Skip Navigation

Click for Lion Brand Yarn Home Page
separator
Our Yarns
The LB Collection
Martha Stewart Crafts
Lion's Pride Woolspun
Vanna's Collection
Request Free Catalog
Our Yarns
Yarn by Weight
separator
New Catalog
separator
Shop
separator
  • free patterns
  • special sales
  • new items
  • 15% off coupon
    US orders only
    view past newsletters   Click to view newsletters and subscription choice
separator
Free Catalog
separator
Patterns
separator
Lion Brand
     Yarn Studio
     Retail Store, New York, NY
separator
Lion Brand
     Yarn Shop
     Retail Store, Colonie, NY
separator
Lion Brand Outlet
     Retail Store, Carlstadt, NJ
separator
Find a Store
post code:
country:
within:
more options   Click for more store-locator options
separator
Home : Customer Reviews of a Pattern
 

Customer Reviews

Image of Elegant Comfort Shawl
Elegant Comfort Shawl
Pattern Number: 60392-K
Rating: ****
3.8 (based on 9 reviews)
Write your own review
 
 
Search All Patterns:  
spacer
 
Displaying 1-9 of 9 results
Write your own review Have you made this pattern? Send us a photo
Elegant Comfort Shawl Reviewed by cara nurnberg on 2015-05-15 *****
Simply simple and gorgeous. I made mine in the Moonlight Mohair Rainbow Falls and the result was magical. The metallic flecks catch the light at thousands of points!

Elegant Comfort Shawl Reviewed by Janet Ruckel on 2014-07-02 *****
I used Homespun Anniversary Edition Wild Fire (3 skeins) for this shawl. Using Homespun gave it a soft feel unlike the suggested yarn. I made fringe but knotted every end to prevent fraying. I am giving this to a friend as a prayer shawl. The 3K3P pattern on one side was easy enough to do and gave it a subtle pattern that is quite nice.

Elegant Comfort Shawl Reviewed by Helen on 2013-04-20 ***
I followed the pattern instructions and yes, if you're interested in a seed stitch sort of pattern - you will NOT see this appear following the written pattern here. As some reviewers have said, you will get a ribbing effect. The fabric has a lovely stretch but it is not what I desired. I ended up ripping out the yarn and will start again using either garter or seed stitch to create a FLAT shawl fabric.

Elegant Comfort Shawl Reviewed by Lois Abbiate on 2010-03-01 *****
this comfort shawl i have made many times. i use coulor waves and moomnlight mohair and the contrast is lovely. i do three sets of the established pattern with the colour wavs and 1 set of th epattern with the mohair. gets lots of ohs and ahs!

Elegant Comfort Shawl Reviewed by PATRICIA PETERSON on 2010-01-30 ***
I made this shawl from a kit you sent me. I think the shawl is beautiful to look at but uncomfortable to wear. It scratches.

Elegant Comfort Shawl Reviewed by Frances Craft on 2009-02-27 **
For the comments regarding the pattern. This pattern is knit in the manner that prayer shawls are knit. Meaning, it is done in a pattern of 3's. There is significance to the odd number of cast on stitches and the pattern of 3's in the Prayer Shawl and/or Comfort Shawl. I believe the pattern is meant for that purpose. If you are doing this for other purposes of course people can change the pattern.

My objection to the pattern using this yarn is the lack of softness. All prayer or comfort shawls are ALSWAYS done in a soft yarn., ie, Homespun (in fact they have an entire book of patterns using Homespun) or Vanna's Choice if you choose to use it or any very soft yarn you like. Though remember if you use a baby weight soft yarn you would really have to change the pattern and number of stitches. I've tried out the baby yarns and prayer shawls or comfort shawls are better done in a bulky weight yarn - soft, or a very soft acrylic yarn such as Vanna's choice

Elegant Comfort Shawl Reviewed by Cynthia Markell on 2008-09-19 **
I have knit scarves in the Midnight Mohair yarn and I found the yarn to be scratchy because of the metallic strand that runs through the fiber strands.

Also, the Trinity Stitch is not worth the effort and a line gets created when you switch between the 3 knit stitches and the 3 purl stitches.

What I recommend, and I have done this two times, is to knit around 1 1/2 inches in seed stitch and then knit 1 1/2 inches in stockinette stitch. This is easy and the look is always gorgeous!

Cynthia in Longmeadow, Massachusetts

Elegant Comfort Shawl Reviewed by Denise Griffin on 2008-04-24 *****
This pattern is also known as the "Trinity Stitch". I like this pattern when knitting prayer shawls. It is a nice warming style shawl. -Denise/Alabama

Elegant Comfort Shawl Reviewed by sue on 2008-02-08 ****
This is a beautiful shawl but it is very thick and long! A small person would drown in it. It sheds too!

 
 
separator separator
Bookmark This!  separator
Sign up for our Newsletter  
separator Share This!  separator About Us separator Contact Us separator
  Font Size:   
Click to view page with standard font Click to view page with larger font Click to view page with largest font