Skip Navigation

Click for Lion Brand Yarn Home Page
separator
Our Yarns
The LB Collection
Martha Stewart Crafts
Request Free Catalog
Our Yarns
Yarn by Weight
separator
New Catalog
separator
Shop
separator
  • free patterns
  • special sales
  • new items
  • 15% off coupon
    US orders only
    view past newsletters   Click to view newsletters and subscription choice
separator
Free Catalog
separator
Patterns
separator
Lion Brand
     Yarn Studio
     Retail Store, New York, NY
separator
Lion Brand
     Yarn Shop
     Retail Store, Colonie, NY
separator
Lion Brand Outlet
     Retail Store, Carlstadt, NJ
separator
Find a Store
post code:
country:
within:
more options   Click for more store-locator options
separator
Home : Customer Reviews of a Pattern
 

Customer Reviews

Image of Fast Finish Throw
Fast Finish Throw
Pattern Number: 60045A
Rating: *****
4.3 (based on 15 reviews)
Write your own review
 
 
Search All Patterns:  
spacer
 
Displaying 1-10 of 15 results Page 1 of 2
12Display next page
Write your own review Have you made this pattern? Send us a photo
Fast Finish Throw Reviewed by Elke Mullins on 2013-12-01 *****
Loved the look of this the first second I seen it. Working on my second one now.

Been getting allot of "Ooooo I want one of those".

Click to zoom

Fast Finish Throw Reviewed by Pamela Leigh on 2013-02-12 ****
I just completed this throw. It is a super easy pattern. However, there was a point where I felt I was spending more time trying to control the yarn than actually knitting. Once I finally got the yarn under control, things went much easier. My only complaint/concern is the yarn ends. This is such a big/loose knit combined with a fairly slippery yarn that it had me not trusting the weaving in of the ends. For the first time EVER, I tied the yarn in knots as needed. I would really like to know what others did regarding the yarn ends. I am thinking of making a second throw and using the method someone else mentioned that results in no wrong side of the throw and no curled edges. But, I don't know if I want to tackle this again until I feel confident about the yarn ends. Very attractive finished product. A bit weighty, but snuggly and warm.

Fast Finish Throw Reviewed by christine guenther on 2012-10-05 *****
I made several of these blankets as Christmas gifts last year - one neighbor family fights over who gets to sleep under it, one mother-in-law says it's the "go to sleep" blanket for whoever needs a nap. They are very easy to make, and quite quick. I have skipped the fringe, though. I just bought a bunch of "ends" at the store to make more as gifts for this Christmas!!!

Fast Finish Throw Reviewed by Barb on 2012-01-31 *****
This was an amazingly quick and easy project. I bought the yarn last night and was done in about 5 hours. I wish the fringe wouldn't fray so much though. I can't wait to make these for other people. (I used montana sky, colonial, lagoon and olive to make one that reminds me of the ocean)

Click to zoom

Fast Finish Throw Reviewed by Sandy Tello on 2011-07-01 *****
Fun gift for those college students in university colors. Since it was difficult to do on 14" needles, strongly suggest doing on circular needles.

Click to zoom

Click to zoom

Click to zoom

Fast Finish Throw Reviewed by Helen Rieck on 2010-03-28 *
the pattern is very easy, however, the speed stix are the worst, to short to hold all the stiches, very hard to use and the work comes out very uneven, i have knitted for most of my 60 plus years this is the worst. i will welcome any suggestions.

Fast Finish Throw Reviewed by Julie on 2009-12-09 *****
This was my very first knitting project and it was so much easier than I anticipated! I found the needles easy to work with once I got the hang of their size. I made the throw for my Grandma for Christmas and finished it in a little over a month (just doing a few rows when I had a minute or two). I am a huge fan of the speed stix. I would absolutely recommend this project to any beginning knitter. The trick for me was rolling all four yarns into one big ball to help keep everything together while I worked.
I left off the fringe since I didn't like the unraveled look. I can't wait to give it to my Grandma!

Fast Finish Throw Reviewed by Bonnie Sharpless on 2008-12-17 ****
I have made a total of eight different Speed Stix afghans over the past year. I made the first one for myself and found it so quick and easy that I made seven more for xmas presents next week. I made some variations to them, like doing a basket-weave on one of them, or k3, p2 stripes on another. This color combo is my favorite.

These are very easy to make, and for a beginner, they're great because you can see your progress so quickly. They do take quite a bit longer than the six hours, though, if only because, for me at least, your hands get cramped from the big needles and you have to put them down. But I would do an hour at a time every few days and just finished the last one the other day.

For as open a weave as they have, they're really surprisingly warm and heavy.

Click to zoom

Fast Finish Throw Reviewed by Angela M Gaither on 2008-12-10 ****
The throw knitted up quite quickly. I am a very experienced knitter and did not get the hang of using the big needles until the 3 or 4 row. I think the key is knit loosley, do not fight with it. I think the fringe looks longer on the picture. I set the throw aside for many months dreading the fringe. It took about three hours watching a long movie which was perfect. I will make this again, wider and using solid colors.

Fast Finish Throw Reviewed by Sarah Anderson on 2008-11-17 ***
I wanted to make this throw for my friend for Christmas and there's no way I'm going to get it finished by then (it's November 17th). What I have done is beautiful (I used shades of blue) but it is definitely NOT a beginner's pattern. Using four yarns is difficult to manage, and the speed sticks aren't so speedy. They're also too short for so much yarn and so many stitches. I hope that someday I'll finish this blanket, but I would not recommend it for beginners.

 
 
separator separator
Bookmark This!  separator
Sign up for our Newsletter  
separator Share This!  separator About Us separator Contact Us separator
  Font Size:   
Click to view page with standard font Click to view page with larger font Click to view page with largest font