Skip Navigation

Click for Lion Brand Yarn Home Page
Our Yarns
The LB Collection
Martha Stewart Crafts
Lion's Pride Woolspun
Vanna's Collection
Request Free Catalog
Our Yarns
Yarn by Weight
New Catalog
  • free patterns
  • special sales
  • new items
  • 15% off coupon
    US orders only
    view past newsletters   Click to view newsletters and subscription choice
Free Catalog
Lion Brand
     Yarn Studio
     Retail Store, New York, NY
Lion Brand
     Yarn Shop
     Retail Store, Colonie, NY
Lion Brand Outlet
     Retail Store, Carlstadt, NJ
Find a Store
post code:
more options   Click for more store-locator options
Home : Customer Reviews of a Pattern

Customer Reviews

Image of Purple and Green Monster Wig
Purple and Green Monster Wig
Pattern Number: 60443
Rating: ***
3.0 (based on 9 reviews)
Write your own review
Search All Patterns:  
Displaying 1-9 of 9 results
Write your own review Have you made this pattern? Send us a photo
Purple and Green Monster Wig Reviewed by Tammy Johnson on 2013-11-01 ****
I originally made this wig for spirit week at my son's school,tigers, but my husband wore it this year for Halloween. Pattern was easy to follow. Changing the colors and yarns a round was a bit tricky. All in all an excellent project for Halloween. I give it 4stars

Click to zoom

Monster Wig Reviewed by Ali Flear on 2010-10-15 ***
i used medium wieght yarn and a much bigger hook (7mm) i sc into every space and in to every dc then on the final row every so often ( i wasnt counting) i sc2tg to make it tight. the base fits my head with a bun in my hair and that is what i had wanted...would have been easier if it was written better...but i enjoyed it...took about an hour to do the base and an entire night to get the hair on

Purple and Green Monster Wig Reviewed by Linda Tinney on 2010-09-14 *****
I made this wig twice, once in the monster colors and once in the pink and red colors. It was incredible. My grandkids had a fit over it, even my daughter wore it for a while for Halloween. It was totally eye-popping and all our neighbors loved it. After I crocheted the base, everyone helped cut the yarn strips and attached the "hair". It kept us all busy and it was fun working together.

Purple and Green Monster Wig Reviewed by Amy Raslevich on 2010-08-24 ***
I used a worsted weight for the base/cap which did not stretch as much as the microspun; I had to adjust the single crochet row to be bigger. I put a single crochet into each double crochet, and one single crochet into each chain two space, giving the base a bit more room. This was a nice, quick pattern which is pretty flexible to use, given that I made the wig, braided it, and voila, Rapunzel.

Purple and Green Monster Wig Reviewed by Kat Willey on 2008-10-27 **
There were a few instructions left out, like when you make the first 8 dc, you need to join with a slip stitch (I assume) and something about it didn't seem to work for me, like the fact that 28 sitiches around the bottom is supposed to fit around someone's head. I fudged the pattern a little and ended up with 56 around the bottom to make it fit. I would NOT recomend for beginners, but if you know what you're doing, it isn't too bad. Maybe intermediate. The wig also ends up being HUGE if you hook yarn in every space. However, my little sis loved it regardless. I used brown and purple for her 'gothic cheerleader' costume.

Click to zoom

Purple and Green Monster Wig Reviewed by Crystal Muirhead on 2008-10-03 ****
It was easy! Attaching the homespun took a while but was easily accomplished in 2 nights of TV. I made mine in shade of pink to wear for the Race for the Cure. Now a team mate wants one...I will crochet the base but she is going to have to attach the yarn! Fun project. I have very short hair and it hasn't fallen off yet!

Purple and Green Monster Wig Reviewed by Rena Carlson Rasmussen on 2008-10-02 ****
My husband shaves his head, but needed rocker hair for "Rock Band." Enter: yarn wig! The pattern was easy. In fact, I made the base and started adding the hair, and he finished it. He decided he wanted blue and black with a wicked white streak. Very cool... By adding rows or changing gauge you can change the fit. When he's rocking out, he can loose his hair, but it usually stays put. :)

Purple and Green Monster Wig Reviewed by Kathleen Acampora on 2008-09-19 *
What does "fiddly" mean? I want to make this for Halloween, but don't want it falling off and being "fiddly". Looks like you can make it fit by adjusting the directions.

Purple and Green Monster Wig Reviewed by miceter on 2008-03-12 *
it was fiddly and it would fall off if you knocked it.

separator separator
Bookmark This!  separator
Sign up for our Newsletter  
separator Share This!  separator About Us separator Contact Us separator
  Font Size:   
Click to view page with standard font Click to view page with larger font Click to view page with largest font