Skip Navigation

Click for Lion Brand Yarn Home Page
separator
Our Yarns
The LB Collection
Martha Stewart Crafts
Lion's Pride Woolspun
Request Free Catalog
Our Yarns
Yarn by Weight
separator
New Catalog
separator
Shop
separator
  • free patterns
  • special sales
  • new items
  • 15% off coupon
    US orders only
    view past newsletters   Click to view newsletters and subscription choice
separator
Free Catalog
separator
Patterns
separator
Lion Brand
     Yarn Studio
     Retail Store, New York, NY
separator
Lion Brand
     Yarn Shop
     Retail Store, Colonie, NY
separator
Lion Brand Outlet
     Retail Store, Carlstadt, NJ
separator
Find a Store
post code:
country:
within:
more options   Click for more store-locator options
separator
Home : Customer Reviews of a Pattern
 

Customer Reviews

Image of Criss-Cross Shrug
Criss-Cross Shrug
Pattern Number: 50735
Rating: ***
3.1 (based on 11 reviews)
Write your own review
 
 
Search All Patterns:  
spacer
 
Displaying 1-10 of 11 results Page 1 of 2
12Display next page
Write your own review Have you made this pattern? Send us a photo
Criss-Cross Shrug Reviewed by Memymo on 2014-10-18 ****
This is made really easily but i've had to crochet a few rows around it to make it a good size.

Criss-Cross Shrug Reviewed by Michelle Suiter on 2014-10-07 *
The pattern and concept are very simple & it worked up quickly. In reality, however, this thing is a nightmare to try to wear. It's just not worth it as you have to struggle and fight to get it manipulated into place. I'm going to unravel it and re-purpose the yarn.

Criss-Cross Shrug Reviewed by myscrn2yours on 2014-03-17 **
I did make this very quickly and easily. I followed the directions and made a 'Large' one; 80 inches.

This shrug didn't fit. 2 other women and myself tried it on - one each smaller/thinner than the next. This thing does not fit.

While we each could get it on, it felt very constricting and awkward.

My thought is to try and take one end of it apart and make it even longer.

Image 3 shows the scarf wrapped around twice. Neither myself nor the other 2 ladies could get wrapped more than once.

Pity. It is really cute.

Criss-Cross Shrug Reviewed by Rachelle on 2011-12-01 ****
Easy to do, looks great on!!!
Love it.

Criss-Cross Shrug Reviewed by tjensen on 2011-10-29 *****
Come on knitters - you gotta love something this simple! It's basically just a very long, wide scarf with the ends "tubed" so you can put your arms in it! Any yarn, any stitch pattern. Why did I never think of this before?!! Love Love Love!!!

Criss-Cross Shrug Reviewed by mable mars on 2010-11-08 *
I knitted this pattern last year. It was the exact measurements, this just did not work out for me. I am a very petite lady and for some reason it didn't seem large enough. Took it to a friend to see if she could figure out what in the world went wrong. Called Lion and said they had no complaints. Just did not work out for me. Have been knitting over 50 years and this was a first for me.

Criss-Cross Shrug Reviewed by CHERYL NYE on 2009-11-30 *
I made this pattern last year, and after attempting to actually wear it twice, I unraveled it and made a vest. It kept shifting, sliding around and sagging, generally a pain. It looks cute in the picture, but just make a shawl or a poncho instead!

Criss-Cross Shrug Reviewed by Hope on 2009-10-15 **
I really liked this concept and rapidly knitted the shrug piece to exact dimensions.

While admittedly I replaced the yarn in this pattern to something I could buy where I lived, I was disappointed with it on the whole.

I felt the length suggested for sewing up for the arms was too short (by about 3-4 in each arm) and it simply did not sit right no matter how it was 'draped' or pinned.

It had to continually be re-positioned, pulled down, wriggled etc.

In the end I undid the seams and reduced the length to fit for a simple wrist to wrist (with no twist) shrug.

Now, that I am really happy with and will be knitting another in a different colour-way.

Criss-Cross Shrug Reviewed by Michelle Evans on 2008-03-10 *****
I left off the fringe as well. Since I could not get the hang of arranging the criscross, I wove elastic along one edge between the sleeve seams. It makes a lovely cape effect. Next time I will shorten slightly for a less full cape.

Criss-Cross Shrug Reviewed by Jen on 2008-03-09 *****
I left off the fringe on the sleeves as I don't like fringes. This is a very, very easy pattern. I love the unique ideas this pattern gives. Just a big, long rectangle with both ends sewn up to create the sleeves. That means you can pretty much substitute any yarn, being mindful of gauge, of course, and use any number of textured or lace patterns. If you prefer a slightly less bulky texture, just knit the whole thing in stockinette with some kind of edging to flatten the piece out and it will work just as nicely as in these photos!

 
 
separator separator
Bookmark This!  separator
Sign up for our Newsletter  
separator Share This!  separator About Us separator Contact Us separator
  Font Size:   
Click to view page with standard font Click to view page with larger font Click to view page with largest font