Skip Navigation

Click for Lion Brand Yarn Home Page
separator
Our Yarns
The LB Collection
Martha Stewart Crafts
Lion's Pride Woolspun
Request Free Catalog
Our Yarns
Yarn by Weight
separator
New Catalog
separator
Shop
separator
  • free patterns
  • special sales
  • new items
  • 15% off coupon
    US orders only
    view past newsletters   Click to view newsletters and subscription choice
separator
Free Catalog
separator
Patterns
separator
Lion Brand
     Yarn Studio
     Retail Store, New York, NY
separator
Lion Brand
     Yarn Shop
     Retail Store, Colonie, NY
separator
Lion Brand Outlet
     Retail Store, Carlstadt, NJ
separator
Find a Store
post code:
country:
within:
more options   Click for more store-locator options
separator
Home : Customer Reviews of a Pattern
 

Customer Reviews

Image of Fisherman Shrug
Fisherman Shrug
Pattern Number: 50718
Rating: ***
3.1 (based on 30 reviews)
Write your own review
 
 
Search All Patterns:  
spacer
 
Displaying 1-10 of 30 results Page 1 of 3
123Display next page
Write your own review Have you made this pattern? Send us a photo
Fisherman Shrug Reviewed by cynthia salamon on 2014-08-12 ****
I made this for my sister-in-law, who is super petite. It was perfect for her, and she got a lot of compliments! planning to make another for my niece, who is also tiny.

Click to zoom

Fisherman Shrug Reviewed by Lia Douglas on 2012-01-06 *****
Made this back in 2008. Got ton of compliments. It fits smaller than pictured even when additional stitches are used.

Fisherman Shrug Reviewed by Jodie Hawley on 2011-12-08 ***
I made this shrug for my sister. It turned out nicely but I'm giving it three stars due to the amount of corrections, which are a bit much. My advice is to steam the body of the shrug after seaming, before picking up and knitting the ribbed collar. Actually a very nice sweater.

Fisherman Shrug Reviewed by Joyce Marshall on 2011-10-03 *
I made this shrug and was terribly disappointed in it. It is downright ugly and very hard to get into. Pattern itself was easy enough.

Fisherman Shrug Reviewed by Char Henderson on 2011-09-11 *****
I saw this exact pattern in a knitting book. The needle size they use is a 13 not a 10.5. Could be the reason why the shrug comes out too small. Just thought I'd pass this on. Before I saw the pattern in the knitting book, I made the shrug. Based on the reviews, I made mine XL.It might fit my daughter that is a size 2 adult. I love the shrug and it was fun to knit, just wrong information for the needle size.

Fisherman Shrug Reviewed by Diana Spallino on 2011-02-06 ***
I just finished this shrug, and don't you know even though I made the largest size it's still too small. But I will take it out and try something because I like the style.
after I commented I read other comments to find we all had the same problem, so I will try size 15 needles for the whole shrug.

Fisherman Shrug Reviewed by marielerner on 2011-02-07 ****
I MADE THIS SHRUG,BUT REWORKED IT FOR WORSTED WEIGHT YARN I MADE MY GAUGE (get the # of stitches per inch) AND THEN USED THE MEAsurements to get the right amount of stitches for all the pieces My granddoughter loved it so much,that I had to make her another one in a different color Marie

Fisherman Shrug Reviewed by Trevecca Delk on 2011-02-05 **
The first time I knitted this I had to pull it and start over again. I too found that the pattern for 1x is still too small. So what I did is knit the body with size 13 needles and used the size 15 on the rib stitches. I wear a size large and sometimes an extra large depending on how its made. This is what I did:
Back: Cast on 52; work pattern as states to 12 inches ending with 58 stitches.
Sharpe Armhole: Work as pattern states placing 28 stitches on holder.
Right Sleeve: Cast on 34; knit as pattern states ending with 40 stitches.
Shape Right Sleeve: Work Row 1 ending with 38 stitches; Row 2 as stated. When Row 1&2 are repeated you'll end with 36 stitches. Work as rest of pattern ending with 22 stitches.
Left Sleeve: Same as Right
Shape Left Sleeve: as stated ending with same amount of stitches as right sleeve.
Fronts: Cast on 30 and work as directed.
Work rest of pattern as stated. This will fit an actual large or extra large person.
Hope this helps.

Fisherman Shrug WAY too small & Boye # 15 broke twice Reviewed by Kristy on 2011-01-16 *
I am quite unhappy with the results achieved by following this pattern. I am a very experienced knitter, and do not knit tightly or loosely. I am 5'9" and size 16, made the size 1X and to my horror it does not even fit my daughter who is a size 4. It may fit a 10 year old neice but even then it may not.
Also, I bought the yarn and the size 15 Boye 36" circular from Lion.com and again, much to my horror, the needle separated from the weight of the yarn while making the collar, so I had to rip it out, contact Lion.com who immediately sent me another needle no charge...And AGAIN to my horror it broke as did the first while maiking the collar. All in all a VERY BAD experience...I am going to rip it out and make something else if it does not fit the neice.

Fisherman Shrug - Second Time Around Reviewed by Erin Ingram on 2010-08-02 ****
Love this look! Turned out so much better when I used size 15 needles for the whole thing. I used size 13 on the sleeve's ribbing. The only other thing I would recommend is adding maybe five more stitches to the co of the triangles for the front section. Other than that, second time looks better now. ;-)

Click to zoom

Click to zoom

 
 
separator separator
Bookmark This!  separator
Sign up for our Newsletter  
separator Share This!  separator About Us separator Contact Us separator
  Font Size:   
Click to view page with standard font Click to view page with larger font Click to view page with largest font