Skip Navigation

Click for Lion Brand Yarn Home Page
Our Yarns
The LB Collection
Martha Stewart Crafts
Lion's Pride Woolspun
Vanna's Collection
Request Free Catalog
Our Yarns
Yarn by Weight
New Catalog
  • free patterns
  • special sales
  • new items
  • 15% off coupon
    US orders only
    view past newsletters   Click to view newsletters and subscription choice
Free Catalog
Lion Brand
     Yarn Studio
     Retail Store, New York, NY
Lion Brand
     Yarn Shop
     Retail Store, Colonie, NY
Lion Brand Outlet
     Retail Store, Carlstadt, NJ
Find a Store
post code:
more options   Click for more store-locator options
Home : Customer Reviews of a Pattern

Customer Reviews

Image of Beret
Pattern Number: cgs-beret
Rating: ****
3.4 (based on 33 reviews)
Write your own review
Search All Patterns:  
Displaying 1-10 of 33 results Page 1 of 4
1234Display next page
Write your own review Have you made this pattern? Send us a photo
Beret Reviewed by Allison Warnock on 2015-06-09 *****
Easy to follow pattern and quick to make. I made it in a dark olive green yarn and it looks absolutely gorgeous!

Reviewed by leahlovesrain on 2015-03-25 *****
I want to add to my previous review and say that another confusing piece to this pattern is the puff stitch. For this patten it seams to me that the puff stitch is more like I stitch I have seen in Pinterest called a cluster stitch where (in this case) 5dc, which connect to 5 other dc from the row before, are connected together to make one ending. Essentially making a pyramid shape. This was another area that had me a little confused before but once I figured out what was meant it was easy.

Beret Reviewed by Hortie King on 2013-04-05 ***
Been crocheting for over 40 years. After reading everyone’s comments, I started making this in a size Small, and also used a smaller hook, size G. As someone else stated, there are a few mistakes here and there in the pattern, or the way it is written, and I can understand why a beginner might get confused. When I completed rnd 9 the piece seemed too small, so I switched to the directions for size M from then on. I did not redo rnd 9. Size M is supposed to end at round 18. Ha-ha on me. Should have listened to everyone because, when I finished round 16 the hat was HUGE! I stopped following the directions and made a round of sc. Made a 2nd round of sc while decreasing every other sc. The hat was still too big. Made a 3rd round of sc decreasing every 6th sc, and finally the hat was the right size for me. I made a few more rows of sc without adding or decreasing, so that the hat has a rim on it and doesn’t look like a doily sitting on my head.

Level: HARD Reviewed by Laura Speer on 2013-01-25 *
I am a beginner and I have been working on this pattern off and on for a year! It is definitely NOT easy! I don't know how many times I have started over. Now I am so frustrated I have to conquer it!

Beret Reviewed by Saranii Muller on 2012-12-16 ****
I made this - I had to make it much smaller than directed. When it came to the actual wearing of it, I do recommend trying it on inside out! It has a wonderful floppiness to it that is a bit more urban that way!

Beret Reviewed by kathy on 2012-12-12 ***
This pattern is so pretty that it's a shame the directions are so poorly written. Fortunately, the photo shows the detail on the top because I refer to it to be sure I'm on the right track. It would be nice if the pattern directions could be rewritten so they could be followed easily. Making this beret could be easy with clear directions, but isn't as written and definitely not for a beginner. I'm on medium row 11 and the directions are so poor for that row that I've decided to continue with what makes sense, and forget about trying to figure out the directions.

Reviewed by jazzy_jen37 on 2012-12-14 ****
This hat does come out big. I have super curly hair, more so than the woman in the picture and i had to do am extra row to tighten it. It came out sooo cute though!!! I will make this hat again for friends.

Reviewed by shannonkeahey on 2012-11-12 ****
So I redid this pattern with a size K crochet hook and a bulky yarn, making the size small, and it was perfect, I had previously wrote a review about it not fitting a human, but when I made it this time it was absolutely gorgeous and I totally recommend making the changes.

Beret Reviewed by Anita Smith on 2012-08-26 *****
I made this using the Lion Cotton and it came out great. I have enough to make a small and a medium in one day. It is qiuck and easy to make.

Beret Reviewed by Gloria Hunsaker on 2012-03-01 *****
After reading all these reviews, I decided on doing the small. I highlighted all those rounds that applied just to SMALL. Also, I use a marker for the round that I'm on, so that made things a lot simpler.

separator separator
Bookmark This!  separator
Sign up for our Newsletter  
separator Share This!  separator About Us separator Contact Us separator
  Font Size:   
Click to view page with standard font Click to view page with larger font Click to view page with largest font