger font Click to view page with largest font