Skip Navigation

Click for Lion Brand Yarn Home Page
separator
Our Yarns
The LB Collection
Martha Stewart Crafts
Lion's Pride Woolspun
Vanna's Collection
Request Free Catalog
Our Yarns
Yarn by Weight
separator
New Catalog
separator
Shop
separator
  • free patterns
  • special sales
  • new items
  • 15% off coupon
    US orders only
    view past newsletters   Click to view newsletters and subscription choice
separator
Free Catalog
separator
Patterns
separator
Lion Brand
     Yarn Studio
     Retail Store, New York, NY
separator
Lion Brand
     Yarn Shop
     Retail Store, Colonie, NY
separator
Lion Brand Outlet
     Retail Store, Carlstadt, NJ
separator
Find a Store
post code:
country:
within:
more options   Click for more store-locator options
separator
Home : Customer Reviews of a Pattern
 

Customer Reviews

Image of Prayer Shawl / Healing Shawl
Prayer Shawl / Healing Shawl
Pattern Number: chs-healingShawl
Rating: *****
4.8 (based on 38 reviews)
Write your own review
 
 
Search All Patterns:  
spacer
 
Displaying 1-10 of 38 results Page 1 of 4
1234Display next page
Write your own review Have you made this pattern? Send us a photo
Prayer Shawl / Healing Shawl Reviewed by Beth Johnson on 2015-03-27 *****
I just finished my first healing/prayer shawl of this pattern. I plan to give it to a family member recently diagnosed with breast cancer. Instead of the fringe I used Lori Bennett's picot edging pattern idea. It is lovely. So nice to have others' input to work from for alternatives. The Homespun yarn took a bit of getting used to but after finishing this shawl I will definitely consider using it again as the color blending makes such a nice pattern in the work.

Prayer Shawl / Healing Shawl Reviewed by Diane Schwar on 2014-01-03 *****
I have made several of these to give away. Each person I gave one too appreciated it. Pattern works up easily. No need to get the gauge and the number of stitches right. Will definitely make this one again.

Prayer Shawl / Healing Shawl Reviewed by Julia Martin on 2014-01-20 *****
I use this pattern for the prayer shawl ministry that I am involved in. I use 4 skiens of yarn as we prefer a wider shawl. I start with a chain of 56. It's a easy and beautiful pattern. I have used this one many times and will continue to use this pattern.

Prayer Shawl / Healing Shawl Reviewed by Keli Brinkman on 2013-06-13 *****
I made this in Jan. 2012 for my husband's grandma and used LB Homespun - Mixed Berries. It turned out lovely. The pattern was super easy and it truly is a great gift idea. I tied the fringe to prevent fraying.

Prayer Shawl / Healing Shawl Reviewed by Elise M. Welch on 2012-05-15 *****
I have made approximately 40 of these shawls for friends,hospice family members and for bazaars, in various colors. It is an easy pattern to do while watching TV. To alleviate the fuzzy fringe, I crochet a row or two of the shell stitch at the ends instead.

Prayer Shawl / Healing Shawl Reviewed by Sharon Ernstrom on 2011-11-21 *****
I made this for a friend for her 50th wedding anniversary. I wish you could have heard how thrilled she was. It was easy to make - took hardly any time - and although I didn't relish hand tying knots in each piece of fringe, it did lend an interesting look to the bottom of the shawl. I love your Homespun yarn and the colors I can choose from, but wish there was a way that it didn't "frizz" like it does. How about working on that?
Thanks again.
Sharon Ernstrom

Prayer Shawl / Healing Shawl Reviewed by Lori Barrett on 2011-05-19 ****
I made my first one with the fringe, but it was problematic, so after that I used a picot edging instead. Everyone that sees them likes it better that way, no fringe to tangle in washer, or catch on anything. I did [sc, ch 5, slip st(picot) in 3rd ch from hook, ch 2, skip 2 st, sc],

Prayer Shawl / Healing Shawl Reviewed by Mary Ellen on 2011-01-25 *****
I have made 2 of these - one using Homespun Fiesta and one with Homespun Painted Desert. They both turned out beautifully and were very easy to make. Since there is essentially no counting, this is a wonderful project to work on while watching TV. A word about the fringe - on the first, I used 2-12 inch pieces of yarn in every stitch to result in 4 pieces of 6 inch fringe in each stitch but I thought this looked awfully heavy. In the second one, I used the same length of fringe but used 3 pieces in every other stitch, resulting in 6 - 6 inch fringes in every other stitch. I personally liked this look and feel better. My only complaint was that I, like some other reviewers, encountered numerous faults in the yarn skeins and though this is a soft and luxurious yarn, it's tendency to fray and fluff made it necessary to tie a knot in each piece of fringe - not that difficult to do but it made it impossible to get all of the fringe exactly the same length. Also, I found I had to add more rows to the shawl to make it as long as the picture so it took a full 3 skeins plus part of a 4th to get all of my fringe.

Prayer Shawl / Healing Shawl Reviewed by hezra_at_home on 2010-12-30 *****
I have made several of these shawls. I have always used the Homespun yarn. I have done some with the fringe and some without. I added a shell edging to one. I love this pattern-- easy and works up fast. It makes an affordable gift. I have given it to new moms(they rave about it as a nursing cover up in winter), elderly loved ones(as lap robes or shawls) and for friends who are undergoing treatments. The nurses at hospitals always ask where they got it. They say they wish they had them to pass out to cancer patients. Every recipient has said it was such a thoughtful and welcome gift.

Prayer Shawl / Healing Shawl Reviewed by maida on 2010-10-27 *****
I used Great Plains for this shawl; very nice outcome...

Click to zoom

Click to zoom

 
 
separator separator
Bookmark This!  separator
Sign up for our Newsletter  
separator Share This!  separator About Us separator Contact Us separator
  Font Size:   
Click to view page with standard font Click to view page with larger font Click to view page with largest font